We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location to the falls”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
187 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location to the falls”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

All downstairs room open onto a grass lawn. Rooms very clean and cool. Continental breakfast is very good and they will even pack you a to-go breakfast if you have to leave early for an excursion. Desk, restaurant, and bar staff are very helpful. Walking distance to falls.

Only negative is that because you are so close to the falls the helicopter traffic noise is irritating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    404
    59
    8
    0
See reviews for
196
587
76
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a really lovely stay at Ilala lodge. We had thought from the initial description that the lodge was more remote than it was.

When you stay here you are on the outskirts of the town (so, no noise, which is good) but you can easily walk there within 5mins. We didn't realise we would be this close to everything and we're hoping to be more 'immersed in nature'. However, saying this, it turned out to be ideal. We could walk to the falls in just under 10mins and the hotel itself overlooks the falls. Having dinner at the hotel overlooking the powerful buffeting water spraying high up into the sky is amazing :)

Having a ground floor room, although a bit dated, was lovely as we could walk straight out of our room onto the grounds. The great thing about this was the lovely family of wart-hogs that hung out just outside of our room everyday :)

The swimming pool was also lovely, and a welcomed relief from the heat. Definitely worth staying somewhere with a pool.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel, the rooms and grounds are lovely and the location ideal if you don't want long difficult hikes. For us it was the perfect start to our tour of Africa. We went through an amazing agency with a wonderful man called Simon Stobbs: simon@diverseafrica.co.za phone no: +27 (72) 2198205. Simon managed to get us amazing discounts on all safaris we did in both Botswana and Namibia. All of our reviews of these safari's were 5* as all of them were absolutely amazing both in experience and standard of accommodation.

Tips whilst staying at Ilala:
- Yes, the helicopter ride over the falls IS worth it :) Especially if you are interested in the history of the falls or the Geology behind it.
- Also, the sunset cruise is lovely, if a little uneventful. You float around up at the top of the falls, very slowly! However, you are given as much free wine & snacks as you wish. If you have not seen hippos or crocs then definitely do this as you will see them, in fact some come quite close. Very safe though, perfect way for families with small children to see the animals in a safe way. But, if you've ever been on safari, it's quite tame and although a lovely, relaxing, sociable evening, you could be forgiven for skipping it.
- It is definitely worth seeing the falls from both sides, take your passport :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britishtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was the final location of our itinerary (organised by GoAfrica) before we headed home. We stayed here for 3 nights that enabled us to stroll to the falls (just 10 minutes away from this hotel), enjoy the sunset cruise, go on an elephant safari and walk with lions.

It was an incredible end to a fantatstic holiday.

The sunset Cruise on the Zambezi was a great start to our stay, we were on the Ra Ikene, it was a beautiful sunset and whilst on the river we saw many groups of Hippos and some Crocs. We also saw many species of bird - too many to list.

On the second day we went on the elephant safari where we were able to interact with the elephants and learn more about the programme and the reserve. Having seen game from a land rover this was quite a different experience and we still saw Buffalo, deer and a troop of c. 100 baboons.

On the 3rd day we walked with lions, we were introduced to the ALERT programme which is aiming to introduce lions to the wild - a very interesting approach. The two lions we were able to walk with were 15 months old and almost ready to move to the 2nd phase of the programme to allow them to raise cubs without human intervention and these will be introduced into the wild. If this happens it will be a great thing for Africa as a whole.

There isn't a great deal in Victoria but the falls are a must see.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are well appointed, some have doors that open onto the lawn whilst others are above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clivers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great location 10 min walk to falls. All the public areas (lobby, restaurant, pool, bar, lawns) are really nice. Good food (fantastic breakfasts). Service very good and the hotel had a nice atmosphere. The rooms we had (lower floor) are dated, but extremely clean and comfortable.
Enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

VF is a small place and this hotel is right in the middle, can walk to main street, VF hotel, the Falls, mama africa etc. I stayed 3 nights (probably one night too many but blame my agent).
The rooms are fine although a bit old, particularly the bathrooms - I had one on the lower floor looking out over the gardens, where baboons come up to the window, and warthogs and various antelope wander around - always interesting to see what was there when you wake up / come in.
Breakfast was excellent, I passed on lunch (always out) and dinner (despite the hotel being mainly full it always seemed a rather sombre place, too quiet and no atmosphere. I would say that generally of the staff who were not particularly excited about the place - go instead for a walk to mama africa or better still the Victoria Falls hotel which always seemed to have great and welcoming staff, a fun bar and great atmosphere (I would stay there next time).
I struggled with my itinerary (blame the agent dmafrica, liberty/vayeni) but front desk was understanding and willing to help me out.
Overall a nice place, but overpriced by agent (actual rates were good).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our family of 10 stayed for 2 nights in Victoria Falls primarily to see the Falls and also to get the flavor of a Zimbabwean town. Ilala Lodge is conveniently located, nicely appointed, graciously staffed and offered delicious food. It was fun shopping and bargaining at the "flea market" next door, especially supporting the women crafters. We would recommend it to future visitors.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cece562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We appreciate your positive review of Ilala Lodge and thank you for chosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The location is excellent. Walking distance to the Victoria Falls entrance or into the city of Victoria Falls. Also at walking distance the border to Zambia and access to the Victoria Falls Bridge.

The hotel is clean , breakfast very good.

The menu offer should be improved with a special menu of the day for dinner for example.
For longer stays the menu being always the same is not ideal.

We got interleaving rooms 1 and 2, which have not been renewed as from 3 onwards. The accomodation standard for these two rooms is below expectation (room and bath room).
The only good thing is that you can enjoy the sunrise in the morning from your room/bed.

Room Tip: Choose room from 3 onwards. Rooms 1-10 have visibility on the road to the falls and could be a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel_H61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Property: Ilala Lodge
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotelopia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing