We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not according to price”
Review of Hotel Tropico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tropico
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not according to price”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Hotel is well located but not nice. Rooms need to be cleaner. Service was also not the best, with a big problem each time we were in the bar and requested separate bills for the different people we were there. Price was sky high and far far away for what you receive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urufran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui C, Manager at Hotel Tropico, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

The Hotel Tropico was completely refurbished from November 2013 until May 2014, and re-open to public in general and particularly to our guests and clients from June 1st 2014.

Hope there is an opportunity in your next trip to Luanda to visit us and we'll be very pleased to show you how we turned around in the issues that needed improvement and get even better in the service provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    93
    55
    20
    7
See reviews for
1
1
12
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The rooms are old and beds not to comfortable. I stayed here for 1 week and was wondering when the "wifi" would be fixed...I put wifi in quotes, because i'm not really sure it actually exists. When I summoned the manager to get an actual explanation on why it was out for ALL five days I was there, he simply said it was out of his hands. This hotel doesn't seem to want to act like the business hotel it claims to be. The pool/bar area is quite depressing, not the pool itself but the whole area of the pool and bar are dilapidated at best. I thought the breakfast was better than average.

Room Tip: No tips here, try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siamac m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui C, Manager at Hotel Tropico, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

The Hotel Tropico was completely refurbished from November 2013 until May 2014, and re-open to public in general and particularly to our guests and clients from June 1st 2014.

Hope there is an opportunity in your next trip to Luanda to visit us and we'll be very pleased to show you how we turned around in the issues that needed improvement and get even better in the service provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luanda hotels

Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel is awful. Maybe in the Portuguese colonial days it was decent. But it has been decades since this place has had any improvements. It is very expensive. The rooms are tiny. The buffet was mediocre. The elevators did not work half the time. I was on the sixth floor and spent a lot of time walking up and down. The room was dirty and had broken furniture. The pool looked poorly maintained and had green and black algae visibly growing in it and clowding the water (in the week I stayed here I never saw anyone use the pool, of course). The hotel seems to be a favorite with transient offshore oil service crews as they rotate in and out of country. These crews are typically too fearful or restricted by their employers' HSE policies from leaving the hotel, so they crowd the bar and restaurant areas and nervously stare out the window at the street outside. The street outside is not safe once the sun goes down. There is prostitution on the street at night and on two occasions I witnessed hotel guests registering prostitutes at the front desk before bringing them to their rooms (sometimes it is just so obvious that you know...). There are now many new alternatives in Luanda - hopefully competition will spur this place to improve (or lower its prices to match the 1 star category that it is)

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any good rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachary_F_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui C, Manager at Hotel Tropico, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank you for your feedback - it is important to us to hear from our guests!

The Hotel Tropico in Luanda has been completely refurbished and we hope to have the opportunity to show you our renovated Hotel, Restaurant (with a new buffet and the biggest show cooking production in Luanda, where you can ask for pastas, grilled fish and meat, risotto and some other surprises), Bars, Menus and Services. You have to take a look and we could talk about it in your next visit to Luanda.

Hope to hear from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

For $425 my gosh this place is a glorified hostel but even worse with a smell in the rooms of damp and urine...stains on the carpet and furniture. Wifi hardly works in the rooms. No irons in a business hotel??? I cannot understate the abysmal level of this place... But to be fair, it was probably very nice in the '60s just that no renovation has been done since then I suspect

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui C, Manager at Hotel Tropico, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

The Hotel Tropico was completly refurbished from November 2013 until May 2014, and re-open to public in general and particularly to our guests and clients from June 1st 2014.

Hope there is an opportunity in your next trip to Luanda to visit us and we'll be very pleased to show you how we turnned around in the issues that needed improvement and get even better in the service provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The food is great .. that's about it. Yes, the fitness is also spacious and you'll have a lot of machines to chose from. For the rest, I think you can find better room at a 1 star hotel in Europe. Not sure it is fair to compare, but the price is pretty much in line with Europe standards, and maybe much more, so why not expecting better !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredericinPommard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stayed at tropico 3 nights on a business trip. Very friendly staff and good service all the time.
Hotel is very clean, rooms are spacious and provide all comfort. A bit noisy though when you are located to the street side. They have 2 restaurants, but all the time only a buffet was open. The buffet was very good, but too expensive, around 80USD including a glass of wine. The room and everything else in the hotel is also totally overpriced, but that's life in Lunada.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

HOTEL TROPICO, LUANDA

FOUR STARS, MAYBE 3.9

The last decade has transformed the hotel industry in Luanda, with oil men paying top dollar in the increasing number of top end hotels. The old Tropico is now dwarfed by its new five star neighbors; it still attracts guests, mostly Portuguese speakers, at $380 per night.

Why? The rooms are so so; the elevators jerk to an abrupt stop, then restart. Brief power cuts are an almost daily occurrence. Internet connectivity is reliable but slow. The swimming pool is unheated. In the breakfast room the bacon is almost as flabby as in francophone Africa. Staffers are fluent in Portuguese, less so in English.

Their cable TV offers mostly Portuguese language stations; exceptions include the BBC and France 24. Some of the entertainment channels offer English language fare with Portuguese subtitles.

There is an amiable piano bar on the ground floor. However, a friend and I waited 90 minutes to get our club sandwiches from a waiter who kept misplacing our order.

I paid $300 in advance against board ‘because WHO will not cover your meals.’ Of course, it was a WHO meeting, and WHO covered my meals. Check-out took 15 minutes; the desk asked me for my copies of thes signed check-in documents. Where were their originals?

Curiously, the emergency exit signs on the floors point to the service elevators. I thought that you never used elevators in a fire.

There is no taxicab stand at this or, to my knowledge, any other hotel in Luanda. Somebody is making a mint from the capital’s scarce taxis.

Room Tip: The higher, the better. Get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
282 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 39 in Luanda
76 reviews
7.5 mi away
Talatona Convention Hotel
0.2 mi away
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Skyna Hotel Luanda
#6 of 39 in Luanda
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico

Property: Hotel Tropico
Address: Rua da Missao 103, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tropico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luanda, Hotel Tropico is a prime example of contemporary Africa. It is largely recognized by its quality services by anyone who visits the city. With 280 totally equipped rooms, Health Club, Spa, Swimming Pool, Restaurants, Bar, Hair dresser, Stores, totally equipped Meeting and Conference Rooms with the most advanced technology, it is a choice accommodation for business or leisure travel. Visit us, and discover a large and pleasant space, where you will surely want to return. Enjoy Luanda's charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tropico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing