We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hayley I - Go Travel - Dining At Ilala Lodge”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hayley I - Go Travel - Dining At Ilala Lodge”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at Ilala Loge in February and as per previous visits, could not fault any aspect, and love the setting and the view of the Falls, but most particularly I wanted to say that the meals were excellent - all the meals - breakfast, lunch and dinner Presentation is excellent too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoTravelZimbabwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    420
    62
    9
    0
See reviews for
201
609
81
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was very privileged to be in Victoria Falls recently and stayed at Ilala Lodge whilst there. What a wonderful stay! From the super friendly and efficient staff, to Martin - the lodge's manager who manages to make everyone feel personally welcome. I loved the décor and proximity to the falls, as well as the lively, yet relaxed atmosphere. This is definitely a great place as a base to experience all that Vic Falls has to offer. Just around the corner from shops, banks and most of the activities... The sunset cruise on the Ra-Ikane is a must-do, as well as taking a tour of the Victoria Falls. I can't wait to be back and Zimbabwe is fast becoming one of my favourite places to visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebzO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This lodge is well laid out, and just a 5 minute drive to Victoria Falls. You can walk to the markets and the shops in town.

The staff at the front desk were extremely accommodating and friendly. The restaurant area is set so you can sit outside and enjoy the park-like view. Breakfast, included, features a full menu so you won't be hungry.

My room was adequate and had a sliding glass door to the park area. It looks as though it might be getting close to renovation time. The bathroom had some broken tiles and was a bit dingy but was clean and had everything I needed.

They advertise internet but it was spotty, at best, when I was there. It shows full signal but I think it's probably a narrow band so once a few people are on you can forget it! I got up in the middle of the night to find I had good fast access. But, what are you doing on internet on holiday anyway??? btw, couldn't find any internet cafes in town.

Room Tip: Did not see an elevator (there may be one) so if you have any issues with going up and down stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papillon2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Ilala Lodge has very pleasant rooms with very nice breakfasts. We stayed for 3 nights and found all of the staff very friendly and helpful. We had a room on the lower level with a large tub and shower stall in our room. The bed was very comfortable. It is very close to the outdoor market, shops in town, the train station for a tram ride and the bridge. The WiFi was not always the best but once a manager helped us find the best spot for access we had better access. We were surprised at how cold the water was in the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCBNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here on the 22nd of February after coming off the Rovos rail train journey and we were looking forward to a very relaxing night. The bed I have to say is very comfortable but maybe a little to high off the ground. The bathroom was clean but I think might be in need of a upgrade. We sat by the bar and something to eat, the food was good and was the breakfast.
the hotel is very well situated for a trip to Vic Falls but be warned you really to need rain macks.
Would be an ideal if the hotel rented some out. they do however have umbrellas but are really not adequate for the amount of water that comes off the falls. We had a fantastic time and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanashton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Ilala Hotel
Spotty free wifi
Bathroom needs upgrade
Two faucets on the wash basin for separate hot and cold water, cannot mix, not sure for what purpose

Breakfast good
Lunch, not too much choices, but good. Go for the crocodile kebab
Small hotel but very private place

The noise from the helicopter flying every few minutes spoil the nice ambience of the dining area. Also the noise from transport trucks along the highway near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solyuyitung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed the extreme convenience of being just minutes from the Falls. The hotel is very comfortable, beautiful pool and grounds. The rooms are very nice. We had dinner one night and it was quite good. Definitely a very nice stay over-all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,288 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,794 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Property: Ilala Lodge
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing