We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thumbs down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Under construction right now, gym under construction, dusty road in front. Overpriced restaurant.... (well, overpriced city). Anyway, it may be lovely when the construction is done but at the moment, not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCaballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    56
    42
    20
    5
See reviews for
7
1
16
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Angola is absurdly expensive. The Presidente, Luanda itself is OK but a very poor value. We had a little bit of a discount on the rate but were coming and going to field locations, and on each of three check ins, we got overcharged and had to be firm to get the quoted rate. The rooms I had the first two times, on the 11th floor, had no curtain or frosting on the bathroom window and in one of them there were actually workers on scaffolding outside my window.

I also got over-charged, intentionally, in my opinion for what already was a $38 bill for a hamburger, one beer and one bottle of water, in the sixth floor lounge. I never ate in the restaurant because of the prices and expected quality. However the breakfast which IS included in the price was reasonable.

Internet was a LAN in the room, a bit slow and sort of undependable but workable. The business center consists of some computers which i never did use. There is wireless on the 6th floor, you have to ask a bartender for a code, which did not change while I was using it.

KEY - Not far around the corner from the hotel is an INTERMARKET - a pretty good grocery store. I ended up eating things from there. Go out the hotel, turn right and then right again, the store is 1.5 blocks down on the right. It is hard to see because it is has a big parking lot. Also there is a good cafe sort of place on the front street, which is decent food at less ridiculous prices. Go out of the hotel, turn left, left at the street and you will see it.

Traffic is dreadful. Construction making it worse. Leave lots of time to get anywhere. Aside from the places mentioned, i did not see other options for dining, unless you take a cab.

Room Tip: Don't get the 11th floor. If you can get a room ending in "9" that is about the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luanda hotels

London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed here for 1 week in September. Bedbugs on day 1. Breakfast is good. Service is average but cost for the room is ridiculous.

Room Tip: Couple or restaurants around the corner providing some decent food. The food at the restaurant is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Pros:
1. The renovated rooms (be sure you get one) have decent decor and are a good size.
2. The prices are reasonable by Angolan standards (extraordinarily high by anywhere else's).
3. The food is pretty good, with the same qualifications about price.
4. The rooms have free wired Internet, and there is free wi-fi and a couple of PCs in the 6th floor lounge. Internet speeds are good enough for Skype.

Cons:
1. Many of the staff do their job but are unsmiling.
2. An Internet reservation doesn't seem to mean anything. If you've made one, just hope they aren't full when you arrive.
3. The renovations -- which will obviously continue for some time to come -- are very noisy in places. On the other hand, the noise doesn't begin until 8:30 a.m. or so and ends in the late afternoon, so if you are out of the hotel during the day the noise won't bother you.

In sum: a decent choice if you don't want to spend the absolute fortune you'll pay in many Luanda hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Because of ongoing alterations to the hotel, there are often loud noises in the daytime and evening so try to find out where when you're staying there and ask for a room away from the noise.
Also there are no exercise facilities so don't take your gym gear.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyTucker1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I had not been to Luanda since 2002 and I was surprised with all the construction going on and the traffic jams that got so much worse.
I stayed again at the Hotel Presidente and was pleasantly surprised with the renovated lobby area, rooms and the lifts which are now modern and fast.
The restaurant area has not changed and the décor is a bit dated.
The food , as in my last stay, was very good and the staff very friendly troughout the hotel.
The Internet is free, both in the rooms and in the bar area. The speed is reasonable.
I stayed on the 25th floor and the views to the bay of Luanda are great.
Pity I was not able to do my jogging on the promenade along the bay as the access was restricted due to the construction to upgrade the “Marginal” into a modern and large boulevard.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Worst reception staff I have ever dealt with.. room was 2 star at best... upside was the bar and restaraunt staff were great guys.
Lots of reports about the smell in the rooms, its just the air-con on 24/7. Stayed on the 26th floor and it was like looking down at Hades..! My first time in Angola since 1975 and what a change.

Room Tip: See the manager on arrival... the staff are a joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roomontop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.9 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 39 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Skyna Hotel Luanda
#6 of 39 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
8.4 mi away
Talatona Convention Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente Luanda

Property: Hotel Presidente Luanda
Address: Largo 4 de Fevereiro, Luanda, Angola (Formerly Le Presidente Meridien)
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Presidente Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in the late 60’s, renovated in 1983 and most recently in 2010, the Hotel Presidente has hosted many remarkable personalities over the years and the Meeting rooms have been the venue for different important events in the recent history of Angola. The hotel offers 194 rooms, including 1 Presidencial Suite and 2 Diplomatic Suites. 90% of the rooms have sea view. All room include:• Air conditioning• Television with international channels in Portuguese, English, French and Spanish including sports channels and 24 hour movie channels• Telephone with a direct international line• Internet access free of charge• Minibar• In room Safe• Hairdryer• Special 110/120 W sockets for electric shavers• Smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Presidente Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Presidente Hotel Luanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing