We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, lacked a little atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great location, lacked a little atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

VF is a small place and this hotel is right in the middle, can walk to main street, VF hotel, the Falls, mama africa etc. I stayed 3 nights (probably one night too many but blame my agent).
The rooms are fine although a bit old, particularly the bathrooms - I had one on the lower floor looking out over the gardens, where baboons come up to the window, and warthogs and various antelope wander around - always interesting to see what was there when you wake up / come in.
Breakfast was excellent, I passed on lunch (always out) and dinner (despite the hotel being mainly full it always seemed a rather sombre place, too quiet and no atmosphere. I would say that generally of the staff who were not particularly excited about the place - go instead for a walk to mama africa or better still the Victoria Falls hotel which always seemed to have great and welcoming staff, a fun bar and great atmosphere (I would stay there next time).
I struggled with my itinerary (blame the agent dmafrica, liberty/vayeni) but front desk was understanding and willing to help me out.
Overall a nice place, but overpriced by agent (actual rates were good).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    400
    58
    8
    0
See reviews for
191
577
73
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our family of 10 stayed for 2 nights in Victoria Falls primarily to see the Falls and also to get the flavor of a Zimbabwean town. Ilala Lodge is conveniently located, nicely appointed, graciously staffed and offered delicious food. It was fun shopping and bargaining at the "flea market" next door, especially supporting the women crafters. We would recommend it to future visitors.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cece562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We appreciate your positive review of Ilala Lodge and thank you for chosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The location is excellent. Walking distance to the Victoria Falls entrance or into the city of Victoria Falls. Also at walking distance the border to Zambia and access to the Victoria Falls Bridge.

The hotel is clean , breakfast very good.

The menu offer should be improved with a special menu of the day for dinner for example.
For longer stays the menu being always the same is not ideal.

We got interleaving rooms 1 and 2, which have not been renewed as from 3 onwards. The accomodation standard for these two rooms is below expectation (room and bath room).
The only good thing is that you can enjoy the sunrise in the morning from your room/bed.

Room Tip: Choose room from 3 onwards. Rooms 1-10 have visibility on the road to the falls and could be a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel_H61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Ilala Lodge is centered in the middle of Victoria Falls town and so you are in walking distance of all banks, numerous curio vendors and various shops, restaurants and tour operators offering various activities. The reception I received was warm and friendly and you get a good feel when entering the hotel. The well appointed reception area leads onto a large patio area which overlooks the gardens. The gardens lead into the national park and so wildlife wander onto the hotel lawns and whilst sitting outside we saw warthog and various buck. Whilst sitting outside enjoying a drink you can hear the roar of the mighty Falls which are well within walking distance of the lodge.

The Ilala Lodge is well known for the Palm restaurant and all three meals I enjoyed there were of a very high standard. It is so refreshing to order a steak and get it cooked the way you want it!. The wine selection was also very good.

This is not a large commercial hotel with just 32 rooms so there is a very relaxed feel about the place. The hotel is going through refurbishment at present and the room I stayed in was of the older offering but the bedroom and bathroom were of a good size and the beds were perfectly comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. I would have to say that the décor of the room was not exciting and lacked differentiation and an African feel about it.

The room rates and meals are well priced and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Sean Kelly

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review of Ilala Lodge. Yes our hotel is receiving a make over and our rooms are being updated. We glad you enjoyed our Palm Restaurant which is quite a popular restaurant in the area. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to one day see you back in the Victoria Falls area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I must complement Ilala on their customer service - from our booking via email to our transfer from airport to hotel, our meet, greet and check in, these were all handled with smooth efficiency. We arrived fairly early in the morning before the check in time, however we left our luggage in reception and went for a walk around town. The location of this hotel is ideal within walking distance to town and it's variety of coffee shops and restaurants. Also close to Elephant Walk and it's curio shops and two restaurants. The casino at the Kingdom are across the road, the Victoria Falls Hotel and railway station are just beyond and the actual Falls themselves are well within walking distance.
The hotel itself is extremely comfortable - the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable (it appears however that there are few double beds to be had) and have all the necessary amenities . Great water pressure in the bathrooms. Tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer plus safe. We were on the ground floor with doors leading out into the lovely well maintained gardens. The pool and bar area are attractive, comfortable and well serviced. Our breakfasts were good and plentiful. Self service from a well presented more than sufficient continental buffet to the served A La Carte menu was more than enough for us. Unfortunately we did not have an evening meal as we chose to eat out, I do however wish that we had. Thank you to Martin And his staff for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Ilala Lodge and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip home. Hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future and that next time you try our Restaurant for dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed two nights in order to see the Zambezi river (sunset tour) and the Victoria Falls. The hotel room was nice and clean, overlooking the lawn, where impalas and warthogs were eating the grass. The pool and pool area are nice, although a bit small. The restaurant had a good buffet and selection of egg++. Dinner card was OK, but rather expensive.
The staff were friendly, but just arriving from South Africa, where everyone greats you, we observed the staff being a bit stiff and reserved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review of Ilala Lodge. The animals are a great addition to our hotel which borders with the national parks and we are glad you enjoyed them. Your feedback is essential to ensuring we maintain our high standards at Ilala Lodge and hope that you had a pleasant trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were very impressed with the staff at Ilala. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was first class. The location is excellent in easy walking distance to all attractions. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the food was very good. Would definitely stay again if we return to Vic Falls.

Room Tip: We stayed on the lower level and had a nice walk out patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbuettner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for the positive review of Ilala Lodge and hope to one day welcome you back at Ilala Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Property: Ilala Lodge
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing