We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New decorated, but too many bugs and mediocre food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

There were large gaps at bottom and side of room doors so had lots of ants and other bugs in the room. While the have a nice breakfast buffet next to the pool, there were flies all over the food.
Lunches and dinners were disappointing

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_H_K_M, General Manager at Cresta Sprayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your review of Cresta Sprayview.
I sincerely apologise for your discomfort during your stay.
Unfortunately this time of the year bugs are common throughout the region and not just at Cresta Sprayview alone. We treat the resort for these bugs but during the high heat and rainy season they cannot be avoided and may cause discomfort to some guests but are in no way harmful. We will action the concerns raised and can assure you that we will do our best to avoid such instances occurring again.
Kind regards,
The Cresta Sprayview Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

last month I stopped in at the brand new Cresta Sprayview Hotel, a hotel I remember from over 20 years ago and I was amazed by the new hotel. Newly decorated, clean and wonderfully friendly staff. I can't praise the management enough for turning this hotel around from what it was to what it is now! I will certainly be returning to stay in the near future and look forward to it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shell_t84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_H_K_M, General Manager at Cresta Sprayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you kindly for your review on Cresta Sprayview Hotel.
We are delighted to receive your positive feedback about the hotel and its refurbishment..
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and recognised the great team we have in the hotel.
Kind regards,
The Cresta Sprayview Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel is laid out like one-story garden apartments, with paths through garden-like areas leading to the rooms. The rooms, attached in linear chains, are the issue with me. These rooms are dated-looking and totally unsexy both in the exterior (though they did have little porch areas looking over the gardens) and the interior. I did like the good size of my room, but a bulb was burned out, the lighting in general was poor, and the bathroom was pretty minimal in the amenities department. My sink stopper was also missing, though its chain remained (and got in the way of washing.) Mosquitoes and other insects got in, which is not too surprising considering the sketchy nature of the screening in the little window in the bathroom. Over a two-night stay, my group ate three of four seated meals plus two buffet breakfasts at the Sprayview: the breakfast was OK, nothing thrilling, though it's always nice to have someone make your eggs to order. I was disappointed by the quality of the food served at the seated meals: dried-out pork shops, tasteless ice cream, etc. HOWEVER: I was impressed by the front desk personnel's friendliness and helpfulness. And the internet room was terrific. After almost a month of travelling with little (if any) ability to email, it was great to find two working, large-screen computers in a well-furnished room and almost instant access to gmail, no passwords or fuss required. I was happy to trade off all the rest in order to get this nice internet connectivity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TravelNut12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed 3 nights in the hotel while visiting the Victoria Falls. Recently renovated, nicely appointed rooms, well working AC, nice pool area. Had to really work hard to get a towel. :-)

Excellent breakfast buffet. However, all other meals more mediocre. Wifi spotty but available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra_In_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_H_K_M, General Manager at Cresta Sprayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review of Cresta Sprayview.
We are in the process of re-designing and uplifting the standards of all our menus at the hotel, thank you for your feedback so we can address the issues raised.
The Wifi has been completely restored and is now fully operation throughout the entire hotel and all guest rooms. Thank you for all your positives of the hotel and that you overall enjoyed your time and the newly renovated Cresta Sprayview Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Cresta Sprayview Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here through Overseas Adventure Travel for two nights and had most meals here. They were the most uninteresting in three weeks in southern Africa. The hotel itself has more of a motel ambience - large standard rooms in blocks. The pool area looks welcoming and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_H_K_M, General Manager at Cresta Sprayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear John,
Thank you for your recent comments on Cresta Sprayview Hotel.
Our apologies for the uninteresting food that you encountered; when travelling with OAT groups allot of the food items are pre-selected and this unfortunately could be where the problem started. We will ensure to resolve these issues to avoid any other discomfort for further travelers.
I trust your experience in Victoria Falls was enjoyable and thank you for your positive comments on our staff and service.
Kind regards,
Cresta Sprayview Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Whilst in Vic Falls, we popped into the Sprayview Hotel where we used to stay when the kids were small over 20 years ago. What a pleasant surprise! Cresta have taken over the property and have refurbished the complete hotel. We were shown a suite which was very nicely decorated and all of the facilities in the room were brand spanking new. I noticed the air cons were new and very quiet. Rates are reasonable and we will definitely give it a try when we make out eighth visit to this amazing town.

Room Tip: Very quiet and newly decorated rooms. It is about a 10 min walk to town centre though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 517Dissatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_H_K_M, General Manager at Cresta Sprayview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to come and visit the re-branded and recently refurbished Cresta Sprayview Hotel.
We are pleased to hear you are most impressed with our new facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel on your next returns so please email: res.sprayview@cresta.co.zw for all your booking requests.
Kind regards,
Cresta Sprayview Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We also spent two nights after completing 12 days in the bush. It was great to get into A/C rooms, hearing the US government was still closed and not bouncing in a jeep. The rooms were clean, comfortable, well addressed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The meal were good but not extraordinary. A short walk to shopping, while there was a gift shop in the hotel. Nice hotel considering where we were.

Room Tip: The Wi-Fi only worked good in and around the dining areas. Watch your bar bills, they did not add mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drhemlockccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
557 reviews
0.8 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,988 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Sprayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Sprayview Hotel

Address: 92 Reynard Rd | cnr Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £71 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresta Sprayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cresta Sprayview, situated just 1.4 Km from the Victoria Falls Rain Forest entrance is the perfect gateway for adventures seekers exploring the resort town of Victoria Falls and its surrounds. Established in 1968, and completely remodelled in 2013, this "motel- style" property nestles in lush gardens, home to several bird species. In months when the Falls are in full flood, the spray from this majestic wonder of nature rises like a column of smoke, locally referred to as "Mosi-oa-Tunya", the "Smoke that Thunders" and can be seen from the hotel, hence the name "Sprayview" from which the hotel derives its name. With over fifty fantastic activities to choose from in the resort town, this unique destination is indeed Africa's adventure capital. Whether you are travelling alone, with a group or on honeymoon, Cresta Sprayview provides a comfortable launch pad from which to explore Victoria Falls. Cresta Sprayview has 65 rooms, 1 restaurants, 2 bars and 2 conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cresta Sprayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sprayview Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing