We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Final a reasonable hotel in Luanda”
Review of Hotel Baia Luanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Baia Luanda
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Price still expensive. Room great modern large with good view. Located on the marginal road that was recently built or should I say still being built. I really like the modern room. Could not figure out how to use the TV but it was just one night so did not put a lot if effort into it. The breakfast was ok nothing special. Check in service excellent and speedy even though it was 10pm and check out the same. The staff at breakfast seemed to be real slow at clearing the dishes thus customers waited long for a table. Did not gave supper their as I have learnt one thing in
Luanda go to a Resturant for dinner skip the hotel restaurants.

Room Tip: Night time can be noisy if you get a room overlooking the ocean and thus the main road. Simply put i...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baia Luanda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Usually I stay somewhere a little more downmarket when visiting Luanda, but an upgrade was necessary as the bosses were also in town. Hotel Baia is down by the water and close to the Mausoleum, so it is well situated. Rooms are adequate, but TV selection is poor and hot water is at a premium - although water pressure is good. Booking in was not a good experience and service in the downstairs bar was poor. It seems as if, on most days, the bar closes at 2100 (including week-ends) and then there's a trek to the 8th floor if one wants refreshments. Breakfast & lunch were OK, but we didn't use the restaurant for dinner as we ate out. I normally spend around $120.00/night less that the Hotel Baia charges and I don't think the added cost will be justified until the staff is better trained and the hotel starts living up to its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willierJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Being operated by the TH Hotels this hotel should be better. The decor and comfort is great and it has improved since I last stayed 7 months ago but it is still let down by the service. If you eat in the 8th floor bar the allow 1-hour minimum and if you have an issue with your room then get the manager involved straight away or risk it dragging out. Some guests complain about the lack of hot water thankfully our room is OK. The positives: the breakfast and dinner buffets are the best of the 4-star hotels in town. On most evenings there is lobster and great deserts. The staff are working hard to improve the service so keep up the good work.....

Room Tip: Test the hot water before you settle in. Ask to be at the back if you are light sleeper.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welsh_Clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

It was my first stay at Hotel Baia, although I had visited it before. All in all, it felt like one was in Europe. I've been to Luanda often, staying at other hotels and I also know the problems of running a hotel in Angola (electricity, water, human resources etc).

The rooms are very nice, everything was working, check in and check out well done. Staff at the desk were helpful. Service at the restaurant and at the pool bar was good (don't expect the same speed as in Europe). Free internet on wifi works everywhere, and I mean everywhere (lobby, restaurant, rooms, top bar) which significantly reduces your communication costs

All in all, for Angolan standards, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlfacinhaLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I have stayed in the hotel twice now. Once in November, for 1 week, and currently staying here for 2 weeks. I will say that some things have improved, while others remain inconsistent. Service is by far an area of improvement...first, there are very few english speaking personnel at the hotel and even when you speak Portuguese...sometimes they don't understand, or should I say don't want to understand. Next, there are a few moments a day in which hot water is available, the same goes for high speed internet...the transfer speed is not great...but, we are in Luanda and things are improving...slowly. The food is below average to average, this is the most inconsistent area of the hotel. Some days your french fries (chips) are hot, sometimes, cold, sometimes crispy, sometimes soggy, sometimes not cooked all the way. Your sandwich can come with lettuce one day, one day without, same with all toppings...sometimes toasted, sometimes warm, sometimes just stale bread. All of which will cost you around $20-$30. The lunch and dinner buffet, which costs $75 is below average with bland, overcooked foods...best bet is to order the steak made to order. Everything is loaded with EVOO, vegetables, rice, meats, etc...Desserts look beautiful, but are much to be desired as they are bland, not sweet, texture is gritty...best bet is the fresh fruits that are available. The rooms are very nice, beds are changed daily, large televisions and bathrooms. Laundry service is available, but make sure you count your items and when items are missing you must continue to follow up with front desk and managers, or they will keep your clothes. We continue to have issues with laundry. The roof top pool/bar is quite relaxing and overlooks the sea..it was a great view for Carnival and the firework show. The gym facilites are average, not the best I have seen, but definitely better than none. It has 3 tread mills, a stationary bike and elliptical and a few machines and free weights for use. Towels are provided and a trainer if you wish. Overall, it is a decent hotel...but they should improve before the power house "Intercontinental" finishes construction.

Room Tip: For hot water, stay on lower floors...for a better view 7th floor facing the sea
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kahiki11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and could not believe that this hotel was in luanda. The whole interior and exterior the building was very contemporary and comfortable. The gym was well equipped and sometimes a personal trainer was also available to guide. A nice pool was located on the top floor with an amazing view of the sunset. The internet could be used from the large flat screen tv which was great...I watched many sitcoms this way. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Sometimes porters might not be available so make arrangements accordingly.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetterkarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tdhotels D, TD Hotels Comercial Department at Hotel Baia Luanda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback and remarks.
Hope to have you back at our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I was last week in this hotel for 5 days. I must say that there is not much offer to stay in Luanda and this is almost, if not,the best option. Now, if we put the prize in the discussion i must say that for a 400$ hotel (a hamburguer costs 25 $ in the roof restaurant) i was waiting for something more. I couldn't use hot water in the mornings. This could be a 120- 175 $ hotel in Europe, don't wait for more.
Luanda is really a expensive town, so be ready for that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nirgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
1.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
198 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 39 in Luanda
79 reviews
6.8 mi away
Talatona Convention Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alvalade
Hotel Alvalade
#11 of 39 in Luanda
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Luanda

Address: Av. Agostinho Neto, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range: £262 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Baia Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing