We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talatona Convention Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Luanda
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Even for Africa this hotel was shocking.

A modern and glossy exterior does nothing to make this hotel a 5 star. I fear many cuts where made in its construction and I fear the staff training too is being cut left right and centre.

I was appalled at the price of everything in the hotel. The cheapest thing on the room service menu was USD$15 and that was before the addition delivery charges and tax was added. If you wanted anything to sustain you one can expect to pay upwards of $50 dollars for a simple burger and chips.

I found the room although large to be rather frustrating to operate. I could not switch the light off in the wardrobe which meant a line of bright light lit up the bed. Controls for the lights are on the tv remote control but they where difficult to use as the remote had seen better days and when in the shower I couldn't help but notice lots of small hair shavings stuck to the tiles at eye level where clearly someone had shaved. It was pretty disgusting and made me question the cleanliness of the hotel.

Also a distinct lack of an iron, ironing board and yes even a Hairdryer made be once again question this hotels 5 star qualities.

Option are limited in Luanda and the greedy management of this hotel clearly know that. On the plus side the bed was comfortable.

I won't be disappointed if I never return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCTA, Sales & Marketing Management at Talatona Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your time in sending your review regarding your stay at Talatona Convention Hotel.

On behalf of the entire team we appreciate your esteemed opinion and sincerity regarding points to be improved.

Luanda, is still one of the most expensive countries in the world, and therefore, the hotel needs to follow the country figures, due to the high cost of raw materials.

Regarding your comment on the control remote, we will make a double check if it happen to be a problem with the power supply and fix the problem since this is the first time we get a complain regarding this.

Furthermore, we will look closely on the wardrobe light bulbs since this is not suppose to happen as you refer and they are supposed to swicht off.

We regret if the service has not met your expectations and we hope to see you soon so you can carry the memory of a truly 5 star stay!

Best regards,

Sales & Marketing Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel looks good, but you soon find that maintenance is poor and services is very disappointing. The hotel lost power quite often with no backup generator, if there was one it never kicked in. There is WI-FI available but it’s so patchy and most of the time is non-existent. Unfortunately its one of a few hotels in Luanda so not much choice.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCTA, Sales & Marketing Management at Talatona Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you for your time in sending your review regarding your stay at Talatona Convention Hotel.

On behalf of the entire team we appreciate your esteemed opinion and sincerity regarding points to be improved.

We regret if the service has not met your expectations and we hope to see you soon so you can carry the memory of a truly 5 star stay!

Best regards,

Sales & Marketing Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Where you are talking about Luanda, unfortunately there is not much hotels options.
Someone invested a good money on the construction of the hotel, that is quite new, full of marble and good quality finishing.

Unfortunately the service is poor and you get no value for money.

The meal in the restaurant is almost USD 100 (one mean, believe me).

But if you have meetings or will be working in Talatona, guess there is no other better place to stay.

The traffic is crazy, so suggest you avoid traffic, staying where is convenient.

Don't forget the mosquitoes repellent.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank GabrielCotrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCTA, Sales & Marketing Management at Talatona Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Mr. Gabriel,

On behalf of the entire team we appreciate your esteemed opinion and sincerity regarding points to be improved.

We regret if the service has not met your expectations and we hope to see you soon so you can carry the memory of a truly 5 star stay!

Best regards,

Sales & Marketing Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

In a reply to a previous review, 30 October 13 it was stated the gym would be re opening within the next month, well it's mid-January 14 and the gym is still shut. In a hotel that looks this good and is this expensive, it should have a gym, and if you say the gym I s going to be open within the next month it should not still be shut 10 weeks later.
And as I'm now on a roll, for convenience, could you not put an iron and ironing board, and a hair dryer in each room. These are basics.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank NathanDetr0it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCTA, Sales & Marketing Management at Talatona Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Mr. Nathan,

First of all, thank you for your time in sending your review regarding your stay at Talatona Convention Hotel.

Regarding your comment about the gym please accept our apologies, since, unfortunately it was not possible to comply with the deadline previously reported.

We recall, however, that the hotel continues to offer an alternative, it is possible to use the gym located within the condominium Colinas do Sol, 5 minutes away from hotel. For more information you may reach our Front Office, to schedule your pick up and drop off at this gym.

Until this situation is surpassed we apologize for all the inconvenience caused.

The HCTA team hopes to welcome you back shortly and please do not hesitate to reach us for any further information.

Best regards,

Sales & Marketing Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

The good stuff.
Rooms very nice, spacious clean and very comfy bed.
Lobby very open clean airy a nice place to be.
Location great for Talatona, local business etc. Not so good if you are working/visiting downtown
Staff friendly generally seemed to want to help.
Main restaurant (Italian) served very good food if a limited menu, I had a great rack of lamb on wild mushroom risotto.

Not so good.
Of course its expensive, its Luanda and you a probably on business. Jonny Walker Black Label $20 a measure!

No towels in the bathroom (happened to me and to my colleague) is the norm.

Safe in the room not working (to be fair was replaced eventually) again also a problem in my colleague's room.

These simple things shouldn't be happening in a five star hotel.

Note no wifi in room, they do provide cables but no use when you dont have an rj45 connection
As general in Luanda taxis are a nightmare none at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martynjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCTA, Sales & Marketing Management at Talatona Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you for your time invested in sending your review regarding Talatona Convention Hotel.

We appreciate the words addressed and the highlighted positive aspects mentioned.

Regarding the lack of towels provision we can only regret what happened at this moment and ensure that in the future this fault is not repeated.

Concerning the wireless internet service in the rooms, we also inform you that, shortly, this service will also be available to customers, hoping that you can take advantage of it on your next visit.

Once again, thank you for your review, wishing you a happy holidays and a happy and prosperous 2014.

Best regards,

Sales & Marketing Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Been at Talatona twice already, and can now confirm my first impression : the hotel is built on high standards and deserves 5* for this, the service is at the other end of the spectrum !
- Staff at reception has limited English skills
- Cleaning staff is a clear shame : my room was not cleaned from the previous guest, I asked to get it cleaned, a lady came and gave me a water bottle !! Every morning, towels were taken away and not replaced !
- Maintenance is not performed : 3 out of 6 lightbulbs were broken, the door hardly closed, the lights in the cupbard could not be turned off anymore, the safe was missing (and I was asked what I did with it - that was funny)
- WiFi works only in the lobby and first floor. Come with your own CAT5 cable.

I am sure service will improve as years pass, unfortunately if maintenance is done consistently like this the hotel shall be in bad shape quickly.

Room Tip: First floor for WiFi and anyway take a CAT5 cable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCTA, Sales & Marketing Management at Talatona Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Sir,

On behalf of the entire team we appreciate your esteemed opinion and sincerity regarding points to be improved.

Having actively listened to our guests the hotel has provided an English course internally (currently in progress) not just in terms of front desk but also for housekeeping.

For this reason, and since we have taken into account the relevance of proper communication and understanding, we believe that on your next visit you may already see an improvement on this aspect.

In terms of intenet, we are finalizing the negotiation for the implementation of WIFI network in rooms and we are pleased to be able to offer an improvement of services to our guests.

About the other points mentioned we will take into consideration the faults in terms of maintenance and housekeeping so they wont happen again.

Hoping to have answered all the questions we hope that you visit us back soon.

Best regards,

Sales & Marketing Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Rooms are excellent and clean. If you don't need to be downtown and aren't too concerned about service this isn't a bad place to stay - although the rates should still compensate for the location - which they don't.
If you need to be downtown do everything you can to stay at Epic Sana. For the nights I stayed it was about $30 cheaper per night, has better facilities and service. The commute downtown from Talatona almost makes it not worth visiting Luanda if you are forced to stay at Talatona. Average time over 3 days was 1h20 each way. Average wait time for a taxi at Talatona ranged from 15 minutes to 1h45 minutes! Can take a long time to find a taxi prepared to take you back to Talatona for an acceptable price (work on about $60 each way).
Drinks service in lobby bar is ok, food service is terrible - buffet upstairs at US$75 is a better bet. Food is fine.
If the owners want to improve their occupancy they should arrange their own reasonably priced (say $30 each way) shuttle every hour to downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 96CTUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCTA, Sales & Marketing Management at Talatona Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Sir,

Thanks , first of all , your prized attention and time devoted to leave us your opinion about your stay .

Sorry if somehow the service was not meeting their expectations .

We also appreciate your suggestion regarding the shuttle service that will take into consideration and internal analysis .

Unfortunately , the traffic in the city of Luanda , still presented as a challenge both inside and outside the city and Talatona presents itself as a solution to those who want to be able to enjoy the proximity to recreational areas even while on a business trip .

Just as correction to your comment about our restaurants , the buffet restaurant is located on the ground floor and the first floor is located our à la carte restaurant, La Piazza .

Once again, we regret if the service has not met your expectations and we hope to see you soon so you can carry the memory of a truly 5 star stay!

Best regards,

Sales & Marketing Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
7.5 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 41 in Luanda
296 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 41 in Luanda
118 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 41 in Luanda
200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Florenca
Hotel Florenca
#30 of 41 in Luanda
22 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Ritz Victoria Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talatona Convention Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talatona Convention Hotel

Address: Rua Luanda Sul CCB4 GU 02, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range: £297 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Talatona Convention Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Talatona Convention Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talatona Hotel Luanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing