We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do yourself a favour and go else where”
Review of Hotel Tropico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropico
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Luanda
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

For $425 my gosh this place is a glorified hostel but even worse with a smell in the rooms of damp and urine...stains on the carpet and furniture. Wifi hardly works in the rooms. No irons in a business hotel??? I cannot understate the abysmal level of this place... But to be fair, it was probably very nice in the '60s just that no renovation has been done since then I suspect

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui C, Manager at Hotel Tropico, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

The Hotel Tropico was completly refurbished from November 2013 until May 2014, and re-open to public in general and particularly to our guests and clients from June 1st 2014.

Hope there is an opportunity in your next trip to Luanda to visit us and we'll be very pleased to show you how we turnned around in the issues that needed improvement and get even better in the service provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

The food is great .. that's about it. Yes, the fitness is also spacious and you'll have a lot of machines to chose from. For the rest, I think you can find better room at a 1 star hotel in Europe. Not sure it is fair to compare, but the price is pretty much in line with Europe standards, and maybe much more, so why not expecting better !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredericinPommard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stayed at tropico 3 nights on a business trip. Very friendly staff and good service all the time.
Hotel is very clean, rooms are spacious and provide all comfort. A bit noisy though when you are located to the street side. They have 2 restaurants, but all the time only a buffet was open. The buffet was very good, but too expensive, around 80USD including a glass of wine. The room and everything else in the hotel is also totally overpriced, but that's life in Lunada.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

HOTEL TROPICO, LUANDA

FOUR STARS, MAYBE 3.9

The last decade has transformed the hotel industry in Luanda, with oil men paying top dollar in the increasing number of top end hotels. The old Tropico is now dwarfed by its new five star neighbors; it still attracts guests, mostly Portuguese speakers, at $380 per night.

Why? The rooms are so so; the elevators jerk to an abrupt stop, then restart. Brief power cuts are an almost daily occurrence. Internet connectivity is reliable but slow. The swimming pool is unheated. In the breakfast room the bacon is almost as flabby as in francophone Africa. Staffers are fluent in Portuguese, less so in English.

Their cable TV offers mostly Portuguese language stations; exceptions include the BBC and France 24. Some of the entertainment channels offer English language fare with Portuguese subtitles.

There is an amiable piano bar on the ground floor. However, a friend and I waited 90 minutes to get our club sandwiches from a waiter who kept misplacing our order.

I paid $300 in advance against board ‘because WHO will not cover your meals.’ Of course, it was a WHO meeting, and WHO covered my meals. Check-out took 15 minutes; the desk asked me for my copies of thes signed check-in documents. Where were their originals?

Curiously, the emergency exit signs on the floors point to the service elevators. I thought that you never used elevators in a fire.

There is no taxicab stand at this or, to my knowledge, any other hotel in Luanda. Somebody is making a mint from the capital’s scarce taxis.

Room Tip: The higher, the better. Get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

A decent enough business hotel which attracts many business people and is a meeting point. The amenities are fair but somewhat tired from overuse. The bedrooms are okay but again do show the tiredness brought on by overuse.

Breakfast is very good and the service is also quite good; reception staff are fair to good. The hotel is very well located centrally in Luanda and proximal to many government and corporate offices.

Room Tip: Much of a muchness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc-Dee-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

All features as an European hotel of the first rate. There is no changing room, but that's secondary.

The employees were very obliging an helpful at arranging our commercial operations. The Neighborhood was clean and safety and the dinner delicate. But please do not go by foot, in a locked car, you are always safe and do not meet problems.

The hotel and Luanda have much going for. I didn't expect that much!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank King-DaiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The rooms do not have the functionality advertised, they do not have the facilities or the layout advertised. The rooms are not properly cleaned. The bathrooms are straight out of the 70's. The staff are amazingly unhelpful. And this place is not cheap ! Explore ALL other options before booking this Hotel. I learned the hard way.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fastbowler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 43 in Luanda
300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 43 in Luanda
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 43 in Luanda
82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alvalade
Hotel Alvalade
#11 of 43 in Luanda
133 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Florenca
Hotel Florenca
#30 of 43 in Luanda
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico

Address: Rua da Missao 103, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range: £260 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tropico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luanda, Hotel Tropico is a prime example of contemporary Africa. It is largely recognized by its quality services by anyone who visits the city. With 280 totally equipped rooms, Health Club, Spa, Swimming Pool, Restaurants, Bar, Hair dresser, Stores, totally equipped Meeting and Conference Rooms with the most advanced technology, it is a choice accommodation for business or leisure travel. Visit us, and discover a large and pleasant space, where you will surely want to return. Enjoy Luanda's charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tropico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing