We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

A smallish boutique hotel which clearly prides itself on its service. A problem with the air conditioning was quickly tackled and the hotel moved us to another room where the aircom worked well. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service matched this. There were problems with the wi-fi while we were there but some of this may have been beyond the hotel's control.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandycroft2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    400
    58
    8
    0
See reviews for
191
577
73
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We only booked at Ilala, as our first choice, 'The Victoria Falls' was full but were really happy that we had. The 'boutique' nature of the hotel means that the service is really personal and the Manager and staff on the front desk went far beyond the call of duty when our luggage did not appear for thirty six hours, having been off loaded by Comair on the flight down from Jo'burg. (This is apparently a not uncommon problem and at least two other couples were similarly affected during our stay.)
The hotel itself is a delight, - very conveniently located being actually in the town of Victoria Falls and only a fifteen minute walk to the falls themselves. It is also just a five minute stroll to The Victoria Falls Hotel where we ate on one evening and enjoyed drinks in the bar on several occasions. Whilst the latter hotel is iconic and well worth a visit we felt that as residents at The Ilala we had the best of both worlds. The Ilala's lounges are full of character, furnished with antiques, curios and fascinating prints and the terrace off the dining room is a magical place to eat. Unlike a previous reviewer we did not find the wine list to be overly expensive and whilst the food was not cheap the quality and presentation were excellent. The crocodile quenelles were particularly memorable. We stayed in a standard room which was more than adequate - pleasantly furnished and with copious supplies of tea and coffee. The bathrooms are perhaps a little tired and a little dark but the water was piping hot and there was a generous supply of toiletries.
Overall we thought the hotel was excellent and it would certainly be our choice should we return to the area in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The location of the hotel is incredible, five minutes walk from the Falls. The staff were very friendly. Food great and the restaurant setting was incredible. Room was lovely and clean. The staff who organise the day trips etc were very well informed and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RUDL1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

From the Ilala Lodge one can easily walk to the falls. Indeed from our room we could see the mist swirling high above the water.
Our room was fine and contained all we needed.
The food was good (if not cheap) and the staff friendly and attentive.
We did not use the small, unheated, pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hasherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent two nights at Ilala Lodge in the middle of January just after summer school vacation in SA. Keep that in mid for timing your visit. We checked out the other main hotels when we were there and by far Ilala was the best atmosphere and an easy walk to the Falls. No need to hire a guide and you can go at your own pace. We enjoyed this boutique hotel, the attentive service and the delicious meals.

Room Tip: Asked to be placed in a room which has good game viewing possibilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for a short while earlier this month and loved it. The hotel is very well managed and is small enough to get individual attention. The staff were lovely - very friendly polite and good humoured.- Our room charming with a sheltered patio in front where one could sit and see the spray of the Vic Falls in the distance. Very easy to walk down to the Falls from here and the food was spectacularly good.
Yes it is expensive but then we were peak tourist location and we thought it was worth it.

Room Tip: This isn't a big hotel and so i think whichever room you choose would be good. We enjoyed sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haworths63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in October.

It's a lovely hotel, but super expensive I don't know how much the hotel cost as it was booked as part of our trip by an agent but a bottle of wine was almost £50 and a glass was £10! We had a light lunch with 2 glasses of wine each and it cost almost £80.

The rooms are okay, quite small and nothing special and there are lots of mozzies.

The location is probably the best thing about the hotel as we walked to and from the falls which was great. It's $50 per person to enter the falls.

The food in the hotel was really nice... we had the warthog fillet and the crocodile risotto and the croc won hands down! This was one of the nicest dishes we had in Africa. I know lots of people are saying the service is excellent but we actually found it quite indifferent. We went to the bar after dinner, it was 10.05pm and asked for a drink not knowing the bar closes at 10pm and the barman rolled his eyes and sighed in annoyance so we told him not to bother and left.

We had booked a table in the restaurant for 8.30pm when we checked in, but when we went for dinner there was no booking so we had to wait for a table.... no problem, but what this meant was that it was after 9 before they sat us down and the restaurant shuts at 10pm so even though we were still eating they brought us our bill at 9.55 and asked if we could pay as they were closing. Not quite the customer service you would expect from a high end hotel.

I don't know if it's maybe because the night before we had stayed in Chobe Safari Lodge in Botswana which was a much nicer hotel and the service and rooms were far superior... and it was much cheaper but all in all this was an ok experience.

We would certainly go back... but just for the crocodile risotto!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindyIrving121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Property: Ilala Lodge
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing