We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When can I return??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“When can I return??”
Reviewed 20 January 2010

My visit to Imbabala was completely accidental. I am a Tour Operator dealing with mainly an international clientele visiting Southern Africa. I often visit the more luxurious properties in the Chobe National Park and Vic Falls areas and although I have always been aware of Imbabala's presence, I have completely overlooked it as I thought that it was the type of lodge that caters mainly to a local South African market and that it would not be up to scratch for international tastes and expectations. I was pleasantly surprised though and completely mistaken. The wonderful setting of the lodge in a lush grove of trees on the edge of the Zambezi, the kind and friendly staff and the wonderfully efficient and warm Lodge Manager, Karen Poole all completely took me by surprise. I fealt at home as soon as I arrived and was very sad to leave just 3 days later. I met some wonderful people at Imbabala, both staff and guests. Some of the guests were there on their 4th or 5th visits which in itself is testament to a job well done. This lodge is extremely good value for money as meals, drinks (with meals and activities) and twice daily activities are included in the very modest fare. The activities are completely flexible too which is great and include game drives in the Imbabala concession bordering onto Botswana, river boat cruises and fishing. I saw more of the rare Sable antelope than I have ever seen in a lifetime of safaris in Kruger park and this in an area that is not even a National Park. There is nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of Hippos in the river below and waking up to a cacophany of birds. Imbabala is good for the soul! I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhinoAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    53
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
112
153
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Couldn't have asked for better. Service was brilliant, location was so peaceful and amazing being in the wild, all the staff were so friendly and the guides were so knowledgeable! had such a good relaxing break!! 100% recommendation from us!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grovesies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2009

This place is so serene, so beautiful! The staff is very friendly and they really want your stay to make it the best! Never had this great service. I wanted to go fishing, okay, let's go!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troelalalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Victoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2008

Wonderful food, great accomodation, wonderful staff
Great Game Drive and river cruises.
Accomodation had just been completely refurbished and was of 5 star
staff were most helpful and the food was wonderful

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2007

My wife and I stayed at Imbabala during a recent horseback safari around Vic Falls. It was one of the lodges included in the safari but we decided to go a couple of days early to recuperate from the plane trip. The booking agency recommended it as a nice place to stay before and/or after our trip. They couldn't have been more right! Tish and Ron were wonderful hosts (although Ron is called "Grumpy" for a reason :-). They made us feel extremely welcome! The staff was extremely knowledgeable about local game/birds and made their trucks/boat available for game drives and cruises. It's not close to anything, but you can go into Botswana and see the Chobe game preserve on a day trip. We'd love to go back!!

  • Liked — The hospitality was first rate!
  • Disliked — Quite a drive to anywhere.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audiododd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2006

We spent 2 nights at the lodge at New Year and we very impressed with it. It is set on the banks of Zambesi with beautiful views from the lodge. Each room is housed in a rondavel with a verandah/patio from where you can see the river and Zambia. The rooms are in the process of being refurbished.

Unfortunately for us, it had started raining 3 weeks before so most of the animals didn't need to come down to the river to find water. So we didn't see any game from the lodge, but the game drives made up for it. Watching the sun set in the African bush with a drink of your choice in your hand - what more can you ask for.... In addition, there is the opportunity to fish in the river or game watch from the pontoon.

The service is very personal and you are made to feel part of the family. The food is good home cooking and eaten under the stars at one big long table. Each evening is ended by sitting around a fire talking about the fish that got away or the adventures in the bush.

Truly a memorable experience!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeBZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
37.6 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
36.6 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
35.9 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
37.4 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
36.5 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Property: Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Address: Matetsi Safari Area | Upper Zambezi River, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge is situated on a riverine fringe of the mighty Zambezi River where Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia converge. Located 80 kilometers west of Victoria Falls, access is by transfer from Victoria Falls, Livingstone or Kasane. Imbabala offers the chance to unwind but also some of the most amazing game viewing and bird watching in the region, in the seclusion of a private National Parks concession. The 5,000 acre concession has 14 kilometers of private Zambezi river frontage and borders the Chobe Forest Reserve, which is renowned for its massive elephant population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing