We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pamusha Lodge(Victoria Falls)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$391
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Falls Backpackers(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
US$504
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$550
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$460
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,350)
Filter reviews
1,350 results
Traveller rating
802
470
69
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
802
470
69
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm restaurantnew wingra ikanewalking distancevictoria falls hotelpost officelovely hotelthe ground floorclosest hoteltourist policemist risingsunset cruiseminute walk to the fallselephant walkbottled waterthatched roofwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 1,350 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I spent one weekend at Ilala Lodge, Victoria Falls which has been great! Staff are very friendly, rooms are very clean with a nice garden view. Ilala is in a walking distance from the falls and also in a walking distance from the shopping area. I strongly recommend this place for place to lodge when visiting the falls!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmanyAlhadka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review Ilala Lodge. We appreciate your feedback and trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Wonderful location and beautiful rooms. The service was excellent for the 2 nights we stayed there. The lovely pool was a great place to escape the afternoon heat. Every one was very helpful in the hotel and the tourist police outside the hotel took us on a great walk our last morning. Excellent breakfast as well....the pasteries are to die for!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Your feedback of Ilala Lodge is appreciated and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were just passing through Victoria Falls for a night and happened upon this place based on a word of mouth reference. It did not disappoint. The rooms were great, the service was excellent and the place was very laid back and quiet. It was also helpful to have a tour company on site as we were able to book a last minute sunset cruise along the Zambezi river. I would definitely stay there again if I travelled to Victoria Falls.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank GlobL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your positive reveiw of Ilala Lodge and pleased you chose to spend the night with us. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to one day see you back in Victoria Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed for couple of nights and found the room clean and comfortable and staff helpful and friendly. Booked a couple of trips from hotel and they worked out well. Food was good but same menu on the nights we stayed so went out the second night. Bar was outside and very pleasant. Victoria Falls as a town is a little run down. When we were there we were without water for 24 hours and although we could buy bottled water we could not wash or shower. However worth the inconvenience to see the Falls. I cannot imagine that I'd want to stay longer than 2 or 3 days in the town. Overall the Ilala Lodge is a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook grassy area.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review of Ilala lodge and for your feedback. The issue with regards to water was due to the town's water supply undergoing a major repair. We do have supplimentary water tanks at our hotel and we apologise for the inconvenience caused due to this repair. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to one day welcome you back to Ilala Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very good hotel in the centre of town. We were there for several nights and on one of the nights a herd of elephants wandered into the property and started feasting on the lush green follage on the trees. What a sight.

The food and service is very good. Prices are a little on the high side but you would expect this in a tourist dominated town. The rooms are actually a level below the restaurant, bar and pool but all the rooms open up onto the grassed area.

This was our second time to Victoria Falls and the first time we stayed at the Victoria Falls Hotel which I believe is the best in town. Ilala is a close second.

It is a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the entrance of the falls. The street sellers are starting to get a little annoying but we must remember where we are. In Africa in a very poor country.

Victoria Falls is a bucket list place to see.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanneandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review of Ilala Lodge and pleased you chose to stay with us on your return to Victoria Falls. Wild animals are often seen on our front lawns due to the hotel bordering the National Parks. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope you will return again for your third trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews