We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We loved our stay at Imbabala over Christmas 2013. We were the only guests there our first night and were welcomed and treated like royalty. The staff was absolutely outstanding in every way - hospitable, kind, helpful, and knowledgeable. The food was also very well-prepared and delicious! Since we were there over Christmas, Brad and Annie even gave us a gift at dinner that night, which they ate with us :) We enjoyed all of our game drives and river safari, and Richard was by far the BEST tour guide I have ever had in all of my time traveling! SO personable, fun, and full of interesting stories. We also thoroughly enjoyed being assigned to the same guide (Richard) for our whole stay so we really got to know him and he got to know what peaked our interest. Thanks again for everything, we will certainly return as soon as we can and highly recommend you to all of our traveling friends!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Had such a brilliant holiday at the lodge with my parents! Service is fantastic, staff were fab and guides so knowledgeable! Had such an enjoyable time and even though it was wet season we saw a lot of game there. We will be back! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grovesies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We traveled in a group of sixteen so we had the entire lodge & all of the 'huts' to ourselves. I loved Imbabala and all of the staff are superb. Annie & Bradley are the perfect hosts. Stan & Richard are the best guides. Stan was my game driver & Richard was my guide for the river cruises. Both are charming & such experts. I loved our dinners outside in candlelight and that either Annie, Bradley, Stan or Richard ate dinner with us. This was so appreciated by our entire group. The food was good & the visiting Impala that came to spend the night on the lawn each night was a delight. I especially loved the evening river cruises. The herd of 80 or so elephants crossing the Zambezi river was a highlight along with the most spectacular sunsets & lightning show I've ever seen. All in all this was my favorite spot in our three week trip!

Room Tip: Although there were only two of us we stayed in the family 'hut'. This was perfect for two w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Best holiday I have had in a long while. Awesome location! Great game viewing with excellent game guides. Saw a huge amount of game in the three days that we were there. Saw elephant swimming across the Zambezi. Sunset cruises were brilliant!!!

Awesome small lodge with great, friendly and helpful staff. Food was great! Staff were great! Surpassed my every expectation. Will definitely be stopping in for some recharging of my soul.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - very similar view from all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BokDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our stay at Imbabala was the most wonderful "icing on the cake" of our 7 week holiday across Southern Africa, covering many different landscapes and viewing a great deal of game reserves.
From the moment we drove in, we knew we had made the right choice of game reserve for our final few days in Africa. The setting was glorious, the ambiance was perfect - private, personal, secluded serenity - at one with nature. The comfort, amenities and personal attention were everything we could have wished for, and that was before we went on any game drives, and the lovely sunset cruises!! Only wish we could have stayed much longer..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allycaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Imbabala is set overlooking a wide sweeping bend in the Zambezi river with Zambia on the other side and Botswana and Namibia fairly close upstream. We had a wonderful stay which surpassed my expectations in terms of comfort and the quality of the food. The staff were attentive, the lodge we stayed in was spacious (indoor and outdoor shower AND a bath!), spotless, safe and they do a free unlimited laundry service too! Highlight for me was the personalised birthday cake and listening to the hippos at night. Would definitely go back in a different season to experience it all again.

Room Tip: Just let them know what you prefer, the service is so personal they will accommodate anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semybazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I loved my stay at Imbabala. The bungalows were spacious, clean and perfect. Managers Bradley and Annie were wonderful, and the rest of the staff was also very helpful and friendly (and they did our laundry!). The food was excellent, The guides, game drives and boat rides could not have been better. One highlight was watching an elephant crossing while we were in the boat - about 75 elephants crossed the Zambezi right in front of us. Impalas visited Imbabala every night. As the lodge sits up on a hill overlooking the Zambezi was easy to do. Wow!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaFL144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
38.6 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
953 reviews
33.5 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
35.9 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
918 reviews
36.6 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
508 reviews
37.6 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Address: Matetsi Safari Area | Upper Zambezi River, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £295 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge is situated on a riverine fringe of the mighty Zambezi River where Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia converge. Located 80 kilometers west of Victoria Falls, access is by transfer from Victoria Falls, Livingstone or Kasane. Imbabala offers the chance to unwind but also some of the most amazing game viewing and bird watching in the region, in the seclusion of a private National Parks concession. The 5,000 acre concession has 14 kilometers of private Zambezi river frontage and borders the Chobe Forest Reserve, which is renowned for its massive elephant population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing