We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun”

The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Described as an unforgettable African experience infused with Zimbabwean cuisine, spirited performances and traditional storytelling, The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show has firmly established itself as a Victoria Falls highlight.Partially open to the skies, The Boma specialises in a superb selection of Zimbabwean dishes. A four-course meal combines a choice of starters with a barbecue buffet. The adventurous are enticed with local delicacies such as mopani worms and potjiekos (hunter's game stew), whilst those wishing to enjoy beef, pork, fish and chicken or a variety of vegetarian meals are welcome to do so.The sights and sounds of the evening are accentuated by a feast of nightly entertainment, incorporating traditional dancers, who captivate guests with their vibrant songs and dance. The acclaimed Zambezi Drumbeat provides a wonderful interactive drumming experience.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We enjoyed our dinner at the BOMA, trying all the different foods and just enjoying the atmosphere, drums & dancing. The drum finale was so much fun and the face painter was quite an artist!

Thank Tracy8012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

What a wonderful review, thank you so much. We are pleased you enjoyed the ultimate Boma experience - food and entertainment plenitful

Kind Regards

Jonathan Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,267 - 1,271 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

The drummers were really good, and the food was plentiful and tasty. As a night of intertwinement it was good but I wouldn't rate it well as a cultural experience.

Thank PopOle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

We appreciate the feedback as this can only assist us in improving our service to our guests. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It's pricey (US$40) and out of the way, but you go for the African experience. Dancing, singing, drumming - all very interactive. And you can get a reading from a witch doctor. The food was mediocre though you can try all varieties of game including warthog, impala, and worms!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lydia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review on the Boma Place of Eating.

We apologize that the food was not to your satisfaction, and will definitely have a look at where we can improve

We do try our very best to provide personal service, and we are always mindful of trying to keep the cost as low as possible.

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have two boys aged 9 and 13 and we travel a lot, so it gets harder and harder to find fun things to do for the family. Admittedly, this is a tourist thing, but it is tastefully done. We had our hotel call and make a reservation for us. They also go us a taxi which took us there for $10 for the four of us from our hotel in VictorianFalls. The Boma is a restaurant/event location on a lodge property somewhat outside of town. It starts at 7 pm but you can get there between 7 pm and 7:30 pm and you will be fine. You have the option to wear an African cloth or not, are greeted by some dancers and are then taken to your table. You order an appetizer and then you can eat all you want from the excellent buffet. We had crocodile for starters, sweet potato soup, you are given boiled peanuts, peas and corn just as a snack, and then we had warthog, boerwurst (which is sausage), and even antelope. The food selection was outstanding and also the service was very good. Around 8 pm, there are some dancers and finally everyone gets to participate in a drumming event, which my kids loved. Not cheap, $40.00 for adults and $20 for kids but definitely worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ute23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for such a descriptive and wonderful review on your experience with us at the Boma Place of Eating. We are pleased that the entertainment was suitable for you as a family with your two boys aged 9 and 13, thank you so much.

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As we were staying on The Zambian side, my husband who has a British passport was advised to pay for the double visa when we landed in Zambia so that we could cross the border to experience dinner at The Boma, after paying $80 at the airport, we booked a cap one evening which in itself is an experience, you are handed to another cab on the other side of the border, at immigration, he was told his visa was only to come in, and not for exciting, and was again charged $55! The reason I'm telling you this is I think it's important to know! If you are coming across just for dinner, the visa cab, dinner and drinks turn into a very expensive evening!!
The Boma itself is a great experience, the food is traditional, and quite different, the entertainment for someone who has never experienced Africa is worth the experience. But unfortunately the mission of getting there just wasn't really worth it.

Thank Michy312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your generous review.

It is unfortunate that you were not aware of the costs of involved with visa entries into Zimbabwe. For future reference, I I highly recommend that you check with your travel agent on visa requirements when booking your flights. However, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Boma experience with us.

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing