We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FOR $465 . . .” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alvalade

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Alvalade
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
176 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“FOR $465 . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was disappointed at getting the rack rate of $465 and then finding

1) breakfast quite ordinary
2) no English news stations on the TV
3) slow Internet connectivity
4) $35 cash for sandwiches and bottled water.

Last but not least, the left hand of the hotel doesn't know what the right hand is doing. A half hour after paying $930 in cash for my room, I got a phone call from the reception asking when I was coming down to pay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms ending in the number 11. They have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments. We would like to advise you that we do have an English news station in our TV channels grid.

The slow Internet connectivity was because at that time the provider had connectivity problems and it was out of our control. We do apologize for the inconvenience and for the mistake in calling you to ask for payment when it was already done.

Sincerely yours,
Sónia Afonso
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    28
    59
    19
    7
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
8
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel lobby and rooms are okay. For $300-$400 a night you don't expect to be sleeping on a 2 twin beds... You have a flat screen with a number of channels. The room was okay, nothing special. I was grossed out by some the mold in the bathroom tub, but hey it's Luanda...

The wifi was pretty slow and annoying, because you had to keep logging back in. This is pretty frustrating when you are on a business trip and need to use the internet for extended periods.

The breakfast buffet was acceptable, but the dinner buffet was lackluster.

The hotel location is somewhere between the airport and downtown. The traffic is horrendous in Luanda, and I found that the hotel location led me to long and agonizing drives to/from downtown Luanda where my meetings where held.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooner2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our usual 5-star choice was fully booked so we got into the Alvalade at the last minute. I was expecting the worst - but it was actually very pleasant. I had a corner room with a balcony which was suitably furnished, and had a very effective aircon. Importantly, it was clean.

Breakfast was very nice, varied and well prepared. A great buffet.

The prices are the usual expensive Angolan stuff. You can't get away from it.

The Alvalade really should be on your consideration list - it's half the price of the Epic Sana and provided a very acceptable stay. I may choose to return there, just for the savings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoziMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente geral at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your kind comments.
We hope to see you soon, on your next visit to Luanda.

Best regards,
Diogo Marques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torres Vedras, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Expect to get everything like in regular four star hotel but in a overpriced way. In overpriced city!!!
1,5L Bottle Water in Hotel BAR 9 USD!! The service is poor! The staff are friendly but is notable the lack of professional standards for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kantakye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
209 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The good thing about this hotel is that it is close to the airport so it is easier to calculate how much time it will take to reach the airport. The Wi-Fi was also functioning very well which is important. The breakfast was good with all the usual stuff including fruits, cereals, cakes, eggs, pancakes etc.
I stayed at this hotel two times during December and both time the same thing happened in the reception. First they could not find the reservation even though I had the reservation number, then I was told the hotel was fully booked but they would check if there was any possibility to get a room for me. What was 100% sure was that the “cheapest” rooms were not available. The attitude here is that the hotel does you a favor by allowing you to get a room and pay 435usd for a night!
In a place with normal competition between hotels this hotel would be out of business. I managed to get a room both times due to being persistent. If you want to eat lunch or dinner the only restaurant in the hotel serves a buffet costing 75 usd without any thing to drink. In the bar you could get something a bit cheaper and smaller if you are not too hungry. If this is not for you then you will have to venture into town where there are many nice restaurants. Another thing that I found strange was that when I eventually got a room I could not check into the room until after 14:00 hours unless I wanted to pay for a whole night extra! I have never experienced this anywhere before! The gym and pool area was closed during my stay and this was another let down.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are good with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Safari1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comments on ours services, it is very important to have our guest’s feedback.
Regarding the gym and swimming pool, perhaps we did not give you the correct information at the reception but we were refurbishing the area, therefore, we temporarily moved the gym to one of our conference rooms in the mezzanine floor and there was no access to the pool. We have had the information throughout the hotel.
In addition, the swimming pool was actually opened on the 2nd of December 2013.

We would also like to inform that our check-in time starts at 2h00 p.m. and check-out is until 12h00 p.m. Thus, if you would like to check-in earlier, we suggest that you book the night before in in order to guarantee the early check-in.
Regarding the buffet, which does not include drinks, our guests are given 10% discount. Plus, Luanda is a very expensive city and our rates are not an exception according to the city’s reality.

Nevertheless, we apologize for all the inconvenience we might have caused, thanking you for your comprehension. Hopefully you will enjoy your stay and the new pool terrace on your next visit to Luanda.

Yours sincerely,

Marinela de Menezes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luanda hotels

Port Louis, Mauritius
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is located very close to the airport and is convenient for doing business in greater Luanda and Talatona. In spite of language challenges check in was satisfactory, a major set back being that i had to wait nearly 30 minutes to be allocated my room. When this was done I went to the room only to find there was a double-booking....someone was already in the room and had to scream to hold me off as i had opened the door!! This was quickly sorted out and i got another room on 10th floor with a nice view of Luanda. The rooms are clean and well furnished. The supplies are satisfactory. Internet is complimentary and good, though i had a few problems with connection in my room. Breakfast is great!! I just love Angolan food and the chef here does a good job.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilberforce2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about our location and accommodation. Regarding check-in, we apologize for taking too long, we try to be as swift as possible however it is difficult due to the high occupancy rate of our hotel.
Thus, we are looking forward to welcome you again in your future visits and hopefully you will be satisfied with the improvements.

Yours sincerely,

Diogo Marques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Check out took half an hour... Amex card was manually processed at a very, very low pace...
Rooms are small but okay. Cleaning is okay but bathsoap is often forgotten.
Food in bar is okay. The gym was closed while I was there and there was nothing to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments. It is very important to have our guest’s feedback.

We would like to apologize for the fact that your check-out took so long, but unfortunately there is no direct company/handling for American Express in Angola which is the first reason to make the process complex.
A phone call is made to request authorization to proceed with the credit card debit. However, we do struggle with communication problems sometimes and the procedure is not completed until there is proper information on the credit cardholder.

Regarding the gym, perhaps we did not give you the correct information at the reception but our gym is not closed, we are refurbishing our swimming pool deck and terrace, therefore, we have temporarily moved it to one of our conference rooms in the mezzanine floor. We have the information throughout the hotel.

Despite the inconveniences, we hope you have had a great time in our hotel and that we will be your choice in your next visit to Luanda, where you will be able to enjoy our new pool terrace.

Yours sincerely,

Sonia Afonso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Luna Hotel Zombo
Luna Hotel Zombo
#12 of 39 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
6.1 mi away
Talatona Convention Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alvalade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alvalade

Property: Hotel Alvalade
Address: Av. Comandante Gika, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alvalade 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A COMPELLING DESTINATION FOR VISITORS TO LUANDA Hotel Alvalade is an excellent choice for visitors to Luanda, whether for business or leisure. The combination of modern architecture, ease of access, great hospitality and welcoming atmosphere is sure to impress guests. A mere 5 minutes from the “4 de Fevreiro” international airport, this Hotel contains 188 rooms and 14 Junior Suites with Wireless internet, a restaurant, two bars, a Conference Centre and many services to ensure you have a pleasant stay. Comfortable, large and well equipped, here you may easily plan meetings, welcome clients or simply relax after a long work day in the city. Choose a room with Luanda Island views and experience the magnificent Angolan sunset. A truly unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alvalade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvalade Hotel Hotel Luanda
Alvalade Hotel Luanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing