We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a magical night”

The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Described as an unforgettable African experience infused with Zimbabwean cuisine, spirited performances and traditional storytelling, The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show has firmly established itself as a Victoria Falls highlight.Partially open to the skies, The Boma specialises in a superb selection of Zimbabwean dishes. A four-course meal combines a choice of starters with a barbecue buffet. The adventurous are enticed with local delicacies such as mopani worms and potjiekos (hunter's game stew), whilst those wishing to enjoy beef, pork, fish and chicken or a variety of vegetarian meals are welcome to do so.The sights and sounds of the evening are accentuated by a feast of nightly entertainment, incorporating traditional dancers, who captivate guests with their vibrant songs and dance. The acclaimed Zambezi Drumbeat provides a wonderful interactive drumming experience.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a magical night”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our final nights celebration after a fantastic photo safari with photocopy travel club out of san Francisco. Food,fun,drumming,music were all just amazing. Several artists were there selling carvings...better prices than the market! Same for the small gift shop set up as you walk in...Great prices! We loved every minute...kudzu stew was super!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CDE32648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many thanks for your pleasant review on your experience with us at The Boma Place Of Eating. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all the interactive entertainment in the arena.

Please do visit us again someday to enjoy the full African cuisine and entertain we have to offer. Be sure to bring some friends along

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    550
    249
    72
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Entertainment is better than the food”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Boma is a place to go for the entertainment. Great performance around 8 p.m., with drums and singing, and audience participation. Fun for kids as there is face painting, hair braiding, and fortune telling (tip is expected). The food was ok, and we probably should have gone earlier (our reservation was at 7:30 p.m.) as some of the food was gone or heavily picked over. They grill a huge piece of lamb (maybe a half?), and that was basically finished by the time we went up for some. The other comparable place we ate at was Jungle Junction at the Victoria Falls Hotel. The food was much better at Jungle Junction, but the entertainment was not of equivalent quality. We were at Boma with another couple and when we gave them our credit card, we were told both had been declined, and asked if we had cash. When we said we had no cash, they said they would try the credit cards again, and they both went through. In a country like Zimbabwe, where the US$ is the national currency (?!), cash is definitely king. If you are planning a visit from the US, plan to take lots of $1's and $5's for tips and payments as you can never get change in US$.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Many thanks for taking your time to post your review on your experience at The Boma Place of Eating, your feedback has been noted with thanks

There may have been a communication shortcoming on our part as we always have extra food & lamb in the oven early enough before the one on the spit runs out. We will continuously endeavor to improve on all aspects of our service delivery. We apologize for the inconvenience caused upon settling your bill, this might certainly have been a network problem. We have since upgraded our connectivity. We continue to review our training methods to constantly seek the highest standards of service.

Hope you will pay us a visit again some day

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Boma”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had an awesome experience at the Boma. The staff were very nice, the food was great, ambience was nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you very much for the complimentary review and supportive words - and of course taking time to share.

Please be sure to visit us again some day

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“total tourist experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Boma was a little corny, but we did have fun. Some of the food was good, but very long lines in a buffet. cloth capes were issued on arrival, a little paint on the face, and we were seated. The place seats a couple (few?) hundred people, and is quite packed. The performances were fun, and we wondered about the drums that were placed before every patron, and then we were included in an interactive drumming session - that was the most fun part of the evening. The location is very pretty, but after dark you can't see the grounds at all. It reminded me of a Hawaiian Luau, African style. This event was chosen by our friend who was coordinating our trip, and my husband and I probably would have not attended if it weren't for that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnmama12753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for such a complimentary review. Always grateful for reviews and appreciate the compliments as it helps keeps everyone focused and motivated. We would like to extend our thanks to your friends who recommended the the fun night

Kind Regards

Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food - Authentic Entertainment”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

As always the BOMA delivers on great food and wonderful entertainment. The new drummers are fantastic, and very good at getting the crowd involved!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antje M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
What a wonderful review, thank you so much. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the genuine traditional culture in true African style.

Hope you will visit again some day

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing