We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good family accomodations in Vic Falls”
Review of Lokuthula Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lokuthula Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
895 reviews
483 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 952 helpful votes
“Very good family accomodations in Vic Falls”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I think this is the best place on the Zimbabwe side of the Falls for a family to stay. The setting is very pretty, and the thatched-huts are comfortable, well-furnished and stylish in an appropriate "African bush" way. Winter nights can get a bit chilly because there is no heat and no way to completely seal up the units, but blankets will keep you warm enough.

Because the hotel operates a free, hourly shuttle bus into town, the out-of-town (just a few miles) location becomes a plus. You're not stranded out there, and it's much more pleasant and prettier than in town (which has more than its fair share of mildly annoying touts and young men trying to sell you old Zimbabwe currency). I highly recommend a dinner at their famous Boma restaurant/show, and the 25% discount you receive for on-site meals makes it relatively affordable ($30 for adults, kids about half price). For other meals, I'd recommend going into town to buy food and using the braai in your backyard.

We didn't see that much wildlife at the water hole behind the hotel (go to Kruger if you want to see animals), but it was certainly a pleasant place to hang out. We also did not see any major wildlife looking over the electric fence at our villa.

There is currently some major construction/expansion on the hotel side of the compound, so I agree with the previous poster about asking for a quiet unit.

My only real criticism would be that the owners should undertake increased pest control. We did encounter a few bugs in our unit, including a couple of roaches, something we did not find in other southern Africa accomodations.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Management at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Lokuthula Lodges following your recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the local dining options available to you.

We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding pest control, this information has been passed to the Lokuthula Lodges Manager who will immediately look into the situation so that no other guests are inconvenienced.

Your compliments to the Boma restaurant have been passed on to the team who wish to be associated with my thanks.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards,

Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    151
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
199
75
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We loved the self-catering lodge and the staff was very friendly. The access to the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and the watering hole was wonderful. We went every morning and evening to look at the animals coming and going to the watering hole. I would have liked the ability to buy a few groceries at a little store in the compound versus going to the local grocery store. The grounds were immaculate and the drivers were incredibly friendly. The lodges got a bit chilly since there is no heat available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Management at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Lokuthula Lodges. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially the waterhole at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards,

Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I could talk about Lokuthula Lodges all day but i would simply run out of breath!
It was my first visit to Victoria Falls and it won't be my last.
Because i wanted to really experience The Falls my Fiancee (a Zimbabwean) thought that Lokuthula would be perfect for my first time as he had stayed there previously.
The accommodation was out of town compared to the other hotels, but looking back now, I'm glad it was. We went in December which was their peak season so there was people everywhere and the town would get so busy. It was nice to just retreat to somewhere beautiful and quiet at the end of a busy day exploring. Given it was peak season, the price to stay at Lokuthula was on the higher end of the scale, but because it was per lodge per night pricing rather than per person per night like most of the other hotels we were considering, it worked out in our favour because there was three of us.
When we arrived at Lokuthula I was blown away! The property was gorgeous! There was a man in costume at the entrance who greeted and gave directions as The Boma and Victoria Falls Safari Lodge are also situated there. Check in was easy as we had booked and payed months in advance.
The Lodge was amazing! Beautiful rooms with beautiful views. There were animals roaming on the hotel grounds, carefree and comfortable with your presence.
Because the Lodge accommodation did not include meals, we found our meals by other means. We did have dinner and breakfast at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge once which was lovely! The view of the waterhole while eating our meals was spectacular! Unparallel to anything I've seen before.
We also had dinner at The Boma. Wow! What an experience! The most fun I've had in a while!! A must do for anyone visiting The Falls.
We organised all our activities through the hotel so everything was just a breeze.
As much as this hotel was beautiful it would be nothing without the staff. They were always ever so helpful and friendly.
It was an amazing first visit. Victoria Falls is truly beautiful and something that everyone should see in their lifetime. Its definitely a place i hold dear in my heart as my now Fiancee proposed to me as we were cruising down the Mighty Zambezi River.
Couldn't have hoped for a better stay!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LyleGraciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Management at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Lokuthula Lodges following your stay with us in December 2011. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and congratulations on your engagement!!!

We are so glad to hear that you liked our lodges and the meals and waterhole at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge. Your compliments and feedback have been passed on to the team who wish to be associated with my thanks.

We hope you and your fiancée choose to visit us again soon.

Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

What a find! Lokuthula Lodges (affiliated to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge) just 4 km from the wonderous Victoria Falls, is a fantastic place to base your Zimbabwe bush and river experience. The lodges are self catering, but there is a 25% discount (for residents) on meals at the Safari Lodge if you really want a break from the kitchen!
The lodges are incredibly well equipped 2 & 3 bedroom thatch units all sensitively located in the African bush, as the property borders the Zambezi National Park. We had warthog mowing our lawns daily, and by evening saw the buffalo and elephant making their way to the water hole in the distance. Just do look out for the crafty baboons who will raid your kitchen if you are not vigilant in locking the door!!
The lodge has a shuttle bus which leaves every hour to all the attractions in Victoria Falls.
We were pleasantly surprised to find 3 well stocked supermarkets in Vic Falls town - so our catering lacked for nothing.
The staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble, and always with a friendly smile.
There is a lovely pool and boma for residents, and "The Boma" restaurant is an African Theme evening not to be missed.
We were 2 couples, stayed for 7 nights, and would all go back there in a heartbeat. Thank you Zim!!
PS: The Safari Lodge is extending & building extra rooms so there was a bit of construction noise while we were there (May 2012) We were aware of this fact before we arrived, and had requested a unit far from the construction site, so it really didn't bother us as we were out and about most of the day. Best to enquire in this regard before you have an unpleasant surprise.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaydee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Management at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Lokuthula Lodges on Trip Advisor after your stay in May this year. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your 7 night stay and were able to purchase everything you needed in our local supermarkets.

We do love the animals who come and visit the property although I hope that you were not a victim of a baboon raid? It is very important guests remember to lock up when they’re not there.

Thank you again for all of your valuable feedback, your compliments have been passed onto the team who wish to be associated with my thanks.

We hope you visit again soon.

Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We spent 3 nights (Fri,Sat Sun) at these self catering lodges as a family of 7 with two children aged 2 and 4 - having previously stayed as a couple at the sister Vic Falls Safari Lodge Hotel and others previously - so we know Vic Falls area well. It was disappointing that the Lodge could not, before we arrived, guarantee that we would get adjoining lodges, but it proved not to be a problem when we got there. We were allocated Lodges 44 and 45, well away from the construction taking place at the Hotel and away from the drumming we knew would resound from the Boma restaurant - a "must" experience for anyone visiting either lodges. Our first night was a disaster as we were invaded by ants - not a few but a few thousand. One guest awoke covered in the little blighters and one moved out of her room to sleep in the lounge. Another, complete with child, not only had to move out of the bedroom but couldn't use the lounge couches and spent a most uncomfortable night sleeping (or not sleeping) on top of the large coffee table, with two chairs pushed together for the child. I woke up covered in ants.

The following morning the staff (as always very friendly in Vic Falls area) were quick to apologise and moved us to Units 16/17 were we were ant free for the rest of the stay (turns out they had to call pest control to de-ant the original rooms).

We were then able to enjoy the rest of stay, see the magnificent Victoria falls and even watch elephant from the hotel terrace bar. The kids loved the pool areas - as did we all. The lodges are very comfortable and very well equipped. Beware - he warthogs are not tame that come into camp are very protective of their young!! The monkeys are definitely cheeky and you must zip up before you leave - even for your afternoon nap.

The construction work restarted on the Monday morning and I was glad we were leaving that day.

Despite some hopefully non repetitive trauma this is normally a very relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: The camp is split into two halves and we would advise staying in Lodges 9 -30 they have a feeling of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Taffyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Lokuthula Lodges.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused when your lodges were invaded by ants. Unfortunately we sometimes come across things like this being based in the ‘bush’ but I am glad that you were immediately moved to other lodges and were ‘ant free’ for the rest of your stay.

We are glad that the children enjoyed the pool areas and that you generally had a comfortable and relaxing stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

well worth the price, the lodge had everything we needed even (ANTS) heaps of them. they did invade our kitchen every night. always nice to wake to to the sound of the animals, the service was a little lacking, we had to call the cleaning stuff in to clean on the two mornings we we here but apart from that it was great

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and being surrounded by animals.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service levels you received. Your feedback has been passed on to the Lokuthula Manager who wishes to be associated with my apologies.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Loved staying here in a three bedroom lodge with seven of us in all. We didn't have any instructions or orientation and went to sleep in our room without zipping up the front canvas. We had failed to notice that the canvas could be drawn up and zipped. Then we were awakened with a phone call at 2AM and asked to zip up the front out of concern for bandits or burglars.

The county of Zimbabwe is in serious decline due to government corruption and the fact that Zimbabwe has become a kleptocracy. Therefore, power outages are pretty much a daily a reality. This makes keeping food refrigerated a challenge. Our refrigerator smelled of spoiled food, and was not cold.

We enjoyed using the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge as our restaurant. We also were entertained by watching the watering hole and observing a wonderful lightning storm from the safety of the Vic Falls Lodge.

As a value, Lokuthula lodge was a good choice and I would definitely recommend it as one of the better values in Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hawk4grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,793 reviews
1.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
843 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
396 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,288 reviews
1.6 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokuthula Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokuthula Lodges

Property: Lokuthula Lodges
Address: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge Property, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lokuthula Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a natural bush environment adjacent to the Zambezi National Park, Lokuthula’s luxurious self-catering lodges offer stylish comfort, flexibility and privacy. The 2 and 3-bedroomed lodges, sleeping 6 and 8 respectively, are furnished in a riot of African colours and are fully equipped and serviced daily. 8 of the 37 lodges may be booked on Bed and Breakfast basis. Additional facilities include a 3-tier swimming pool and children’s playground. The Boma – Place of Eating and MaKuwa-Kuwa Restaurant (both award-winning restaurants) are on the same resort complex. Situated just 4 kilometres from the mighty Victoria Falls, Lokuthula Lodges are ideally situated for families and groups to enjoy the wide range of activities on offer in the region. Lokuthula Lodges have consistently been awarded RCI (Resort Condominium International) Gold Crown status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lokuthula Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokuthula Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing