We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally situated, nothing more”
Review of Loanda Hotel

Loanda Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Loanda Hotel
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Luanda
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Luanda, Angola is a very expensive city, but at $290 / per day, incl. breakfast seemed expensive for what was offered..

I stayed at Loanda hotel from 14 July - 25 July 2014, as the first choice hotel was full.

It is rated a 3 star, but should be a 2 star at best.

Noisy room overlooking main road, which means you will wake at 6 am every morning or earlier due to traffic.
Only 1 bottle water provided upon check- in , but no coffee, tea nor kettle. Bar fridge just about chills.

No Wi-Fi in rooms, only a cable, which was very temperamental at best. Check out your IP address, and if fixed, you will need to change it to auto to access the internet.

Bedroom light never replaced despite reporting it and CNN channel reception too poor to watch.

Breakfast was good, but a small variety; fresh fruit: apples & bananas ran out after first 4 days, and never replaced. Good, freshly baked bread and rolls provided in dining area overlooking Church.

No help with baggage upon checking out.

Good location for where I had to work, but not keen to return!

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JohnGH_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

Luanda is a very expensive city and this hotel is in line with this. The hotel is very simplistic but with no major flaws. The rooms are relatively small, not larger than about 12 sq meters and the services are offered by its minimum. The internet is wired in the room but in a reasonable bandwidth which allowed surfing the web and skyping home easily.
The dining room is on the top of the building with a nice view over the city. However, meals are quite expensive.
If this hotel was situated in a developed country I would rate it as poor, comparing the prices with the services provided. As it I not the case, I think it is acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simbaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Loanda Hotel, is the remodelated "Hotel Vice Rei" is located near "Igreja Sagrada Familia" and Andy's Bar.
Rooms are very narrow and uncomfortable as well as noisy. It's a 3 Star but it should be considered a one Star. I did not have any food there nor even the breakfast.
I paid around $230 per night! Extremely Expensive for the Quality and service

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kool2bbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Good restaurant, average rooms, good service. For what you find in Luanda is not bad, teh restaurant has good views and good dishes

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaesarSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

I have stayed in many 3 star and 5 start hotels, but this hote is the best i never experianced in my life. Simply awesome. Would like to stay in the hotel everytime when i am going back to Angola

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudarsan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Considering that the hotels offer in Luanda is far from the standards we are used to in Europe, this is a good choice. It has recently been renovated, has good location, clean look and nice staff. It could use some improvement in the restaurant, as the variety is fair, and in the wireless Internet Service, that is too unstable and can drive you crazy. Besides this, Loanda is a good place to stay in Luanda. Be prepared to pay the big bucks!

Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
3  Thank JorgeAbreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Hotel rated 3 star more like 1. Single room the size of a show box, twin much better. Tv in room either without sound or lack of tuned stations, no complimentry bottled water, internet or wifi in rooms only in recepition area. restaurant /bar not worth it very expensive. Roof terrace customers are not allowed to go there, its for their staff only, nowhere for you the customer to sit outside, nothing at all to do at this hotel zero. local restaurant/bar 'Padrinho' well worth it, clean, good food and atmostphere a lot chaper than the hotel even for a cup of coffee open all day/everyday until 11pm. Would never recommend nor stay at this hotel ever!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItalianJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0 mi away
Luna Hotel Zombo
Luna Hotel Zombo
#13 of 43 in Luanda
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
RK Aparthotel
RK Aparthotel
#15 of 43 in Luanda
1 reviews
7 mi away
Ibis Styles IU Luanda Talatona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 43 in Luanda
83 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Florenca
Hotel Florenca
#30 of 43 in Luanda
25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costa
Hotel Costa
#16 of 43 in Luanda
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loanda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loanda Hotel

Address: Rua Joaquim Kapango 83 | Ingombotas, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range: £107 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loanda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Loanda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing