We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Changed??”
Review of Esplanada Grill

Esplanada Grill
Ranked #10 of 166 Restaurants in Luanda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Il posizionamento sulla mappa è approssimativo-8° 46' 25.88", +13° 14' 54.98"
Luanda, Angola
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What Changed??”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

First of all, the reason why I wasn't a big fan of the Esplanada Grill before, it's because I only have gone to the indoor part of the restaurant which is a Buffet where you pay a price and you can eat whatever you want.
The idea sounds appealing but unfortunately, like many other Buffet style restaurants in Luanda, the price is too high and the food is not that rewarding.

So why did I return there?

Well the reason is quite simple, I have three kids... and the Esplanada Grill has lots of space outside for them to play, including swings, slides and other amusements for children. Those of you with children, understand how important this is: To be able to relax and enjoy a little chat with your other half, while waiting for your food to arrive without being interrupted every 10 seconds...

So, to keep an eye on them while they enjoyed the sun and the company of other children in the park, we ordered outside, on the esplanade. And the menu there, is totally different from the indoors Buffet.

We started with really good Red wine "Sangria": fresh, fruity, home made, none of that processed sludge we find everywhere now.
To eat, I had Curry Prawns. It was delicious... The curry wasn't too spicy, but it was still flavourful and the prawns where huge and cooked to perfection.
I loved it!!
Joana had the Shrimp Risotto. It was very good too.
Same as mine: great flavour with big, perfectly cooked, crunchy Shrimps.
Her words: "Better than the one I had in Florence, Italy"
And to finish this great meal, what better than a good strong black coffee and a "Licor Beirão" sweet Portuguese Liquor based on anise.

As for the kids, they also enjoyed their Pizza...

So to conclude, I must say that yesterday's experience completely changed my opinion about the Explanada Grill Restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JosiasL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    57
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Food, Excellent Outside Atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Have been there several times, twice for dinner inside and several more times to just relax on the outside patio.

The atmosphere is very nice, service is fair, as is service in any establishment in Angola. They have the traditional Brazilian meal service, with a large hot and cold buffet, and the standard round of meats coming off of the grills, where you turn your placeholder either up or down on the green or red side. Meats are consistent and very tasty.

I especially like the outside patio. They serve pizzas, which are very good on most occasions and other bar type foods. They also serve these giant carafes of tap beer, that seems almost too much for any number of people to drink, but on every occasion I see two or three people putting them away like glasses of water. Way too much beer for me, but it does look refreshing and satisfying, maybe next time I will get 3-4 people and try one.

The restaurant is on the opposite side of the beach, but you still have a clear view of the water, with all of the attendant other activities taking place on both sides. Many of the other restaurants are directly on the beach, but having been to most of them, this place does not lack anything by being on the opposite side. Some of the places directly on the beach are either very good or so-so. I like this place, it is worth at least one visit. It is pricey, so take some extra money with you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicmac_houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Esplanada Grill is about half-way down the Ilha. While the atmosphere is pleasant it does not have direct view on the beach or the water as many other restaurants there have. Prices are on the higher end. Our party had a variety of dishes, most were o.k., but not overwhelming. I had a seafood pizza, which was simply appalling – a couple of shrimp and four penny-size cuttings of imitation crab meat. We rated the seafood linguini (47$) slightly better and the meat dishes (60-80$) between satisfactory and good. At the end there was endless problems and confusions processing credit cards. Even by Luanda standards this place does not stand out in any way. With that many alternatives in reach, I don’t see any reason to go back there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect on a hungry Sunday!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The location of Esplanada Grill offers good options to spend a Sunday afternoon.
The restaurant has outdoor and indoor seating and is located in Ilha, thus giving access to the beach in a few steps.
It's not a cheap place (but what is cheap in Luanda??) but it offers a complete buffet which is perfect if you feel hungry and lots of drinks in case you are thirsty :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good brasilian buffet”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Have been there many times andthe food aregood but pricy. Nice and clean place with easy access with car. The meat are very good, also the cold buffet are nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Esplanada Grill also viewed

Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 
Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 
Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 

Been to Esplanada Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing