We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The hotel has a great location in the center/Baixa and overlooking the Bay of Luanda.The hotel rooms have been renovated.The buffet and the food is one os the best in town.There is no swimming pool but you can get towels to the "ilha" beaches 10 minutes by car if there is no traffic jam. The hotel staff is very frendly.The hotel has quick access 5/10 minutes to the main restaurants and bars of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Presidente Luanda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

The staff are rude... I nearly always have problems at check in... there is always a strange smell in the rooms... the decor is straight from 1973.

However this is Luanda, and all in all the Hotel isn't too bad. The food is surprisingly good, the bar is an OK place to spend an evening (WIFI works 75% of the time). The rooms are kept very clean, and you get used to the musty smell. The location on the Marginal is one of the 'better' parts of the City near the Ihla and it doesn't feel too claustrophobic.

All in all, if the hotel was anywhere else in the World, it would get slated, however this is Angola, and it meets African 3 star standard - and i'd rather sacrifice decor & service for decent food & cleanliness.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team_Allinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

In 2002 I used to stay in Presidente. The restaurant was ok but the acomodation was poor ( I changed to Alvalade).

Today it is better and much more confortable. Tha restaurant still the same: very good for the Luanda standards.

Presidente is a very good option for business but the price is still high.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelcioRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

I lived in Angola for 9 years until 2004 and my office was close by the Meridien (as it used to be called). In those days it had a fearsome reputation as a down at heel destination favoured by those who couldnt get in to the better hotels closer to the town centre. Well, nothing has changed since I left in 2004 and since the dropping of the meridien brand. On arrival at 22h00 on a Sunday night there were no staff to check me in and only after a few minutes did I hail someone who seemed put out I'd turned up. No manners, no pleasantries, no customer service. Was I surprised? NO. Room was ok, very basic but bed was clean and bathroom had decent towels and hot water plus toiletries. I checked out real early so didn't get the chance to eat breakfast but am sure the restaurant is still good enough, one of the hotel's redeeming features, along with the elegant bar with great views. In short it was a pleasant enough stay and the hotel is making efforts to spruce itself up but is about 3 years too late. Oh and it is not worth the $350 it cost me to stay the night.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghanabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

A group of 6 of us stayed for 2 nights, mostly we had rooms on the 21st floor. The rooms where comfortable and clean. The food in the resturant was very good with plenty of selection on the buffet and the al a carte menu although a little expensive. Drinks in the bar are expensive but found a bar round the corner with draught beer at £1 a pint. Dial up internet access in the rooms is slow but wifi available on the 6th floor in the bar and restuarant area Only 2 lifts to the rooms so there can be a wait when busy.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank stormforce11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2007

Le Presidente is a little faded, a little broken down, but comfortable and totally appropriate for business trips to Angola. Those seeking 5 star luxury need to await further development. The guests are mainly foreign business people, many involved in the oil industry (I am not). The rooms are more than adequate and the food is generally quite good in the hotel's restaurant. The elevators tend to break down a bit, but not to the level of a great inconvenience. The staff needs better training and can tend toward the surly and bureaucratic. However, I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank brazilconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2007

Firstly, this hotel is no longer part of the "Le Meridien" chain - it is now simply Hotel Presidente. I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip to Angola, and was told by colleagues beforehand about it and kind of knew what to expect. They advertise the hotel as a 4-star (and the signage outside the hotel, stationery, etc all mention it as a 4 star property...) but it really is more of a "decent 2-star". The rooms are small and decor somehow dated but it was clean and had the basic toiletries, hair dryer, basic mini-bar and TV with a fairly good choice of channels.
Breakfast is included in room rate and is rather basic! Never had lunch/dinner in the restaurant so cannot comment on that.
A thing that really annoyed me was the very erratic and slow lift!!! You do wait a long while for a lift to come and they seem to stop on every single floor and get stuck very often.
Check-in and check-out a bit slow, even though reception was quiet on both occasions.
Based on this experience, I obviously would rather stay at a different hotel if I had to go to Luanda again but if I had no choice (the "best" hotels are always full, hence me being booked at the Presidente by my company) , I would be happy to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank LondonJetstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.9 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
289 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 39 in Luanda
79 reviews
8.4 mi away
Talatona Convention Hotel
1.0 mi away
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Skyna Hotel Luanda
#6 of 39 in Luanda
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente Luanda

Address: Largo 4 de Fevereiro, Luanda, Angola (Formerly Le Presidente Meridien)
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range: £249 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Presidente Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in the late 60’s, renovated in 1983 and most recently in 2010, the Hotel Presidente has hosted many remarkable personalities over the years and the Meeting rooms have been the venue for different important events in the recent history of Angola. The hotel offers 194 rooms, including 1 Presidencial Suite and 2 Diplomatic Suites. 90% of the rooms have sea view. All room include:• Air conditioning• Television with international channels in Portuguese, English, French and Spanish including sports channels and 24 hour movie channels• Telephone with a direct international line• Internet access free of charge• Minibar• In room Safe• Hairdryer• Special 110/120 W sockets for electric shavers• Smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Presidente Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Presidente Hotel Luanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing