We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull Zimbabwe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Wonderfull Zimbabwe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just spent three nights am Imbabala lodge, and found the whole experience to be of a very high standard. The hosts Bradley and Annie are very accommodating and friendly. The game ranger Stan, however made the trip. He is incredibly knowledgeable on every wild life subject and his knowledge of the bird life is staggering. The game drives were a highlight. Was so wonderful to walk back to your chalet at night with Impala walking freely on the grounds. The only criticism was the food, nothing to write home about and could be improved, but you do not go hungry.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigsky505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, General Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi David and Trevlyn. Glad you are back home safe and hope your luggage arrived home with no further hassles :-). Thank you for you lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have passed your kind words onto Stan who sends his warmest regards. He really is a gem and we are so happy you got experience his guiding skills. Thank you also for the constructive feedback on the food. We apologize that it did not perhaps meet all your expectations and will definitely have a look at where we can improve. We appreciate the feedback as this can only assist us in improving our service to our guests. We hope you will visit us again soon.... perhaps next years's birthday?? :-)
All the best and kindest Regards from Brad, Annie and Stan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    48
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
109
144
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

One of the highlights of my trip to Africa was staying at the Imbabala Lodge. The staff ... their expertice, service, friendliness, and eagerness to show us their homeland was outstanding. I felt right at home. Thank you.
Our accommodations, with the large porches and open views, allowed us to view nature at its fullest. The delicious food and impecable service was something to write home about. Eating outside watching a lightning display in the distant, hearing the Hippo grunt down by the river and looking at the 50 or so Impalas surveying us having our meal before we went to bed and they were finally at ease to have their meal ...the landscape decorations.
I took part in a safari adventure many only read about.

Room Tip: Wish I had an outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, General Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Carol, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear Imbabala was one of your highlights on your trip to Africa. That truly means a lot to us. We are eagerly awaiting the return of our Impala’s as they have moved away for the rainy season but should hopefully be returning soon – they are part of the family after all J. Please do come visit us again. Kind Regards From the Imbabala Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Simply wonderful! Heaven on earth in this far flung corner of Zimbabwe. Delicious food, warm hosts, African inspired accommodation and incredible bird and animal life, Imbabala has it all and is a must!

Room Tip: They even provided anti-Mosquito sprays in the bedrooms for us. The bed was simply the comfiest we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank carollee1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, General Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for your warm words of kindness. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay (in our little corner of Zimbabwe J). We do our very best to please our guests and we are pleased to see it shines through. Wishing you the very best for 2014 and hopefully a return visit too.

From the Imbabala Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Bradley and Annelize were very gracious hosts- friendly, attentive, thorough, efficient, accommodating. Their staff was also wonderful. The food was great - tasty, well presented, adequate quanities, enough variety - and they had no problems attending to my special dietary needs. The safari drives were amazing. Overall, it was a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sallie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, General Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi Sallie, Thank you for your kind and positive words. We are delighted that we could make your stay so enjoyable and that you found our food so favourable. We do our best to accommodate any dietary needs and we are happy to hear we met yours. Please do come back for another visit soon. Best Regards Brad and Annie and the Imbabala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Imbabala was the second stop in our 34th anniversary celebration. The setting of the lodge is beautiful. It's right on the Zambezi river. We arrived in rainy season and everything was green and lush. The owners, Annie & Bradley were so warm and welcoming. Bradley was funny and told us he was putting us in the honeymoon suite. Our lodge, #9, was very private, large and comfortable. There was another group of 12 who had arrived a couple of days before us so we ended up with a private guide, Stan, for 2 days! Did we feel like royalty! Stan has a great personality and he is so knowlegeable. I swear that man has eagle eyes and pointed out so many different birds and species of buck and other animals we would not otherwise have seen. We saw so much game while we were there. It did rain during part of the day while we were there, but that in no way diminished the enjoyment of the scenery or the animals. It was magical.

We were offered a private dining table if we wished, but decided to eat with the other group and enjoyed their company. The chefs produced delicious, wholesome, beautifully prepared foods and a variety of delicious veggies. It was all done in a very relaxed, warm and family style way. We felt very welcome and very much at home. They even offered us complimentary laundry service which was a fabulous benefit after eight days of travelling....and everything was beautifully done.

We are not campers, so I found our rustic but extremely comfortable lodge a great pleasure. We were able to get the feel of a safari without the inconvenience of sleeping in a tent. I would highly recomend Imbabala. They know how to make your safari experience unforgettable.

Room Tip: All the accommodations are individual lodges. It's one large room divided into a sleeping area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, General Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dearest Mary, We are so thrilled to hear about your enjoyable stay with us. We thoroughly enjoyed your company whilst you were with us and look forward to a return visit J Stan is an incredible guide with a vast knowledge on the bush and we are happy we were able to give you a few days with your very own personal private guide. We are also happy to hear you found the mails tasty and delicious.

It is kind words like yours that truly make us love what we do and we can only hope to have more happy visitors like you at Imbabala. We hope 2014 is a great year and that we will meet again soon. Kindest Regards from the entire Imbabala family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Friendly staff, knowledgable guides, very relaxed atmosphere, good food, watch out for the mosquitoes. Plenty of monkeys, wart hogs and antelope around. Went on the day trip to Chobe and thought it worth the money to see animals on the river plains.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We loved our stay at Imbabala over Christmas 2013. We were the only guests there our first night and were welcomed and treated like royalty. The staff was absolutely outstanding in every way - hospitable, kind, helpful, and knowledgeable. The food was also very well-prepared and delicious! Since we were there over Christmas, Brad and Annie even gave us a gift at dinner that night, which they ate with us :) We enjoyed all of our game drives and river safari, and Richard was by far the BEST tour guide I have ever had in all of my time traveling! SO personable, fun, and full of interesting stories. We also thoroughly enjoyed being assigned to the same guide (Richard) for our whole stay so we really got to know him and he got to know what peaked our interest. Thanks again for everything, we will certainly return as soon as we can and highly recommend you to all of our traveling friends!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Property: Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Address: Matetsi Safari Area | Upper Zambezi River, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge is situated on a riverine fringe of the mighty Zambezi River where Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia converge. Located 80 kilometers west of Victoria Falls, access is by transfer from Victoria Falls, Livingstone or Kasane. Imbabala offers the chance to unwind but also some of the most amazing game viewing and bird watching in the region, in the seclusion of a private National Parks concession. The 5,000 acre concession has 14 kilometers of private Zambezi river frontage and borders the Chobe Forest Reserve, which is renowned for its massive Elephant population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing