We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special, beautiful, peaceful and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special, beautiful, peaceful and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently spent three nights at Imbabala and could not rate the experience higher. The staff is as attentive as any Four Seasons, the food was excellent, the setting extraordinary, the guide amazingly knowledgeable and articulate. We were fortunate to see four of the big five near our camp as well. The management and staff at Imbabala really have the gift of hospitality. It was such a joy sitting around the fire at night and sharing thoughts and observations with people from around the world. The setting was absolutely stunning and the combination of relaxation and activity was optimal! Thank you Sue, Richard and the rest of the staff at Imbala from you friends (the Johnsons) back here in the states!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwjinnaperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    56
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
121
163
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We could not have asked for more during our 2 night stay. We were collected on time, warmly welcomed and enjoyed a fabulous stay at this great place in the most beautiful location.
We went on game drives with a most knowledgeable guide, Richard - we learnt more about wildlife in 2 days than we have in the last 40! They went the extra mile for us during their 'cold spell' even giving us hot water bottles for our early morning drives.
Service was impeccable and all staff really friendly and helpful. Our breakfast on the Zambezi will be a memory that stays with us forever - as will the Elephant in camp watching us eat dinner!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What can I say most enjoyable!
Location, staff, schedule, menu all wonderful.
The casual atmosphere in a natural setting provides one with an oppertunity to be away so to enjoy what is becoming less available in our world.



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard Longo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We got stuck in Johannesburg and missed one of our days at Imbabala. We were only more disapointed when we got there and realized how extra amazing this place is. Annie, Brad and the rest of the staff were incredible in trying to make sure we still got to experienece everything even though we had one day less. The property is beautiful and peaceful. We were welcomed on the drive in by an elephant! The food was fantastic and so was all the staff. Our day in Chobe National Park was fantastic and so was our visit to Victoria Falls. We did not want to leave!!

Would not recommend flying into Zambia though - we faced all kinds of extra problems with immunizations, visas, etc. We really wished we booked the more expensive plane ticket in Victoria Falls to have avoided the hassles.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Located in Zimbabwe, this lodge is wonderful and on a scale of 5 stars I would rate 3.5 stars, lower stars purely because of the safari drives. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which is tent number 9. This tent has all the amenities of a hotel with indoor and outdoor showers, claw foot tub, soaps, bath salts, shampoos, and even laundry is included. Its also the furthest away from the main camp area so you get to see more wildlife and its quieter.

The individual cabins are spacious and very well appointed. All the amenities you need are included in the room; including shampoo, soap, shower caps, and lotion. Each cabin has a porch with chairs for relaxing.

The safaris are decent but coming from the Okavango Delta, the animals are a bit sparse. We saw elephants, black backed jackal, water monitor, crocodile, bush buck, hippo, sable, impala, a lot of buffalo, water buck, vervet monkeys, baboons, warthogs, kudu , and genet cat.

They have two covered boats that take cruises during the day as an additional option instead of safari drives. The sunset cruise is a perfect way to end the day with drink in hand, its very relaxing and the sunset views are breath taking.

If you can spend some time here, you will leave refreshed, relaxed and with CLEAN clothes. The best of all worlds!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing 3 nights at Imbabala and felt like our souls had been rested after watching the river and enjoying the informative, peaceful game drives. The views on the river were out of this world and we would highly recommend a days fishing on the river!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateBlackburn186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our three days at Imbabala were amazing. Managers Annie and Brad and the staff were welcoming and helpful during our stay and the food was excellent. The game drives and river cruises exceeded our expectations, and we couldn't have asked for a better guide than Abe who shared his wealth of knowledge about the animals and their environment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
38.6 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
857 reviews
33.5 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
35.9 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,825 reviews
36.6 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
330 reviews
36.5 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Property: Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Address: Matetsi Safari Area | Upper Zambezi River, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge is situated on a riverine fringe of the mighty Zambezi River where Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia converge. Located 80 kilometers west of Victoria Falls, access is by transfer from Victoria Falls, Livingstone or Kasane. Imbabala offers the chance to unwind but also some of the most amazing game viewing and bird watching in the region, in the seclusion of a private National Parks concession. The 5,000 acre concession has 14 kilometers of private Zambezi river frontage and borders the Chobe Forest Reserve, which is renowned for its massive elephant population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing