We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're better off staying somewhere else”
Review of Hotel Tropico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropico
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Luanda
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I've been here recently and it's been a nice trip, but hotel tropico was the only bad thing. Stinky rooms and corridors, unfriendly staff, and awful food. The carpet in my room had stains, and the services were unconsistent - they refilled my complimentary bar randomly. The hotel is outdated and you feel that you go on a trip back in time once you go into the lobby. I can't recall anything good to mention seriously. BOTTOMLINE: stay somewhere else. It's not worth a single penny for a night. You wouldn't pay $20/night for this hotel in your hometown in Europe or America or in some other places with developed infrastructure.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs as Luanda is noisy. Pick any room as it wouldn't make any difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YousefOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

I have been at Tropico during a business trip for 3 days. It is an acceptable place. Clean, good breakfast. Has a very good fitness center (surprisingly), and rooms are of god size. Flat TV, some international channels and some paying movies. It is fine for a business stay. The reason I classify it reasonable is because comparing it to others, it s far behind, since it is an old refurbished hotel. The price; well it is overpriced, as everything is in Luanda.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srg_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

What an eye-opener! Angola in itself is a VERY expensive country but that doesn't excuse the poor quality of this hotel & it's staff. At US$420 per night, you would expect the minimum to be a standard: friendly staff, edible food, a nice view & service in English. But instead what you get are receptionists who ignore you until you kick up a fuss then talk about you in Portuguese, poor quality of breakfast & dinner buffet where the foods aren't even named so you have no clue what you're eating, breakfast staff who disappear when you need them (couldn't even get a fried egg!) & from my room, a view of a wall. Oh, and let's not forget that getting a cab is near to impossible. You need to book it a day ahead & that even then it isn't guaranteed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zuzmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

One week in tropico: internet did not work in my room or was so slow I could not send e mails or realize skype calls, reception was totally unacceptable with their service, unfriendly, arrogant and hostile when asked for any help, the whole Hotel is on dire need of renovation, the corridors and rooms smell of old cigartte smoke, the TV channels are functioning (if at all) in a mysterios way....the restaurant not very inviting. There is a variety of hotels in Luanda nowadays that are way better, like Skyna, next door and the beautiful new Epic Sana, with a very welcoming reception desk! Or Rouxinol, a friendly guesthouse. Much choice now, and no more need to stay in Tropico. hopefully they will renovate the place and restart with staff that understands what it means to be in the service sector. BUT: thanks to the lovely room service and breakfast service, they were great, shame on the management of the reception.

Room Tip: stay away from this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HaitiSurfqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We paid 400 usd for room per nigth, because we need to stay close to baixa. The location is good the hotel is old. The lobby appears to be a good business center to deal

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franc a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Tropico is one of the oldest and most worn out hotels in Luanda, but it still charge you the same as the newer and more fresh ones do (with other words expensive, this is Luanda…)
Avoid Tropico and use one of the other new hotels in the city centre, like Skyna or Baia. The
Internet is terrible slow and did not work for days when I stayed there.
Food is not thing more than eatable - this goes for breakfast and room service.
Tropico does have a great gym, but since they also sell memberships to people not staying at the hotel it tends to be crowded after normal working hours. Will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

It was tge best place do stay in Luanda. Focused on business community! Today, there is new options sucha as Skina and Talatona. But Tropico is still a very good location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelcioRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 41 in Luanda
295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 41 in Luanda
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 41 in Luanda
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Skyna Hotel Luanda
#6 of 41 in Luanda
148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alvalade
Hotel Alvalade
#11 of 41 in Luanda
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico

Address: Rua da Missao 103, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range: £257 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tropico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luanda, Hotel Tropico is a prime example of contemporary Africa. It is largely recognized by its quality services by anyone who visits the city. With 280 totally equipped rooms, Health Club, Spa, Swimming Pool, Restaurants, Bar, Hair dresser, Stores, totally equipped Meeting and Conference Rooms with the most advanced technology, it is a choice accommodation for business or leisure travel. Visit us, and discover a large and pleasant space, where you will surely want to return. Enjoy Luanda's charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tropico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing