We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brickbats!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stanley and Livingstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stanley and Livingstone
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brickbats!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Two weeks ago we booked a Master Chalet at Old Ursula Camp for 2 nights in January 2015. The reservation was made via Expedia for accommodation only and this suited us since we plan to visit several game parks in Botswana, Zimbabwe and South Africa and only needed a base to explore Victoria Falls. I received confirmation of my booking from The S&L 4 days ago and wrote back yesterday advising that we now wished to book a second chalet for the same period for friends who had decided to join us from the UK.

The response from the Reservations Manager was that they had since changed their policy and our friends would have to pay half-board for the second chalet. This represented a 240% increase over the cost of the original booking, and included a range of services that we didn't require. The RM magnanimously offered to honour our original booking (how could they not since we had already prepaid and Expedia had confirmed the booking?).

Clearly, they did not want our business and they acted very quickly to shut off the Expedia connection to prevent any further bookings. We were very unimpressed by this treatment and have since made other arrangements. Extremely poor customer service Ms Roux.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Quokka_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    36
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
38
117
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Spacey rooms, the terrace provided an awesome view over the bushvelds, so a real African experience. Staff overwhelmingly friendly. Breakfast good and rich. The Airport transport (included in rate) worked out perfectly.

Important to know (and not indicated in any site / information: The lodge is 10km outside of Vic-Falls town (commute free),

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Was here on business for three days and wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is quite close to airport and after going through the headache that is called Zimbabwean immigration at Vic Falls airport, an oasis awaits.

The hotel has an impressive colonial decor that runs through to every area of the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated. Internet in the room is free and works well. One almost forgets that one is in Zimbabwe as all facilities operated without glitch when we visited. From most rooms one has a direct view of the reserve and on multiple occasions I looked up from my laptop to see a Zebra, Kudu or other species close to the fence.

We had a few game drives and were not disappointed with what the reserve has to offer. The staff is very professional and friendly and most of all committed to making the guest stay.

The only hick-ups I experienced were in the breakfast service though I must say that all the food that was served was very good. If not for this, I would have given the property an excellent.

Definitely the place to stay when in Vic Falls.

Room Tip: I think all rooms provide a good view of the game reserve; this may be something to ask for when mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Loved everything about this hotel, it has victorian charm, lovely friendly staff who make great G&Ts, good food and views of a watering hole so you can sit on the terrace watching the wildlife. I was there in rainy season, 30 degrees bright sunshine and lush vegetation - stunning.
Our twin room had a separate lounge with minibar, lovely bathroom with roll top bath, large bedroom with 2 comfy twin beds.
On way from the airport we had to wait patiently for an elephant on the road to allow us to pass - what a welcome.
Stay here - you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Decotonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

The Stanley and Livingstone is a little paradise 20 minutes from Victoria Falls. I liked the colonial style of the hotel and the bedroom cottages are big, spacious and well equipped but the grounds and the setting are what make it so special. Just beautiful. It has a private game reserve and we did a game drive and an elephant ride - both wonderful experiences. The staff are so friendly and attentive - wonderful service. My first visit to Zimbabwe and a wonderful introduction. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer!! If you get a chance to go, do it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We are here now for 5 nights and six days. The staff makes or breaks a destination and the star here are smart, respectful, and take pride in every task. The food has been over the top, everything, down to the toast has been prepared wonderfully. We are in the Honeymoon Suite and it is so perfect.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is on the very end and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Stanley & Livingstone will spoil you for any other wildlife lodge. This private reserve has its own watering hole just beyond the deck where meals are served. Any time of day, guests can sit out there observing animals come and go, including zebra which were not observed in other areas where we stayed. The units are large, air-conditioned (important in November) and maintained immaculately. Guides are knowledgeable. An early wake-up is a must in order to see the reserve's black rhinos. We had the opportunity to ride on the back of an elephant, which was fun. The handlers are full of information and the elephants are rescues from various parks.
Last but not least, the pool is good size and very refreshing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueHKlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanley and Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanley and Livingstone

Property: The Stanley and Livingstone
Address: Old Ursula Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stanley and Livingstone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation and the Big Five Minutes from Victoria Falls Home to the "Big Five", The Stanley and Livingstone at the Victoria Falls Private Game Reserve is an attraction in itself. Immerse yourself in the abundant sights of Africa just minutes from the Victoria Falls in all her glory. Here the luxurious Stanley and Livingstone Safari Lodge and intimate Ursula Camp spare no expense. 16 opulently appointed private suites overlook the abundant Reserve - and four intimate chalets offer retreat from daily life, amid green manicured lawns and flowing fountain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The Stanley and Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanley And Livingstone At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Stanley Livingstone Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing