We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Falls Safari Club(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (506)
    Filter reviews
    506 results
    Traveller rating
    433
    60
    6
    3
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    433
    60
    6
    3
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgame drivesthe riverbotswana borderflood plainmorning cruisenight gamesafari lodgepontoon boatknowledgeable guideother guestsprivate concessionbirds and animalsgreat guidewild horizonsnight packagegreat hostsbird life
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    326 - 331 of 506 reviews
    Reviewed 20 August 2014

    This was the first stop of 4 of our 2 week trip to Zimbabwe for my partner and I as we begin our retirement. It could not have started better. Our room (honeymoon suite) was just gorgeous. It had inside and outside showers. The lodge itself was lovely, but the hospitality and warmth shown to us by all the staff was incredible. Nothing was too much trouble. Our first night we were the only guests and we had an amazing dinner under the stars with the table decorated with petals. We had a mixture of game drives and river cruises. Our guide (Abraham) was very knowledgeable and considerate. One afternoon we were woken from a siesta as a large herd of elephants were about to cross the river. We run down to the boat and headed to the crossing place and witnessed the herd (babies as well) swimming across the river. An incredible experience. We love Imbabala!

    Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    Thank Steve B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

    Dear Steve,

    We really enjoyed reading your review. You kind and positive words have put a smile on all our faces. We try our very best to bring forth a warm, homely atmospehe and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the hospitality from our little Imbabala family. We hope you will find you way back to us in the future for another visit.

    Fondest Regards
    From the Imbabala Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 August 2014

    This was fantastic, spent 2 nights here organised by Wild Horizons. Had amazing guides, did game drives, sundowner river cruise (with your choice of drink as the sun sets, be it hot chocolate, soft drink, wine, beer or gin and tonic etc), early morning and late night game drives ( with blankets and hot water bottles on the seat of the landrover for everyone). Totally looked after, full board with the most amazing food, cooked brekkies and eating outside with lovely fire pit overlooking the Zambezi, highly reccomend and I would definately go back and take all my family next time.

    Room Tip: free Wi fi in the lounge and office area, all rooms overlook the zambezi, although away from the airport get a transfer from Wild Horizons, and you want to be away from the town centre if you are there to see wildlife, this is the place for loads of this, when we arrived there was a herd of at least 50 elephants all along the river, saw a baby maybe only a day or 2 old. plus saw them swimming across the river on the sunset cruise.
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jules4houses
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

    Hi Jules,

    We are thrilled to hear of the great time you had with us. Thank you for you lovely feedback, we really enjoyed reading it. All the best and hope you return for another visit

    Thanks
    Annie

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 August 2014

    Family gathered from all over South Africa and UK.
    Amazing time, due largely to the organisation and apparently seamless execution of all arrangements by Brad and Annie. All transfers, including the extras, were like clockwork.
    Very homely, the food was excellent - whether at the lodge or in the bush.
    The free wifi is in the public area only.
    The staff were very friendly and the guides were extremely knowledgeable and helpful, from wildlife to assisting in catching a Tiger fish!
    No hesitation in recommending this venue.

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank 76Alan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

    Dearest Alan,

    Thank you for your kind and positive review. we are very happy to hear that your time with us was enjoyed by all. We hope you had a very memorable anniversary - we were so happy we could be a part of this special time for you and your wife. we are also happy to hear you enjoyed our homely atmosphere. Hope the family will return for another visit.
    Best Regards
    Brad and Annie

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 August 2014

    A most personal small lodge with wonderful accomodations and a welcoming Annie and Bradley, owners. Came on a small Road Scholar tour with my sister and couldn't have been happier. Liked the all inclusive nature of the visit, drinks, water, laundry included in our package. And the setting on a bend in the Zambezi River is just breathtaking. Cruise on the river was great. Night game drive was good, and not too long after a long day. All was very very nice.

    Room Tip: Wi Fi available in the central lodge area only; Closer rooms are easier access; But outdoor showers and a bathtub are in the furthest rooms on each side...honeymoon suites I think they are called.
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Maureen H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

    Dearest Maureen,

    Thank you for you feedback and all the lovely things you had to say about our little slice of paradise. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
    We are happy to hear you enjoyed the all inclusive aspect of the lodge as we have to agree this makes travel much easier.
    The while Imbabala team wish you prosperous future travels and hope you will find your back to us one day

    All our Best
    Brad and Annie

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 July 2014

    We highly recommend this lodge for its beautiful setting above the Zambezi River and the great attention to detail in the accommodation.The managers are very thoughtful and genuinely welcome every guest and are present at meals etc.Lots of little extras in your room and very good food make this a great choice.We combined our stay with a day trip on the Chobe River and would recommend this as an add on ,on your way to Imbabala.We found all the staff friendly and had great company from other bursts.Wouldn't hesitate to return.

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Beachside P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

    Dear Beachside P,

    Thank you so much for your lovely review on Imbabala. We are so happy to hear about your wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed our meals and company. Hope you will be back for another visit

    Regards
    Brad and Annie

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews