We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!”
Review of Lokuthula Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lokuthula Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay January 5th and 6th 2014. We were a family of 4. We were most impressed with the friendliness of the staff. Every single person we encountered was friendly, cheerful and helpful. We also enjoyed dinners at the hotel and the complimentary breakfast was also really good. We hope we can return one day to Vic Falls and if we do we would definately return to Lukuthula Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy_Jennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi Mindy, thanks for the review - we loved having you with us! See you back soon.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    152
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
202
76
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a wonderful one night stay, wish it could have been longer. Staff very friendly and efficient. Accommodation for my wife,myself, daughter and son in law ( visiting from Edinburgh, Scotland ) perfect. We had an easy drive from Kasane so were able to check in early and then spend all afternoon at the Falls. Then back to the Lodge for a relaxing swim in their salt water pools. Were entertained by a family of 13 banded mongoose on the grass in front of the lodge and the ubiquitous warthogs and guinea fowl plus a single bush buck browsing in the bush just below while we had breakfast. We had hoped to eat at the Boma restaurant but it was fully booked ( it was Boxing Day ). Best to book ahead. However the kitchen at the lodge was very well equipped so self catering was no problem. $170 USD for 1 night for 4 people was excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for the great review Chris. And thanks for pointing out what great value that we offer our guest...

Good idea to point out the self-catering option. Indeed, the facilities are ideal!

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We had a wonderful time at Lokuthula lodges! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We got clean towels every day, and a friendly cleaner who came in once a day to do the dishes and clean the lodge. The kids loved swimming, and playing on the tramp. We really enjoyed going to the Boma for dinner, where we had a true african experience! Loved playing the drums!! We loved having the little bush buck and warthogs right on our doorstep! Will definitely go again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickybeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thanks very much for your wonderful review! It sounds like your kids had a wonderful time. Lokuthula really is a great place for families.

Looking forward to having you back soon!

Jonathan Hudson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Enjoyed our three-night stay immensely- staff were friendly and the grounds were beautiful- animals come right up to the lodges, including warthog families and guinea fowls. A word of warning, though, that the lodges are basically no frills cabins and not very comfy. Lots of mosquitoes (it's Zimbabwe), and the cabins have lots of openings to let them in, so bring lots of insect repellent and use those mosquito nets. Also, it's pretty far from town- you can't just walk- but there is a free shuttle that runs every hour to take you all the way "downtown" and to the falls themselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belgrade18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks for the review! Lokothula could be thought of as rustic, however we believe this is very much part of the charm. We have wonderful Safari Suites opening up soon which may be more to your liking.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Lovely lodges right in the bush, and a 2 minute walk away from Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and the Boma restaurant which were all superb. Lodges were very clean and inviting, also loved that we had warthogs (6 babies included) and Guinea fowl roaming right on the porch of our lodge. Perfect for a quite family get away, and great having the use of the 3 Boma pools right by your door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyanne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Lokuthula Lodges, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Holly-anne. Thanks so much for the kind words. Indeed - we would have loved to have to for longer. But maybe you should just come again?

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Had an amazing stay @ Lokuthula Lodge. The squeaky clean lodges really make you feel like home away from home. We were a group of about 8 Adults but we still had room for more people. The Boma Restaurant which is just a few metres away serves sumptuous meals you will die for. Try Lokuthula this Festive Season.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honestmasiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Serene, cosy and so very close to the bush! It was a lovely experience given the animals right outside the lodge, the cleanliness, lodge design, pools within two minutes walk to keep the kids entertained, great snacks at the Boma Restaurant Bar... it was great! Definitely going back to live there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhmadMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,814 reviews
1.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
850 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
346 reviews
1.6 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokuthula Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokuthula Lodges

Property: Lokuthula Lodges
Address: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge Property, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lokuthula Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a natural bush environment adjacent to the Zambezi National Park, Lokuthula’s luxurious self-catering lodges offer stylish comfort, flexibility and privacy. The 2 and 3-bedroomed lodges, sleeping 6 and 8 respectively, are furnished in a riot of African colours and are fully equipped and serviced daily. 8 of the 37 lodges may be booked on Bed and Breakfast basis. Additional facilities include a 3-tier swimming pool and children’s playground. The Boma – Place of Eating and MaKuwa-Kuwa Restaurant (both award-winning restaurants) are on the same resort complex. Situated just 4 kilometres from the mighty Victoria Falls, Lokuthula Lodges are ideally situated for families and groups to enjoy the wide range of activities on offer in the region. Lokuthula Lodges have consistently been awarded RCI (Resort Condominium International) Gold Crown status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Lokuthula Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokuthula Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing