We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Running along the ocean beach is a fantastic escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilha do Mussulo

Ilha do Mussulo
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Luanda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Twickenham
Level Contributor
381 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Running along the ocean beach is a fantastic escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Running along the ocean beach is a fantastic escape from Luanda. Get dropped off where the spit meets the mainland (south of Benfica) and run as far as you want. When you are tired head over to the mainland side and flag down a boat to Embarcado to meet your driver.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    45
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Peacefull place..!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I went there to spend the day.. Okay it was in july (low season) but the place was very nice calm and peacefull.. I went to bar sulloh a very nice place.. The only prb is the delay to get the food..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zeeyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“looks like caribe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

It's not an island because it's connect to the mainland but it really seems like one. On one side you have a desert perfect beach, with golden soft sand, beautiful sea with waves that you can enjoy as they are not big enough to scare anyone. On the opposite side you'll find a lots of harbors, private or public, houses, restaurants by the sea. The beach on this side is totally different, smaller considering the sand area from the trees to the sea, busy with people, boats...
We went there and spend a lovely sunday, my husband and I with some friends. I'll post some photos that can describe the spot far much better than I can.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cardigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A naturally beautiful island!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Used to be like heaven on earth. an Island with a natural harbor. Unfortunately it became not only popular for tourists but also for rich locals who build million dollar compounds in there, taking away the natural appeal of the island, Making it too "urbanised" Therefore Inflating the local market. If you know where to go, depending in what you are looking for, You will most certainly have a good experience...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angola, Indiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

No need to worry for the local people, mostly here the Portugual and Brazil people are visiting, no need to afraid with people,

very helpful, very nice hotel and chief

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anilkumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ilha do Mussulo also viewed

Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 
Luanda, Luanda Province
 

Been to Ilha do Mussulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing