We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to holiday”
Review of Lokuthula Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lokuthula Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great start to holiday”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed two nights with our two young girls Helen and Kathryn (11 & 9) in lodge No 4. Very clean and comfortable with great views from our veranda of a new waterhole. Warthogs and banded mongoose grazing around the lodge was brilliant for a first timer in Africa. All the staff we met were friendly and very helpful. We ate at the Boma on our first night and the safari lodge the next. Both meals were excellent. Breakfast in the safari lodge the first morning was mind blowing with the views we had overlooking the main waterhole. The children loved the pool whilst we relaxed after the long journey from the UK. Shuttle service into town was available if needed so access to the falls was easy. A truly wonderful place to start our trip in Zimbabwe.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jgilly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Gilly and family in Cheshire

Your glowing 5-Star review of our very cost-effective self-catering units at Lokuthula has made us all proudly shine too! I have showed it to as many staff as I can and they all just beamed! Thank you for your most generous comments on all aspects, including your delight in watching the warthogs and mongooses on the lawns near your lodge. Sometimes the small animals can be just as enchanting as the elephants and lions!

Your enthusiasm as a family shines through and your statement that ours was “a truly wonderful place to stay” will do us a power of good. Conversely I really loved visiting Chester many years ago – really beautiful with great ambiance.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    148
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
194
71
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

These self catering lodges are very clean, tastefully furnished an a lot of fun. We had a two bed room lodge which sleeps 6.

The grounds are very well maintained but still very authentic. There are Water Buck, monkeys, warthogs and more literally on your door step.

It is very close to the main attractions and the parent hotel is a minutes walk away as well as the Boma restaurant

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acekicker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Hello acekicker!
Wish I knew which country you are from?! Many thanks indeed for your 5 Star review of our self-catering Lokuthula Lodges which you rated as very clean and "a lot of fun." You mention that waterbuck, monkeys, warthogs and more literally come to your doorstep....you may be surprised to learn that on occasion elephants, buffalo and even lions have been close to the lodges! Thank you for telling the world that you would 'definitely stay here again"...though watch out for those lions when next you are enjoying a BBQ overlooking that superb vista!

My warmest regards
Jonathan Hudson
Gneeral manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at Lokuthula a couple of weeks ago with our kids. Everyone had a great time at the Lodge and at Victoria Falls in general. The lodge staff were very helpful and obliging and we found the Victoria Falls people to be friendly and honest. Prices for the touristy things e.g Falls entrance were on the high side but we got some good deals at the Open Market. We didn't have any monkeys visit our lodge, but did have mozzies. Lots of them. So bring out the spray. We brought the majority of our food and supplies from Johannesburg, but the Spar in Vic Falls seemed to be well stocked up.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Management at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Lokuthula Lodges after your recent stay. We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit.

We hope you choose to stay with us again.

Regards,
Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom lodge for four nights and had a pretty good time. The free shuttle into town leaves every hour and is great for getting your groceries etc

some of the rooms are open to the outside but we had no issues with bugs or cold, actually we were quite toasty in our loft room in the middle of winter! The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking and the Bomoa and main lodge are also close by (well within walking distance) so we ate there a few times too.

The main lodge had some construction going on which would have been nice to know about prior to booking as the shop was closed and the restaurants had been closed / relocated during the week we were there. This didn't distract us too much and should be finished soon anyway.

Overall a good stay and would probably stay here again if returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Management at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of Lokuthula Lodges following your recent stay with us.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and didn't have any problems with the cold.

Victoria Falls Safari Lodge has just undergone a refurbishment of the central block but I'm happy to inform you that this has now been completed and the lodge looks fantastic.

We hope you visit us again soon and have a chance to dine in our refurbished lodge.

Regards,

Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
880 reviews
482 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 947 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I think this is the best place on the Zimbabwe side of the Falls for a family to stay. The setting is very pretty, and the thatched-huts are comfortable, well-furnished and stylish in an appropriate "African bush" way. Winter nights can get a bit chilly because there is no heat and no way to completely seal up the units, but blankets will keep you warm enough.

Because the hotel operates a free, hourly shuttle bus into town, the out-of-town (just a few miles) location becomes a plus. You're not stranded out there, and it's much more pleasant and prettier than in town (which has more than its fair share of mildly annoying touts and young men trying to sell you old Zimbabwe currency). I highly recommend a dinner at their famous Boma restaurant/show, and the 25% discount you receive for on-site meals makes it relatively affordable ($30 for adults, kids about half price). For other meals, I'd recommend going into town to buy food and using the braai in your backyard.

We didn't see that much wildlife at the water hole behind the hotel (go to Kruger if you want to see animals), but it was certainly a pleasant place to hang out. We also did not see any major wildlife looking over the electric fence at our villa.

There is currently some major construction/expansion on the hotel side of the compound, so I agree with the previous poster about asking for a quiet unit.

My only real criticism would be that the owners should undertake increased pest control. We did encounter a few bugs in our unit, including a couple of roaches, something we did not find in other southern Africa accomodations.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Management at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Lokuthula Lodges following your recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the local dining options available to you.

We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding pest control, this information has been passed to the Lokuthula Lodges Manager who will immediately look into the situation so that no other guests are inconvenienced.

Your compliments to the Boma restaurant have been passed on to the team who wish to be associated with my thanks.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards,

Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We loved the self-catering lodge and the staff was very friendly. The access to the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and the watering hole was wonderful. We went every morning and evening to look at the animals coming and going to the watering hole. I would have liked the ability to buy a few groceries at a little store in the compound versus going to the local grocery store. The grounds were immaculate and the drivers were incredibly friendly. The lodges got a bit chilly since there is no heat available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Management at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Lokuthula Lodges. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially the waterhole at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards,

Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I could talk about Lokuthula Lodges all day but i would simply run out of breath!
It was my first visit to Victoria Falls and it won't be my last.
Because i wanted to really experience The Falls my Fiancee (a Zimbabwean) thought that Lokuthula would be perfect for my first time as he had stayed there previously.
The accommodation was out of town compared to the other hotels, but looking back now, I'm glad it was. We went in December which was their peak season so there was people everywhere and the town would get so busy. It was nice to just retreat to somewhere beautiful and quiet at the end of a busy day exploring. Given it was peak season, the price to stay at Lokuthula was on the higher end of the scale, but because it was per lodge per night pricing rather than per person per night like most of the other hotels we were considering, it worked out in our favour because there was three of us.
When we arrived at Lokuthula I was blown away! The property was gorgeous! There was a man in costume at the entrance who greeted and gave directions as The Boma and Victoria Falls Safari Lodge are also situated there. Check in was easy as we had booked and payed months in advance.
The Lodge was amazing! Beautiful rooms with beautiful views. There were animals roaming on the hotel grounds, carefree and comfortable with your presence.
Because the Lodge accommodation did not include meals, we found our meals by other means. We did have dinner and breakfast at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge once which was lovely! The view of the waterhole while eating our meals was spectacular! Unparallel to anything I've seen before.
We also had dinner at The Boma. Wow! What an experience! The most fun I've had in a while!! A must do for anyone visiting The Falls.
We organised all our activities through the hotel so everything was just a breeze.
As much as this hotel was beautiful it would be nothing without the staff. They were always ever so helpful and friendly.
It was an amazing first visit. Victoria Falls is truly beautiful and something that everyone should see in their lifetime. Its definitely a place i hold dear in my heart as my now Fiancee proposed to me as we were cruising down the Mighty Zambezi River.
Couldn't have hoped for a better stay!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LyleGraciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Management at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Lokuthula Lodges following your stay with us in December 2011. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and congratulations on your engagement!!!

We are so glad to hear that you liked our lodges and the meals and waterhole at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge. Your compliments and feedback have been passed on to the team who wish to be associated with my thanks.

We hope you and your fiancée choose to visit us again soon.

Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,746 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
829 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokuthula Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokuthula Lodges

Property: Lokuthula Lodges
Address: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge Property, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lokuthula Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a natural bush environment adjacent to the Zambezi National Park, Lokuthula’s luxurious self-catering lodges offer stylish comfort, flexibility and privacy. The 2 and 3-bedroomed lodges, sleeping 6 and 8 respectively, are furnished in a riot of African colours and are fully equipped and serviced daily. 8 of the 37 lodges may be booked on Bed and Breakfast basis. Additional facilities include a 3-tier swimming pool and children’s playground. The Boma – Place of Eating and MaKuwa-Kuwa Restaurant (both award-winning restaurants) are on the same resort complex. Situated just 4 kilometres from the mighty Victoria Falls, Lokuthula Lodges are ideally situated for families and groups to enjoy the wide range of activities on offer in the region. Lokuthula Lodges have consistently been awarded RCI (Resort Condominium International) Gold Crown status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lokuthula Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokuthula Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing