We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Baia Luanda
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
US$385
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$269
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$492
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
34
68
15
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
68
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreception desknice hotelnice viewwater frontgreat amenitiessmall gymrooms are modernlunch buffetbusiness tripbaiafacilitiesfiinternetbeerimprovement
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Taking in mind costs of hotels in Luanda, this hotel seems to be for me the best choice. Rooms are great and modern, WIFI all over, decent breakfast, ok service.

A lovely pool and gym on the top, for a very chilling late afternoon. Its not a very big hotel, so you dont feel your kind of lost inside it...

Airport pick up could be available.
Rates could be better, but then all Luanda hotels had to do the same. Not sure its going to happen....

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank Samirismael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This week I have had the pleasure of staying in both this hotel and the Hotel President in Luanda allowing me a fair comparisson of the two properties. The Hotel Baia is definately better fitted out on the interior finsihing (shown with the usual Angolan over pricing of US 500+ per night...), but there are definate disadvantages to the Hotel President (US$ 320 per night) when it comes to the services provided.

Firstly, as an extensive global business traveller, I always have a great need for a good internet service. The wireless internet in the Hotel Baia is barely adequate and is definately not delivering the performacnce that the Hotel President wired internet provides. If internet is important to you, as it is with me, then this hotel would not be my first choice.

The second issue I have is that to order food from the Room Service menu at the Hotel Baia, it appears you have to first go to the reception area and pay for it before they will serve it to you. I spend nearly 200 nights a year in hotels, and have done for 16 years in a region that covers all of Africa, the Middle East, Eastern Europe and Central Asia....this is an absolute first for me. It apparrently is not possible to add the bill to the room bill. Ridiculous!!!

So, I have now stayed here two times...the first and the last.....bring on the Hotel President....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mflook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed here from June'2012 to August'2012.
Room was very nicely furnished. Housekeeping services were very good and clean. Amost all of my requests via the phone operator were met.
The facilities which I enjoyed the most here are the gym, sauna and steambath. Gym is well-equiped and the sauna & steambath are very useful after a workout in the gym!
However the breakfast seems to be the same variety everyday. There is minimum changes throughout my 2 months stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EricTanGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Price still expensive. Room great modern large with good view. Located on the marginal road that was recently built or should I say still being built. I really like the modern room. Could not figure out how to use the TV but it was just one night so did not put a lot if effort into it. The breakfast was ok nothing special. Check in service excellent and speedy even though it was 10pm and check out the same. The staff at breakfast seemed to be real slow at clearing the dishes thus customers waited long for a table. Did not gave supper their as I have learnt one thing in
Luanda go to a Resturant for dinner skip the hotel restaurants.

Room Tip: Night time can be noisy if you get a room overlooking the ocean and thus the main road. Simply put if you want a good night sleep then skip the view, for if you have a good view the motorbikes going past at night at full throttle will keep you awake..
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Usually I stay somewhere a little more downmarket when visiting Luanda, but an upgrade was necessary as the bosses were also in town. Hotel Baia is down by the water and close to the Mausoleum, so it is well situated. Rooms are adequate, but TV selection is poor and hot water is at a premium - although water pressure is good. Booking in was not a good experience and service in the downstairs bar was poor. It seems as if, on most days, the bar closes at 2100 (including week-ends) and then there's a trek to the 8th floor if one wants refreshments. Breakfast & lunch were OK, but we didn't use the restaurant for dinner as we ate out. I normally spend around $120.00/night less that the Hotel Baia charges and I don't think the added cost will be justified until the staff is better trained and the hotel starts living up to its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willierJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews