We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I only stayed a couple nights at Imbabala but wished I had stayed longer. It was a great setting with great food and wonderful service. I only wished I would have stayed longer. The sunset cruising was a great way to see some animals in the river and about the river. I can't say enough about Imbabala Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TMP857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at Imbabala for a few nights in between visiting Victoria Falls and Chobe.

The lodge itself is lovely with sweeping views of the river. The chalets are comfortable but a little prone to insect invasions - easily solved with a bit of Raid before bed.

The food as very good and the cruises of the river offered so of the best elephant viewing we encountered even compared to,Chobe.

The game drives were ok, but the night drives were a bit hit and miss. Any deficiencies in the game viewing is easily solved by a day trip to Chobe.

All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Bradley and Annie have bent every effort to make Imbabala a unique and remarkable guest lodge, with glowing success! We were welcomed with delicious cold soft drinks while Bradley reviewed the cautions about animals on the property -- and there WERE animals on the spacious property on a bluff overlooking the river! The individual lodges were unique, tastefully decorated and quite comfortable. The bedding was superb. A delicious group dinner was served al fresco and, by the time we had finished, a heard of impala had settled on the lawn for the night and elephants were munching the greenery around our lodge. Be prepared to have dusty feet after crossing the lawn to your chalet, and I did stub a toe in the dark on the step up to the dressing area; I suggested the addition of nightlights. We requested and were invited to tour their vegetable garden which boasts fresh produce they use in almost every meal. Their tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining, as well. Suggestion

Room Tip: You'll enjoy more privacy in the rooms furthest from the lobby area, but it's a bit further...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna31522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We're giving this three stars, rather than two because the staff was so nice, the guide great, and the location outstanding. Meals were fine. It is the cabin/rondawel that we were less than thrilled with. We know we are there to be close to nature, but we didn't choose backpacking and temporary tents on purpose. We've stayed in other safari and campground lodges, so the absence of a door or any enclosure around the toilet was an unpleasant surprise at Imbabala. And it gets hot, so the lack of air conditioning wasn't pleasant. Did we enjoy our stay? Yes because the herd or impala on the lawn all night, and the game on the river cruises was so great. But we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernie_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Everything exceeded our expectations! The staff was friendly and helpful; the food was good; the property was beautiful, our 'hut' was lovely! We really enjoyed the river cruise and drives. Richard was a terrific guide. We had such fun with him! We had scheduled an excursion and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were on time for our pickup. They went out of their way to be sure that we had something to eat when we had to leave early and when we arrived late. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We're so glad that we chose Imbabala to guide us through Zimbabwe.
Impala is located around 70km from Victoria Falls, just by the border of Botswana, making it perfect for day trips to Chobe and being right in the thick of game territory.
The lodge itself has uninterrupted views of the Zambezi which makes drinks taste better and the sunsets nothing short of spectacular.
The room (honeymoon suite especially) has all the amenities that you'd like to come home to - deep bathtub, outdoor shower, comfortable bed and a relaxing deck to soak in the surroundings.
Game drives around the lodge were a little hit and miss, however cruising down the Zambezi was always fantastic and game rich. We had encounters with elephant, hippos, crocodile, giraffe and of course many warthog and impala.
We must send our regards to the fill-in manager who rushed us to the speedboat when elephants were crossing the Zambezi directly in front of the lodge - you really just had to be there.
The staff, Stan, Richard our guides, Himmel the manager and Jeffery our chef were the kindest people and truly made our stay more memorable.
Choose Imbabala, I know you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatDane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Chad, Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. We are sorry we missed you during your stay but we are pleased to hear Himal and the rest of the staff looked after you so well. We have passed on your regards to Himal as well as your compliments to the chef and the guides who made your stay so pleasant and memorable. Hope you will be back for a return visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a lovely friendly welcome. All the staff were outstanding and could not do enough for us. The game drives and river cruise with Abraham were highlights and the food perfect. Shame we could not stay longer. Thanks Annie, Brad and staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are great as they all face the Zambezi River. Great views from the balconies.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leonandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

It was only our absolute please and we are thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable time. Thank you for your lovely feedback and we hope you will return for another (longer) visit :) Regards from Brad, Annie, Abraham and the rest of the Imbabala family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
38.6 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
875 reviews
33.5 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
35.9 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.6 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
367 reviews
36.5 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
607 reviews
37.6 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Address: Matetsi Safari Area | Upper Zambezi River, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £345 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge is situated on a riverine fringe of the mighty Zambezi River where Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia converge. Located 80 kilometers west of Victoria Falls, access is by transfer from Victoria Falls, Livingstone or Kasane. Imbabala offers the chance to unwind but also some of the most amazing game viewing and bird watching in the region, in the seclusion of a private National Parks concession. The 5,000 acre concession has 14 kilometers of private Zambezi river frontage and borders the Chobe Forest Reserve, which is renowned for its massive elephant population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing