We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE HOTEL IS OK”
Review of Skyna Hotel Luanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“THE HOTEL IS OK”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I had heard many things about how expensive Luanda is and how terrible the hotels were despite the outrageous prices. But I must say that the Skyna is a brand new hotel and I did not have problems with the drainage. The best thing for me is the new hotel with the "new" smell and not that old hotel smell. The need to make an advance payment for the extras is a hassle but if you just get that out of the way when you check in it is no big deal. The hotel has pretty good wi-fi coverage but I can't get it in my room. But all rooms have cable internet and the speed it quite good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    59
    63
    12
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
4
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
Level Contributor
382 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here and in the Baia Hotel. Price wise they are similar and loads has been written in the high prices, remember Angola is the most expensive city in the world for expats.

The staff here are friendly and helpful. Any issues I had (quick turnaround for laundry, slow draining shower) they were quick to resolve. Food is good with lots of selection as breakfast and dinner but not as good as the Baia.

Location is good with most of the major company HQs in walking distance. If you are being driven then be warned this area gets gridlocked most rush hours. Because of this the noise from the road is noticeable if you are in a room on the front (even high up).

The gym is typical for most hotels; a rack of small weights, one multi-gym machine and a selection of Technogym CV machines. No water is provided but there are towels, a good AC unit and a TV.

The big negative is the lack of a pool (Baia and Epic Sana both have pools) and indeed any outdoor space. This combined with the brown decor and low light levels in the rooms makes for
a claustrophobic experience.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
213 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

During a recent business trip to Luanda i stayed at SKYNA for one night. Hotels are very expensive in Luanda and SKYNA is no exception. The hotel has a very modern style, the same goes for the rooms. The room was nice and big with a very comfortable bed.I was disapointed with the service both during breakfast and check out. It seems as if the staff was under training??
Difficult to get hold of the one serving coffee and staff at reception struggeled to print out the bill. Not what you expect when staying in a hotel costing close to 400 usd a night. Maintenace in this hotel also seems to be an issue the management needs to look at. The hotel is fairly new but the shower door in my room was already missing some parts that made it difficult to close.

Room Tip: Higher up and facing the back is a good idea as there is some noice from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safari1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I will never stay at the Skyna ever again. Worst experience ever. Apart from their cash policy for all extra's or an upfront cash deposit to cover all incidentals, i was rather surprised that such a new hotel had drainage problems and had to endure a four day stay showering ankle deep in my own shower water. At those Luanda prices, that was the last straw. Management didn't seem to worried about my unhappiness with the situation. Hadn't they taken my full payment upfront I would definitely have moved out on the second day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luanda hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

On my recent trip to Luanda our business partners in Luanda booked me at Skyna Hotel. They paid the first night's accommodation costs. Having stayed there before I convinced a colleague to also stay at the same time. He booked through a travel agent. When we checked in at the hotel they immediately charged the four night's accommodation to my colleague's credit card. After a rather average but expensive dinner in the hotel that night, he was told he would have to pay cash for the dinner and all future extras during his stay. The next day, I was also told I had to pay cash for any other services except accommodation. We obviously argued with the manager that this was not normal international hotel practice but he was adamant that since 2 guests left last year not paying for extras on their bill, this was now the hotel's policy. Needless to say, we never used any facilities in the hotel again during the 4 days we were in Luanda. We also noticed that there seemed endless arguments between reception staff and guests which didn't surprise us. While the hotel offers average service & comfortable facilities at the usual exhorbitant Luanda prices, you need to decide if you want to be carrying around a pocketful of money to pay for your extras during your stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I would rate this hotel no better than a 1-2 star. While its price (+350/night) is suggestive of a good quality hotel, that is not the case. The hotel is mediocre at best, with poor room service, and very little selection beyond the overpriced buffet for both lunch and dinner (unless you eat in your room). Room service typically consists of multiple phone calls before they "agree" to bring your food, with a ridiculous preoccupation about payment (why not just charge it to the room), and no seeming communication between phone calls to room service, so your order may or may not resemble what you ordered. As for calling for a cab, forget it. They will give you the phone numbers of companies, and direct you to call. Their definition of a doorman is literal........opens the door, nothing more. Concierge service.........where? Direct phone calls --- forget it. You must call the reception each time you want to call to ask them to give you a line, and they may or may not answer the phone. It is all incredibly frustrating. The beds are nothing special, and the fitness center is adequate. With more hotels being constructed in Luanda, this hotel is in for a rude awakening.......I'll never stay there again!!

Room Tip: high floor with view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pak Kret, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed a couple of nights at Skyna this week. It was my first time in this Hotel for my business trip. I have stayed in Alvalade and Golden Park Hotels in Luanda before. Skyna had great buffet for breakfast. Loved the bread and pastries and the strong dark coffee as well. Beds were comfortable, room was clean during my stay. i stayed on the 9th floor so it was not very noisy. I was also death tired after 14 hrs flight and trying to adjust to the 6 hours earlier. Bar Samba had friendly staff and their coffee was excellent too. Had a couple of beer on ourlast night and bar tender gave us a taste of Amarula for free. I had a kick out of the little rolling brush to clean your shoes in front of the elevator. I enjoyed my stay in Skyna and would push to get back to this Hotel if need to come back to Luanda.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ortiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 39 in Luanda
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alvalade
Hotel Alvalade
#17 of 39 in Luanda
121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
1.2 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyna Hotel Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyna Hotel Luanda

Property: Skyna Hotel Luanda
Address: Avenida de Portugal N0 29 | Ingombotas, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Skyna Hotel Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Skyna Hotel Luanda is a modern hotel present in the Angolan Capital since 2009. We now also focus on internationalization and Portugal is the first country that we are present. We are the first Angolan chain of hotels to venture abroad and we want to create an exchange between the know-how and best practices of Portuguese hospitality and the warmth and joy of the Angolan people. The Skyna Hotel Luanda has three bars (one for smokers, one for supporting conferences, serving light meals), and a buffet restaurant. It has 220 double rooms, 11 suites with 100m2 each and a penthouse apartment, 4 apartments T1 and two apartments T2, with room service 24 hours a day. The rooms are equipped with electronic locks, a private bathroom, hairdryer, air conditioning, safe deposit, telephone, television and mini bar. The reception is available 24 hours a day with currency exchange. It also has rent-a-car, own laundry, tobacconist, travel agency with support for local services, and free garage parking. Ideal for meetings and press conferences, the hotel has several multipurpose rooms and a business center. For relaxation, the Skyna Hotel Luanda offers to its customers a health club with massage, aesthetics, beauty and hairdressing services as well as a fully equipped gym with panoramic views over the city of Luanda. Visitors and hotel guests enjoy free Internet via WIFI throughout the hotel. A great space for fun and work. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Skyna Hotel Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing