We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge(Gaborone)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
74
83
35
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
83
35
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursefeathers restaurantsmall thingsshower headroom serviceenjoyed my stayexcellent stayhotel is greatbusiness staycomfortable bedscomfortable staygolfersbotswanafacilitiesconferencewifiworkshop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Botswana and I have to say that this s the best I have been in. The location is in a golf estate, about 15 km from the city centre.

The reception is beautiful but the staff attitude is "tired" to say the least. They are not energetic. The list of all the guests in the hotel was displayed inadvently for anyone who cared to look... that's privacy for you. The check in too a bit long. Once I left the reception the annoyance was turned into pure bliss.

The rooms are big spacious and magnificent. The furniture is top notch. There bathroom include a tub and separate shower. The wall between the bathtub and he bedroom is made of sliding glass allowing access to the TV etc when bathing. The art work on the headboard is to the Okavango delta. There is a bar inside the room .

The views outside my room included the magnificent golf course and some stunning mansions in the background. There is a swimming pool that blends with a dam/ pond.

The place to stay definitely

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank impudzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram H, Guest Relations Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Impudzi,



Thank you for the review on the hotel, your feedback is valuable to us. I do apologise about the service you experienced at the reception desk. The issues raised have been addressed with the manager concerned and we are looking into a ongoing training program or the reception team, once again apologies that the experience at the reception and the delay in check-in caused such annoyance.



Thank you for all the passionate comments about our hotel rooms, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.



Kind Regards

Femida Noble

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

the views are immense and the sunsets gorgeous! If I were ever to get married I would drag the other half half way across the world to do it here. Absolutely stunning place. We had cocktails on the balcony watching the world go by and it was so tranquil and I felt very relaxed

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank helenar0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram H, Guest Relations Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Helenar0se,



Thank you for your kind comments about The Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, If you were to get married, we do hope to host that beautiful day here for you.



We are so glad to hear that your stay was tranquil and relaxed; we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.



Best Regards

Femida Noble

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We just got home from an awful experience at the Phakalane Golf Estate Easter brunch. We had been looking forward to this brunch as a nice way to celebrate Easter in a different setting from your typical Gaborone meal. The morning got off to a rocky start when we showed up at 11:40 for our 11:30 reservation, only to be told that we had to wait because the buffet was still being set up. Waiters and staff were hectically carrying tables and chairs and buffet items to the outdoor seating area, and it was apparent that the buffet would not start until at least 12:30, one hour past the start time I had been told when I made the reservation a week ago. However we did not mind this too much at first because this is Botswana and everyone is always running behind, and we were offered a nice glass of sparkling wine and took the opportunity to enjoy the view.

However, things quickly started to go downhill even further when, 20 minutes later, we asked to be shown to our table (the buffet was STILL being set up). The table that they reserved for us was probably the worst table in the entire place, with no view, far from the buffet and right in between two sets of double doors going into the lobby. I should add that we were the only ones there besides two other families and only one table in the whole place was occupied at that point. I asked to be moved to another table, and the staff were NOT HAPPY about this and grumbled amongst themselves. Finally we were shown to the other side of the balcony and were told to sit at a tiny card table that was squeezed in between three larger tables, also did not have a view, and was right next to some sort of hot grill. I asked again to be seated by the balcony so that we could enjoy the view and got more grumbling in response. At this point an extremely arrogant and snobby manager came over and told us that we could not sit by the balcony, because this would require them to redo their entire seating chart and it was too inconvenient to move a table for us. We were told that we could not sit at one of the four person tables set up by the balcony because there were only two of us. He said, "Go wait in the lobby." in an extremely rude tone, as if we were inconveniencing him greatly and then turned his back on us. There was still no one else in the restaurant besides two other families and we could not understand why it was such a problem to let us sit in a decent table, especially given that the whole place was completely empty and we had made the reservation a week in advance!

Finally we decided to just leave and spend our Easter morning elsewhere. Also, by this point it was 12:20 and the buffet still wasn't ready?!?! Craziness. on the way out, another manager approached us and tried to convince us to stay but by that point the rude attitude of the staff had already ruined the place for us. Again this was an Easter brunch we were looking forward to. We were initially impressed by the attractive setting and nice offer of a glass of sparkling wine, but I have to say that we will not go back to this place and we will also tell our friends in town not to go there unless they want to put up with arrogant and inconsiderate service. Really disappointed, there is so much potential in this place but once again, as happens too many times in Botswana, it's ruined by the terrible service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank JanetShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Janet,

First of all my apologies on your Easter Brunch experience last Sunday. We definitely had a rocky start and it is a shame we couldn't convince you to stay and enjoy the rest of the day.

We will work on the issues raised. Thank you very much for your honest feedback.
We can only hope you will reconsider and give us another chance in the future.

With best regards,

Bram Hendriks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

After the intense Conference day, we were hosted to a reception/cocktail at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel. We the delegates were treated to great food, drinks and a live band together with music of the East and Southern African region! We indugled while spreading out to the golf grounds and the pool. Only time wasn't on our side! It was a great evening!

Recommended for those taking a longer time to savour the enviornment and great service at the Hotel.

Annet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annet13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Annet,

We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time here at Phakalane Golf Estate. Thanks a lot for your kind comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the cocktail party especially since it was your last impression while visiting Botswana. To organize large events for 500 guests like the one you attended is a daunting task and we are ecstatic to get this great feedback on our food, drinks and service.

We all hope to welcome you back soon!

With best regards,

Bram Hendriks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Website photos don't do this place justice. Very large facility. Beautifully maintained golf course. Excellent, but expensive, rooms. Friendly, respectful, attentive, service staff. The only complaint is the restaurant. Buffet breakfast and lunch tasty, just a limited variety of options, but this may be a function of the limited foot traffic. Not certain if the water is safe to drink. Tried drinking just bottled water, but it was expensive. Wish there was a little convenience store to simply stock up on things like bottled water instead of ordering one at a time. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly, and had a great sense of humor so I overlooked the water situation. Recommend the friendly pickup at the airport as I don't think this location could be found easily on your own without a GPS.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watertraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Watertraveller2010,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed the athmosphere created by our friendly team of staff. We are looking forward to seeing you back again and we will work on the issues raised.

With best regards,

Bram Hendriks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews