We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO for the View”
Review of The Lookout Cafe

The Lookout Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
Description: The Lookout Cafe is perched 120m above the turbulent rapids of the Zambezi River, overhanging a giant chasm of the Batoka Gorge, just downriver of the iconic Victoria Falls Bridge, which forms part of it's spectacular backdrop. The semi open-air cafe, apart from offering undoutbedly the best view in Victoria Falls, offers a menu of fresh, moden, colourful cuisine as well as a range of refreshing beverages and cocktails.
Restaurant details
Description: The Lookout Cafe is perched 120m above the turbulent rapids of the Zambezi River, overhanging a giant chasm of the Batoka Gorge, just downriver of the iconic Victoria Falls Bridge, which forms part of it's spectacular backdrop. The semi open-air cafe, apart from offering undoutbedly the best view in Victoria Falls, offers a menu of fresh, moden, colourful cuisine as well as a range of refreshing beverages and cocktails.
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We walked here. Got lost and crossed the border into Zambia before retracing our steps. The sign for the turn off the main road is BEHIND the souvenir stands opposite the Vic Falls Park entrance.
Had to take a slight detour into the bush on the final path to the restaurant, to avoid an elephant.

We3 didn't have reservations but were able to get a table. The view of the gorge is spectacular. We both had sandwiches which were good but nothing special. Also ordered ice cream to beat the heat.

Thank lfabian47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 201 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I came here for lunch and to take in the breathtaking view of the Falls and Gorge. I am SO happy I made the walk and also beat the lunch crowd! My sirloin steak was average and it was nice to enjoy with a local draft brew. Service is excellent, attentive and with a smile. The view is amazing, and that alone is worth a visit.

Tips: Cash is preferred. Call ahead to reserve a good table if its during peak lunch hours. Lots of tour groups here. I was lucky to snag a table when I did. Use the restrooms here, they are clean and very well kept.

Enjoy!!

Thank ckwokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Lookout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us so much and that you could enjoy all that the cafe has to offer. Your kind comments about the staff shall be passed on.

With kind regards
The Lookout Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch after visit to the Falls. Food very good. View over the gorge breathtaking. Other activities there as well. Gorge zipline and treetop zipline.

Thank elmien2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Stunning views of the Vic Falls bridge and batoka gorge. The food was all the same price which gave some items better value than the others. The food was pleasing on the whole. Drinks were good too. A must visit if you are in Vic Falls.

Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Lookout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Ryan

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that your experience at Lookout cafe was so enjoyable.Thank you for recommending us so highly.

With kind regards
The Lookout Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This is a cute little restaurant with a stunning view of Batoka Gorge, as well as the 'smoke that thunders' from the waterfall that is just out of view.

The food was some of the best we had in Vic Falls (lovely sauces in particular), and with such a view, it just can't be beaten. I'd say it's a must-stop in the area, even if you're not hungry - it is a lovely place for drinks and cocktails as well (there are some bees around though, so be careful if you are allergic).

The location is also super convenient if you are doing adventure activities as most start right next door. Bathrooms are pristine as well.

Thank DesNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Lookout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Des

Thank you so much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed both the menu and the spectacular setting so much. Thank you for recommending us so highly and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

With kind regards
The Lookout Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lookout Cafe also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Lookout Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing