We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean, new” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Baia Luanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Baia Luanda
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, new”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good location on the Marginal, quick commute to my office. The building is new, the rooms are comfortable. The generator kicked in immediately during occasional power outages. Check-in and check-out were relatively fast and painless. The restaurant buffet offers a wide selection of food. From the perspective of a guest dining alone, the restaurant service (clearing used plates, pouring water, etc.) seemed excessively attentive, meaning the guest might feel uncomfortable because he is being closely watched by multiple staff members. But excessive attentiveness is preferable to inattentiveness. Also, the dining experience would be better if the staff were trained to smile occasionally. I don't recall seeing a smile during my two-week stay, so I would have to describe the staff demeanor as sullen. Other than that, I look forward to returning here on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    65
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
3
2
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
İzmir, Türkiye
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed overnight. Room was nice and clean and had all sort of amenities. Couldn't communicate with front desk staff because most of them do not speak English. The breakfast buffet is ok and you have everything you need.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasha_ksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
221 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel. I found the rooms very clean and well stocked with all the travel essentials that a business traveller would require. Food in the buffet style restaurant was well prepared and of a good quality. Evening buffet around the $ 80 mark so expensive but this is Luanda. My bed was one of the most comfortable I have experienced in any hotel. This is the choice hotel of my company and always seems to be in demand as the place to stay when in Luanda.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel is not brand new, but clean and well maintained.
The breakfast is good, however they need a lot of training for their staff in-term of smile, greetings and respond to the guests need.
I think because of language barrier, so they seem are not friendly, because most of them do not speak English, therefore English classes probably is a must in this hotel

Room Tip: Choose the room that are facing the sea, even-though you are facing the main road, so noise at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
252 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

this place deserves an 'Excellent' rating considering where you are. I have stayed in a few places in Luanda in recent times and I must say this one is so far the best one I stayed at.

The reception is making a clean and organized impression. Check in was pleasantly fast and friendly.

The rooms are 'standard' 4star hotel rooms. However, very clean with complementary water and fresh apples. The rain shower has great power and made me almost late for breakfast as I couldn't get out of it because I liked it so much.

The rooftop bar has a nice view - if you look over the shanty town in front.

The breakfast is absolutely ok. You have everything you need to get you going for the day. Eggs any style, ready cooked or on order. cold cuts, cheese and fresh fruits. Also the Cappuccino (ask for it) is very tasty.

However, it all comes at a price, but that is Angola I guess...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a good 4 star hotel by the Portuguese Teixera Duarte Group. Like all Luanda top hotels, not cheap but this is one where I have felt comfortable.
It overlooks the bay, has a deck and very small pool and small gym/spa on the top floor. Top floor also has a deck for drinks or snacks. Wifi throughout the hotel (though it does not work very well which I am told is a normal problem in Luanda).
Service is OK at front desk. Restaurant is good (have a great buffet and good service) and the wines are decent. The hotel does not accept American Express cards, though VIsa and Mastercard are OK. Located approx 20 minutes from the airport with no traffic (45 minutes min in morning rush hour).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My last 2 stays in Luanda, I have stayed at the Hotel Baia. It's a very nice hotel, right on the water front. Rooms either have an incredible view of the ocean, or a view of the town. The hotel is not located IN the city, but on the waterfront. They have do have security outside the hotel, but you should be careful whenever walking nearby, and especially important to not venture out alone at night. For that reason, most of the business travelers' companies provide drivers.

The rooms are very nice size, and come with fresh apples, bottled water, as well as a complete assortment of toiletries (razor, toothbrush, nail file, etc.). You should try for a corner room if possible, as they are larger and have lots of light. The upper floors tend to have poor A/C. And rooms next to the elevators can be a bit noisy, especially Friday night-Sunday night.

There is a bar/lounge in the lobby. They have happy hour from 5 p.m. until 10 p.m. but the discounts really only apply to 3 types of beer. You can order food as well. The bar staff are very nice and eager to help you learn Portuguese and practice their English.

There is the main restaurant on level 1, which is very nice. It is never really full and they have a lovely breakfast buffet.

The 8th floor has a gym (nice size which faces the ocean), a small pool (large enough for laps) and lounge area. It tends to get a bit windy outside, but never really cold. Inside there is a TV, bar and plenty of seating. The service at this level is a bit slow.

Some 'challenges'...the hotel very rarely allows for 'early check-in', which means waiting until 2 p.m. or later for your room. You can do early check-in, but you have to pay for a full night, if you do. Our flight arrived at 7 a.m. in the morning and we did not have early check in and therefore had to wait until AFTER 2 p.m. to get a room. Some folks got into their rooms earlier by checking at the front desk every 30 minutes. In my opinion, if you're arriving in the a.m., it's worth paying the extra to get into your room and shower and rest. One complaint that I had is that none of the staff mentioned that I could have gone to the 8th floor and sat by the pool and waited. This would have been a simple thing to do and would have been much better than spending 6+ hours sitting in the lobby.

The hotel is not cheap either. Depending on whether you can get corporate discounts or not, it runs, at a minimum $360/night (including breakfast).

All in all, it is a very fine hotel, albeit expensive, but then again EVERYTHING is expensive in Luanda!

Room Tip: If you're arriving in the morning, think about paying extra for early check-in. The hotel is mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CreateSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
1.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 39 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
6.8 mi away
Talatona Convention Hotel
1.2 mi away
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Skyna Hotel Luanda
#6 of 39 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Luanda

Property: Hotel Baia Luanda
Address: Av. Agostinho Neto, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Baia Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing