We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Luanda
Innerleithen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

From previous reviews I was expecting the worst and was very pleasantly surprised with my stay in the President hotel. The location was perfect for business meetings and my morning run along the beautiful waterfront.The rooms were very comfortable.with effective AC. The buffet at breakfast and dinner was good and service very acceptable although that could not be said for some other parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    56
    42
    20
    5
See reviews for
7
1
16
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
437 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Two things male the President get to just average, location which is perfect if you have business downtown or in Sonils and the buffet, including the service by the restaurant manager. The hotel is quite old and the rooms more than show it but the service also makes it up to a point. It is being renovated, but work seemed to have stopped at the time.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Ignoring all the rules about safe eating in this part of the world, we all enjoyed the early evening buffet before heading for our late evening flights. For myself this turned into the most traumatic 10 hours of travelling I have even experienced, food poisoning, wow.....unbelievable and everyone of our 8 strong group suffered the same agonies.

Apart from the bacterial buffet, its quite nice actually, a good attempt of a European standard hotel, rooms very nice and,.....I suppose thats about it on reflection, but I remember being enormously relieved to see the building after the grim drive from the docks. I have to stay there again, I'll just have to take my own food.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTravels262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luanda hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

What's good:
- Location is perfect for business as it is just 2 minutes to the port road, also 5 minutes drive to main office buildings.
- Restaurant at 6th floor has relatively good staff and they service tons of langoustines for dinner.

What's Bad:
- Location is bad at the same time: as you drive in you may think it's kind of mobster lounge as the surroundings look suspicious for an expat eye and it is for a reason. Mainly it's due to construction beside and inside.
- Expensive for everything, including meals which is just outrageous.
- Service in general is very poor. Don't even think of ordering laundry service. Or place the order 2 days ahead if your stays is that long. and expect some cash spend on it!
- Rooms are of poor condition. Anything below 20th floor just too shaggy. Level of noise (party etc) at night (on Fri, Sat) sometimes too high.
- Cleaning services is something of no value at all. Sometimes no towels, garbage stays in bins and desk. At least they are making up the bed..
- Did you ask a guy to help you with the bags? Be prepared for argument on the tips. My 2 euros (didn't have local currency yet) were questioned with quite an exclamation

Room Tip: take rooms above 20th floor, as those seems to be somewhat refurbished, at least look better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VitalyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

At the first sight when seeing 28 floors buttons on the elevators you will think opesssssss it is worth $400/night.....It is old hotel, toilet taps is not working properly, lot of misquotes inside the room, remote control was not working, I requested changing it but they ignore my request, cleaning of the room was poor. Difficult to deal with the reception (English language issues). Poor breakfast, very expensive dinner (buffet), wireless internet is not working in the rooms, Generally it is expensive hotel with nothing especial. There is better, newer even cheaper than Presidente hotle in Luanda.

Room Tip: - There is mosquitoes in the rooms, will bite the hell out of you night long. - Stay away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Never thought I would find myself on my trip. This hotel is horrible. On check-in in the reception the staff had no idea what they were doing,I was the only person and it took 15 minutes to check me in. At one point there was no one at the front desk and people were starting to complain. No pressing iron and iron allowed to the rooms. When asking for your clothes tobe ironed they told me the machine was broken. Me and the untidy suit we were off to the meeting. My room was only made at 16:00 when I came back from my meetings. Reason being the fact that one lady did not come to work. Bar area aircon not working. Bathrooms look horrible.My advise stay here when you have nowhere else to go. Worst hotel experience ever.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nkosingiphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

A very expensive hotel - as all things in Luanda are. Staff were friendly and even spoke english. Were not good at "extras" like arranging drivers/taxis. Rooms were basic but very acceptable. Food was mediocre - found the little coffee shop/resturant (out the front door to the right - about 150 m up the road) far better value for money.

Room Tip: Try get a room looking over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.9 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 38 in Luanda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 38 in Luanda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 38 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 38 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Skyna Hotel Luanda
#6 of 38 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
8.4 mi away
Talatona Convention Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente Luanda

Property: Hotel Presidente Luanda
Address: Largo 4 de Fevereiro, Luanda, Angola (Formerly Le Presidente Meridien)
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Presidente Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in the late 60’s, renovated in 1983 and most recently in 2010, the Hotel Presidente has hosted many remarkable personalities over the years and the Meeting rooms have been the venue for different important events in the recent history of Angola. The hotel offers 194 rooms, including 1 Presidencial Suite and 2 Diplomatic Suites. 90% of the rooms have sea view. All room include:• Air conditioning• Television with international channels in Portuguese, English, French and Spanish including sports channels and 24 hour movie channels• Telephone with a direct international line• Internet access free of charge• Minibar• In room Safe• Hairdryer• Special 110/120 W sockets for electric shavers• Smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Presidente Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Presidente Hotel Luanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing