We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alvalade
Nearby Hotels
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$375
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$315
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$492
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$375
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$385
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
8
36
68
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
36
68
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barrooms are cleaninternational airportroom servicebusiness tripprocedureafricacapitalimprovement
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The hotel accommodation is of a high standard, but is let down by the poor service and food, and expensive...albeit all Angolan Hotels and Restaurants are expensive.

Positive - close to Airport, particularly as the traffic in Luanda is very bad.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fish-and-Steak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This was the third time i had stayed at this hotel and had decided to give it the benefit of the doubt but after three visits, heres a summary. Hotel reception make it more difficult than it should be and although try hard, just not up to stand for a 4 star. Hotel rooms are nice enough but basic and its nice that you get 2 mini-bottles of water each day. The resturant is good, food buffett is average but overly expensive and do not order the wine, average quality and really expensive.
There is a lot of noise from the corridor either music or a repetitive beeping, if you're on the wrong side of the hotel you can get the air-con fans outside which are loud at several floor levels. Room service is awful and even basic items can take 30 minutes+ a meal can take an hour usually. Breakfast delivery to the room was always late with the excuse that i didn't like toast so they had to wait to make changes although i don't know what they were or why i don't like toast anymore!
The gym is very basic and doesn't have working air-con so gets too hot for a full work out. The pool is really small and not worth anymore comment. The staff typically are nice enough but are more efficient at making sure every charge goes on your bill than effective service.
In summary, its not the worst hotel i've been to but minimise any expectations you would expect from a 4 star.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Good rooms (they look better than on the pictures), good food (but hi prices), good location (10 mn from the airport a major problem in Luanda!)
Good wifi
But..prices just crazy: 10 euros for a bootle of water in room service! Do not forget to make shopping before coming back in the hotel!
Ask a quiet room as many have engines from aircon near the windows, or are on the busy street.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lafforgue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Considering it is in Africa, and Angola specifically, this hotel was very good. Luanda is the most expensive city in the world and with that in mind, you can expect a very expensive room. Now, if only you could sense that the money spent was for an exceptional hotel.. Sadly it was not. This is a 4 star hotel with nice staff (except for the guy that tried to overcharged me for the room) and I would recommend it to anyone going to Luanda. Being a triky city, I would recommend a place where you can feel safe and this is one.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank foreverdrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Hotel Staff is kind, Room Quality very good for african Standard, Breakfast has wide range of Choices, Good Quality, Pool is good too, nice relaxing area on grasy ground. Just do not try to place a wake up call, would not work, only one thing which bothers, the big construction site just opposite side of street.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fruehlingsgold13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews