We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A business hotel”
Review of Skyna Hotel Luanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Luanda
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Even though this is Luanda and the prices are silly for everything everywhere, this hotel is not value for the money. - The hotel does not provide drinking water (!) except 2 small bottles on your first day. So if you are there longer you are without water -- unless u buy it from the hotel a high price. WiFi signal is very weak in the guest rooms - to get a strong enough signal I either had to stand just inside the room door, or go to the lobby lounge (where you will see many other guests having a video-conf with family.
BUT...in the room I found a cable to the in-house network, plugged in my laptop and that speed was blazing fast! It was incredible! Using speedtest.net I measured 29.81 Mb/s download and 70.31 Mb/s! And it was real: I downloaded iOS7.1 in a few short minutes. Sent out photos via email without any issue. BASED ON THIS I RATED THE HOTEL 'VERY GOOD' OTHERWISE IT WOULD BE RATED AVERAGE.

i FOUND THE amenities in the room to be OK. The staff at breakfast has no sense of service and appear to do you a favour when you ask for coffee (I was there for 5 days and the attitude never changed across the days or the staff. The quality of the food was average, with the omelets on the buffet cold every day.
Reception was helpful as was the in-house travel agency.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts otherwise you will hear ding ding all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMOost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Free Internet all over the building, Great breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff.
100 % recommendation. I did pay $ 380,- which i first thought was a bit pricey. But you get a perfect all new business Hotel, free water, coffee & tea, all international TV channels
For what you get the price is fair and less than what you would pay in most other capitals in the world. So go for it!

Room Tip: High rooms with view to Ilha
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

While it still costs U$380 for a single room, like the rest of Luanda, its quite normal. The rooms have all you want and the internet is free and fast.Water and cool drinks in the mini bar fridge are free. Breakfast had a good variety and was filling. Food and drink otherwise are expensive so some friends and I went 3 blocks away to Pensao Fatima where we had a really big portions for half the price. The ATM at reception is useful The chaps at reception were helpful and speak some English although I have met friendlier people at hotels in Africa!

Room Tip: Rather get a room away from the lifts and towards the top floors where the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Pluses - a lot of the staff spoke English and they were helpful and friendly, made an otherwise fairly awful hotel bearable. This is unusual in Luanda. Thanks to you all.
The music on Thursday nights is also good- 2 very good acoustic musicians but almost no audience which is pity.

Minuses:
the ridiculous prices of course but this is Angola and the concept of value for money doesn't exist yet.

The dreadful decor - this is a fairly new hotel but manages to look as thought it was built in the 1970's.

The hideous depressing and gloomy rooms, including the nastiest carpet I have ever seen anywhere, which looks like a convicts uniform and adds to the prison-like atmosphere, the absence of a pool or any outside space. Large rooms with little furniture tiny TV's for the room size, poor working area. Wifi didn't work in the rooms but the wired connection didi and they provide ethernet cables.

Small and somewhat dirty bathroom - the floor and mould around the shower.

The food - buffet only at $70 and heavy Portuguese home style cooking, Quality is good but food was ruined as almost always COLD and therefore inedible. Breakfast is reasonable. No decent light meals - I had a stone cold burger served and couldn't eat it.

OK for a couple of nights but i found a longer stay depressing, due to the decor food etc. Th hotel scores 3 because the staff were very good, for Luanda

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stay in both hotels, the Skyna is a bit dated now and the decor could do with brightening up but it is centrally located compared to the Baia (There is a great pizzeria 5 minutes walk away called Ciao)

In Skyna's favour, they have recently revamped the internet system and it is much faster and more reliable than the internet in Baia. Also the TVs work properly in the Skyna being wired up in the old fashioned way... In the Baia if they have a power failure, which they frequently do, then the internet and TVs take ages to come back on as they seem to be run from the same server... You can easily lose 15 minutes of a football game because of a 1 second power outage.

The food (Buffet) in the Skyna is not great, the meat and fish is overcooked and usually tepid. In the Baia they have a grill at the end of the buffet table where you can get your steak and fish cooked to order - Much more appetising!

The rooms in the Skyna are dark but cosy enough and the aircon always works well, if you don't like your room, ask reception to change you to something more suitable, they are very helpful. In the Baia the rooms are much brighter and more modern so the Baia has the edge on room comfort.

Bars - the Baia has a lobby bar which is a bit too open to be comfortable although it is clean and fresh, there is also a rooftop bar next to the small swimming pool and sunbathing area.

The Skyna has a biggish lobby bar which seems to get quite busy, lots of sofas and tables/chairs... the beer is also cheaper here than the Baia.

On the first floor of the Skyna is the smoking bar and it is here that the local ladies sit waiting to make friends with the residents... there is also live music on Thursday evenings..

Staff in both hotels are charming and friendly, they have a better attitude than the staff in a lot of UK hotels I've stayed in.

All in all you pay your money and make your choice, they both have plusses and minuses

Room Tip: The wifi in rooms at the end of the corridors is weakest, ask for a double bed in a room close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for a little more than 3 weeks. The room that I was in does not get WiFi reception. The lights in the room were really strange, it never was bright enough. The lobby/waiting area where all the business people hang out was so depressing, the design was done by a blind person. Even though the hotel was recently built, it looks as if its at least 15 years old. Here's a big tip, don't eat at the restaurant, walk down to the Epic Sana which also serves a buffet dinner for a little more money but the food selection is 10x better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iprocure2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

After the plane I was on had a problem just after take off, this is the hotel that the airline put me in.

Compared to the staff house my customer had me in this place was great. Good food and descent Internet connection. Had to share the room with another stranded traveler but that wasn't so bad. It also wasn't the hotels fault. That was the airlines issue.

I use Viber to talk with my wife on the data connection and it was just good enough for that.

Nice buffet selection for all the meals.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shad_Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 43 in Luanda
307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 43 in Luanda
119 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 43 in Luanda
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 43 in Luanda
83 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alvalade
Hotel Alvalade
#11 of 43 in Luanda
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyna Hotel Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyna Hotel Luanda

Address: Avenida de Portugal N0 29 | Ingombotas, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range: £222 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skyna Hotel Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Skyna Hotel Luanda is a modern hotel present in the Angolan Capital since 2009. We now also focus on internationalization and Portugal is the first country that we are present. We are the first Angolan chain of hotels to venture abroad and we want to create an exchange between the know-how and best practices of Portuguese hospitality and the warmth and joy of the Angolan people. The Skyna Hotel Luanda has three bars (one for smokers, one for supporting conferences, serving light meals), and a buffet restaurant. It has 220 double rooms, 11 suites with 100m2 each and a penthouse apartment, 4 apartments T1 and two apartments T2, with room service 24 hours a day. The rooms are equipped with electronic locks, a private bathroom, hairdryer, air conditioning, safe deposit, telephone, television and mini bar. The reception is available 24 hours a day with currency exchange. It also has rent-a-car, own laundry, tobacconist, travel agency with support for local services, and free garage parking. Ideal for meetings and press conferences, the hotel has several multipurpose rooms and a business center. For relaxation, the Skyna Hotel Luanda offers to its customers a health club with massage, aesthetics, beauty and hairdressing services as well as a fully equipped gym with panoramic views over the city of Luanda. Visitors and hotel guests enjoy free Internet via WIFI throughout the hotel. A great space for fun and work. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Skyna Hotel Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing