We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You couldn't ask for more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“You couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked the lodge through a tour company that put together a package for me, so I hadn't really checked out much about the lodge before departure. Upon arrival, I was astonished at the quality and impressed with staff.

-The service couldn't be more personalized or professional if they tried.
-I eat a plant-based vegan diet and I couldn't have asked for better food. They completely went out of their way to accommodate me and the other guests' food preferences.
-The game drives and cruises were run by very knowledgeable guides. I was thrilled that on my last night, they actually came to my room to get me for a special outing because there were lion sightings in the area. We piled into the jeep and were lucky enough to spot the lions.
-The property was immaculate and the chalets were very comfortable.
-I appreciated being on an open reserve where the animals could come through the property. A herd of impala went through one evening, while a hippo was having a late-night snack outside my chalet another. The staff are particularly cautious about guests walking around at night alone, or off of the property, and thus escort guests to ensure their safety.

The lodge is affliated with Wild Horizons, so all transfers and outings are well-coordinated. Even the though location seems remote, and especially as a single traveler, I felt very safe and secure in my transfer from/to Livingstone Airport in Zambia and viewing the Zambia side of the falls, viewing the Zimbabwe side of the falls, and on the day trip to Chobe National Park in Botswana.

For anyone interested in obtaining a SIM card in Zimbabwe, they are easy to come by in Victoria Falls and inexpensive. Incoming calls through the service I used- Econet- are free and reception was good at the lodge.

Room Tip: Chalets 8 and 9 have outdoor showers. If you are keen on this, request one of these. If you're t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kveg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    48
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
109
144
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently spent three nights at Imbabala and could not rate the experience higher. The staff is as attentive as any Four Seasons, the food was excellent, the setting extraordinary, the guide amazingly knowledgeable and articulate. We were fortunate to see four of the big five near our camp as well. The management and staff at Imbabala really have the gift of hospitality. It was such a joy sitting around the fire at night and sharing thoughts and observations with people from around the world. The setting was absolutely stunning and the combination of relaxation and activity was optimal! Thank you Sue, Richard and the rest of the staff at Imbala from you friends (the Johnsons) back here in the states!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwjinnaperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We could not have asked for more during our 2 night stay. We were collected on time, warmly welcomed and enjoyed a fabulous stay at this great place in the most beautiful location.
We went on game drives with a most knowledgeable guide, Richard - we learnt more about wildlife in 2 days than we have in the last 40! They went the extra mile for us during their 'cold spell' even giving us hot water bottles for our early morning drives.
Service was impeccable and all staff really friendly and helpful. Our breakfast on the Zambezi will be a memory that stays with us forever - as will the Elephant in camp watching us eat dinner!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

What can I say most enjoyable!
Location, staff, schedule, menu all wonderful.
The casual atmosphere in a natural setting provides one with an oppertunity to be away so to enjoy what is becoming less available in our world.



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard Longo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We got stuck in Johannesburg and missed one of our days at Imbabala. We were only more disapointed when we got there and realized how extra amazing this place is. Annie, Brad and the rest of the staff were incredible in trying to make sure we still got to experienece everything even though we had one day less. The property is beautiful and peaceful. We were welcomed on the drive in by an elephant! The food was fantastic and so was all the staff. Our day in Chobe National Park was fantastic and so was our visit to Victoria Falls. We did not want to leave!!

Would not recommend flying into Zambia though - we faced all kinds of extra problems with immunizations, visas, etc. We really wished we booked the more expensive plane ticket in Victoria Falls to have avoided the hassles.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Located in Zimbabwe, this lodge is wonderful and on a scale of 5 stars I would rate 3.5 stars, lower stars purely because of the safari drives. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which is tent number 9. This tent has all the amenities of a hotel with indoor and outdoor showers, claw foot tub, soaps, bath salts, shampoos, and even laundry is included. Its also the furthest away from the main camp area so you get to see more wildlife and its quieter.

The individual cabins are spacious and very well appointed. All the amenities you need are included in the room; including shampoo, soap, shower caps, and lotion. Each cabin has a porch with chairs for relaxing.

The safaris are decent but coming from the Okavango Delta, the animals are a bit sparse. We saw elephants, black backed jackal, water monitor, crocodile, bush buck, hippo, sable, impala, a lot of buffalo, water buck, vervet monkeys, baboons, warthogs, kudu , and genet cat.

They have two covered boats that take cruises during the day as an additional option instead of safari drives. The sunset cruise is a perfect way to end the day with drink in hand, its very relaxing and the sunset views are breath taking.

If you can spend some time here, you will leave refreshed, relaxed and with CLEAN clothes. The best of all worlds!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing 3 nights at Imbabala and felt like our souls had been rested after watching the river and enjoying the informative, peaceful game drives. The views on the river were out of this world and we would highly recommend a days fishing on the river!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateBlackburn186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Property: Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Address: Matetsi Safari Area | Upper Zambezi River, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge is situated on a riverine fringe of the mighty Zambezi River where Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia converge. Located 80 kilometers west of Victoria Falls, access is by transfer from Victoria Falls, Livingstone or Kasane. Imbabala offers the chance to unwind but also some of the most amazing game viewing and bird watching in the region, in the seclusion of a private National Parks concession. The 5,000 acre concession has 14 kilometers of private Zambezi river frontage and borders the Chobe Forest Reserve, which is renowned for its massive Elephant population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing