We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful stay.”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful stay.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this lodge in May 2013,and had a very nice stay.
The room we had was huge,with a view of the haze from the Victoria falls in the distance.You could hear the rumble of the falls,especially at night.The food in the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singhottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    404
    59
    8
    0
See reviews for
196
587
76
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at the Ilala lodge. Very pleased with this hotel. Great location very comfortable hotel. Efficient but friendly, good restaurant and excellent location where you could hear the 'smoke thundering' while having dinner. All-in-all a very good choice for anyone going to see Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hydiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Ilala Lodge, we were so pleased we'd picked this hotel over the rest, it was just perfect. The staff were friendly, the food was really good, our room was clean and it's in such a beautiful spot so close to the falls. We just loved it and couldn't fault a thing.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 29, a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We recently spent 2 nights in Ilala Lodge. Located conveniently near to the Victoria Falls, the hotel gave us an excellent start to our holiday. The hotel was quiet, comfortable and beautifully located in well-maintained grounds. The staff were attentive, polite , cheery and very helpful. The food was really good with a good choice, well presented and with some interesting local dishes (e.g. ostrich and warthog). Being so near to the Falls, it was memorable being able to sit out on the veranda to eat with the constant (but quiet) noise of the Falls in the background and seeing the clouds of spray reaching up into the sky.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkeneEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 3 great nights at Ilala lodge and wished we had stayed longer!
The staff were extremely friendly helpful and courteous, and a special mention for Dickson our waiter, who was exceptional
We ate in the restaurant every evening and the food was extremely good, all in all a wonderful place to stay

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank leasuretaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A pleasant lodge close to the Falls and in town. Reasonably priced with quite a good restaurant that also serves farmed game.
Try and get a table outside with a view! You need to book.
Never leave your windows open or you will be visited by Baboons which can be a messy experience

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a thatched roof and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We used it as our start place for a holiday that was to terminate with a wedding in joburg. Lovely hotel great location for the falls. Our room no 7 was close enough to the stairs up to foyer and low enough to see the animals that would venture close to the rooms. The staff were delightful as well as helpful. The bar food stopped at 7 when the restaurant menu started so if you don't mind eating early you can order from both and As we had fussy eaters in our party that worked well. If you want to venture out to eat there is
Mamas cafe where they serve good and traditional food slightly to the back of the shops but worth hunting out.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DOUGAL_London_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Property: Ilala Lodge
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing