We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A diamond hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stanley and Livingstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stanley and Livingstone
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A diamond hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

In the seemingly touristy town of Victoria falls, this resort is an oasis of a resort in which to enjoy 5 star service on a beautiful and thriving and private game reserve. Accommodation is sumptuous, food and service spot on. Sit in the pool and watch the Animals feeding at he watering hole 10 m away. Truly magical. We were also made to feel very special indeed. Couldn't recommend higher!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    36
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
38
118
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moka, Moka, Mauritius
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Immaculately hosted by the Deputy General Manager, the Stanley & Livingstone Hotel has to be the most inviting spot to relax in on a hot day! The shady trees, the flowered gardens, the green lawns, give it an established, been-around-for-a-while feel...one just wants to stay for a long time! The bush beyond the gardens were teeming with kudu and a very large, pregnant eland, chewing its cud as though time was of no relevance! I was quickly informed that they were simply taking refuge closer to the lodge (Ursula's Camp to be precise) because of the presence of a pesky lion up the road! The rooms were delightful, the bathroom amenities fabulous and the Dalton tea cups brought home that one can still have a lot of style in the middle of the African savannah! I didn't get the chance to sample dinner at the hotel, so for that reason alone, I'd be happy to return! If I was to make a constructive criticism it would be simply to have the bathroom linen refreshed. The personnel were all very gracious and friendly and I look forward to spending a little more time here on my next visit to the region!

Room Tip: Nothing in particular to recommend - all of the rooms are a delight and look out onto the garden wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Stanley and Livingstone was our first safari lodge, and couldn't have offered a better start to an incredible trip. It's also close to Victoria Falls, so the options for touring are wide. But what could make you more certain you were in Africa than seeing Zebras at the watering hole as you arrive? The rooms are lovely - very colonial Brit, with tea and biscuits and chintz - and large. Ours had a sitting room, comfortable reading chairs and sitting area in the bedroom and an enormous clawfooted tub (and shower) in the bathroom. All the rooms face the watering holes, where animals wander past all the time, frequently in large herds. The food was very good, and there is nothing quite like tea in the bush set up on the front of the safari vehicle, or water coming to a boil over an open fire for making of tea and coffee. The lodge also offers elephant rides which many in our group took and loved. But nothing quite matches the impact of seeing the Black Rhinos - close to extinction - elephants, giraffes, varieties of antelope and cape buffalo in the wild. Oh, and did I mention the bird life?

Room Tip: Think all the rooms are lovely and face the watering hole for good viewing.There is no fitness cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Absolutely breath-taking! My husband and I loved this elegant hotel. I felt like I was in a fairy tale.
The suites were decadent and the facility was immaculate. Royal Dalton tea cups in our living room were just one of the special touches that made out stay feel so luxurious. The villas are beautifully appointed and the staff was very attentive.

I swam each day we were there (very few guest took advantage of the pool) and felt like I had my own private staff. Tomas cleaned the pool of leaves when he saw me headed in that direction,.. he was magical, he anticipated that I was going for a swim. And someone always came right down to see if I need a Gin & Tonic for after my swim. Very, very attentive.

Loved seeing the Black Rhinos up close and personal, and having tea out in the bush on safari was delightful!

I would love to spend another week here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenKeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just got back from an African adventure and the Stanley and Livingstone at Victoria Falls was m favorite place by far. I had the chance to go on several safaris, and the staff was great. My room was luxurious (massive claw foot tub was amazing) and the staff very attentive. Great stay, it's on my short list to return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisambuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed for 3 days in September after being in Cape Town and on Safari.

What I liked: The room (actually it was a suite) was very large. You could see animals from the patio. Staff was friendly.

What I didn't like: The room didn't get cleaned until early evening (which is a little strange because there weren't very many guests. We called for bottled water and ice and it took an hour (I actually had to ask for a manager because I was getting upset that I had to call three times and everyone seemed to be in a fog.) I think what upset me more was that when it was finally delivered, a manager stopped by to apologize and told me he wouldn't charge for the water - which they don't charge for anyway. The hotel is 20 minutes from town and they do provide transportation but only until 7pm. So if you want to go out for the evening, you
need to add $45 for a taxi. Finally, and I realized this too late - I think they offer safari game drives. However, they never mentioned that when we arrived and I never heard anyone let you know that it was available.

Don't get me wrong, this is not a bad hotel. However, they are charging 5 star prices but not delivering 5 star service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brencara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This place was beautiful, clean and located in an ideal setting! I would highly recommend staying here on your next visit to the Falls! Only a small number of guests are allowed to stay due to the property size. This makes it a very intimate setting, to say the least...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyer5963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanley and Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanley and Livingstone

Property: The Stanley and Livingstone
Address: Old Ursula Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stanley and Livingstone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation and the Big Five Minutes from Victoria Falls Home to the "Big Five", The Stanley and Livingstone at the Victoria Falls Private Game Reserve is an attraction in itself. Immerse yourself in the abundant sights of Africa just minutes from the Victoria Falls in all her glory. Here the luxurious Stanley and Livingstone Safari Lodge and intimate Ursula Camp spare no expense. 16 opulently appointed private suites overlook the abundant Reserve - and four intimate chalets offer retreat from daily life, amid green manicured lawns and flowing fountain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Ebookers so you can book your The Stanley and Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanley And Livingstone At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Stanley Livingstone Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing