We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one remark hotel”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights after 2 weeks trip in South Africa from Cape Town to Kruger Park. It turned out to be the perfect place to enjoy the great Victoria Falls, to experience some local activities and to have a relaxation beside the pool after a long RSA journey. Upon cheking-in we got a complimentary upgrading from standard room on the ground floor to deluxe suite on the second floor which had a high chalet-tipe wooden roof, two air-cons and a large balcony. It was a pleasant surprise to find a set of insect repellents in the room because Vic Falls is a malaria area. The restaurant is large with indoor/outdoor areas, the breakfast is very copious and the dinner is not very expensive taking into account lacking of restaurants in the city which is very small. The city center and railway station is just outside the hotel, the Falls is 10-15 min. walk through the bush. When having activities (lions walk, helicopter flight, Zambezi river cruise) we were picked up/dropped of from the hotel reception which was very comfortable cause the weather was very hot. The hotel staff was very attentive and friendly. Also they have a cosy shop with crocodile/buffalo leather-made goods.
Overall the Ilala Lodge is a perfect place to stay and I would highly recommend it to any visitor of Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for the review of our Ilala Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope one day you will return to Victoria Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
There are newer reviews for Ilala Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Good location within the town of Victoria Falls and walkable to the Falls . No need to eat out as the Palm Restaurant at Ilala serves amazing food. Found the rooms dated and need a freshening up , example the curtains are not sufficiently "full" requiring a peg to close the gap.Staff are friendly and welcoming and I have no hesitation in recommending a stay here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CourteneyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We appreciate your review of Ilala Lodge and the feedback given. The curtains are being replaced in 2014 as part of the ongoing refurbishment program we have at our Hotel. We look forward to one day welcoming you back to Victoria Falls and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had the good fortune of staying at the lovely Ilala lodge in October of this year to view the majestic Victoria Falls. Our stay was wonderful with the accommodation comfortable, affordable and the food amazing. All staff were attentive and lovely to talk to. We did Walking with the Lions which is a must. What an experience to walk with these majestic creatures. The other thing we did which we would highly recommend is a flight above the falls. This would be definitely worth doing in the peak time as you would not get to see too much of the falls as the mist would be overwhelming. We were there in the low season so viewing the falls from the ground level was not so bad. You certainly get a different perspective from up high however and was truly worth the cost. Would recommend staying at Ilala. It is close to the falls and not far from the main part of town (It is not very big) The only downside to visiting here is the long delay it took getting through passport. You can get your visa at the gate but would recommend getting it before you go as it took us 1.5hrs to get through. They are in the midst of building a bigger terminal so with any luck they will be able to employ more staff to help this jam. We heard from others that the elephant back safari was also excellent although we did not do this. Try the Warthog for dinner it's yummy. The Savannah cider is also worth a taste, nice and refreshing on a very warm day. The pool is also nice and cool. All in all would stay here again and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in a deluxe room with own balcony which was nice and quiet and lovely outlook onto...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review Ilala Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with is and found the very popular lion walk and the flight over the Victoria Falls enjoyable. We hope you had a enjoyable trip home and look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The only bad part was that I couldn't stay here longer. The customer service was top-notch and everyone was very friendly. The rooms were a good size, very clean and even came with extra bug spray and insect repellent in case you need. The lodge is very pretty and relaxing. You can see the most from the Falls from the back patio area and the resort is beautiful. It's great location but you are not in an area to see a lot of random animals on the property like at other lodges - but I did see warthogs walking along the road. It is safe and you can easily walk to the "downtown area" for shopping or anything else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your positive review and also wish you could have stayed longer! As Ilala Lodge borders with the National Parks, animals are found often grazing on our front lawn. We hope you had a pleasant trip home and hope one day you will return to The Victoria Falls area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

we spent two lovely nights at this hotel. The rooms and meals were very good. We received great service. The location is perfect for a walk to the Victoria Falls. There was a local herd of elephants close to the hotels gardens. From the hotel 's outside patio you can see the spray from the Falls. There is a path or trail across the from the hotel straight to the falls. There are tourist police every place so it was very safe. Please rent rain gear at the entrance to the falls you will need it. We didn't use the tour desk but booked down town for a fishing trip on the Zimbabwe River.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Your review of Ilala Lodge is appreciated. Wild animals often visit our front lawns due to our boundary being on the National Park. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope one day you will return to The Victoria Falls area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great staff, location, price, food and facilities. Without a doubt the best place to stay in Victoria Falls. Close to the falls and super pool We spent a month on a self drive safari and ended our journey here. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the poolside bar makes super gin and tonics. We had heard great things about the restaurant, and it was excellent. Many locals were there for both lunch and dinner. As an aside, when leaving Victoria Falls, give yourself more than adeguate time to go through check in at the airport. We have visited more than fifty countries and the Victoria Falls Airport ranks last in almost every catagory. It took us over two hours to check in.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are very quiet but a bit inconvenient. They are nice for sitting and watching th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boxford01921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Ilala Lodge and delighted that we could be your last stop on your month long journey! Our restaurant is very popular and am pleased you enjoyed your dining experience. The airport is in the process of a major refurbishment so I am sure you will see a remarked improvement if you return in the near future. We hope you had a pleasant trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I spent one weekend at Ilala Lodge, Victoria Falls which has been great! Staff are very friendly, rooms are very clean with a nice garden view. Ilala is in a walking distance from the falls and also in a walking distance from the shopping area. I strongly recommend this place for place to lodge when visiting the falls!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmanyAlhadka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review Ilala Lodge. We appreciate your feedback and trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,375 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
880 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £207 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing