We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We hosted a golf day and dinner at the resort. I have seldom come across such poor service , irrespective the half way house ( which too 40 minutes) the lunch we had in a private dinning room or the dinner event. You need to be ultra patient to receive any service and you may even need to ask to be served before you will get a response.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank EONJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Femida K, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory dining experience with us. There should be no excuse for the poor service received during the set menu. We also apologise for the long wait for lunch, as this is not the service we would like to portray to our guests.

I will have a meeting with the Food and Beverage Manager so that we can iron out all these issues.

Thank you for choosing Phakalane Golf Estate as your Hotel of Choice, we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Once again sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Kindest Regards
Femida Noble
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a great hotel with good modern facilities and offers a businessman most amenities you would need in a foreign country. The golf course is superb and relatively cheap (including the hire of clubs, cart, caddie etc) and with the sun setting later in summer you can sneak in 9 holes after work. Conference facilities are OK, it still amazes me that the most advanced audio visual equipment gets installed into these types of venues and yet never seems to work so you have to bring your own. Its still Africa so don't expect finesse in the service (particularly food and beverage) however the staff are very friendly, they just need proper training - like not standing slightly behind you when taking an order so you have to crane your neck backwards all the time!
Its my second visit and I would probably return

Room Tip: Get a golf course facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteF621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Femida K, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Pete,

Thank you for your review on the Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort.

We appreciate all the positive feedback, and we will definitely look into our conference facilities technology standard.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Femida Khan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel is situated in the beautiful Phakalane Golf Estate with the room we were in just off the 10th tee. Their service and staff is highly professional, helpful and very good despite the fact that the room I was in had a problematic DSTV decoder that kept on attempting to upgrade its software.
Staying at the hotel is a great experience and well worth it!

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room facing the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Dave Set,

Thank you for choosing Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort as your hotel of choice.

We are so delighted to hear that you received such great service, as this is what we strive to portray to our guests. We apologise for the faulty TV in your room, and we hope on your next visit this wont be the case.

looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Femida Noble
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had our wedding here on July 02nd 2011, and had a one night stay, which was part of the package. The rooms are soooooooo nice. We ordered dinner, by room service, and I enjoyed Tumelo's Oxtail (thats what the dish was called then).

This year, we came back here on our anniversary. The rooms were still nice, the food is not good, at all. The staff is slow, and they don't seem motivated. They give the hotel a very somber mood. But somehow, this is still the best place to sleep when you are in Gaborone. It has the best rooms, better than all hotels in Gaborone.
I'm sorry, its not the best place to eat. You'll have to go out to Mowana mall for Nandos.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with Golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KABO L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Kabo,

Thank you kindly for you positive comment regarding your wedding stay.

However please accept our sincerest apologies.for your recent stay. We regret the terrible experience and this is definitely not the standard we wish to portray. I will liaise with the team concerned regarding more training and supervision which is clearly needed.

We wish to impress you on your next anniversary.

Kind Regards
Femida Noble
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I booked a week-end at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel this past week-end and were terribly disappointed with our stay. For starters, upon arrival there was no porter to help with our suitcases [a normal requirement for a 4 or 5 star hotel surely?]. We were directed towards our room from reception [no one escorted us here] and although the room décor was comfortable and pleasant enough, when we tried to use the safe, we had problems with it. We notified reception who said they would send someone immediately to sort it out, however this was never done. Our first night, which we hoped would be a peaceful one, was totally the opposite - the noise resonating down the passage at all hours of the night was unacceptable - we had "neighbours" in the room next door who were having a little 'party' in the room with load music, shouting [I believe they were drinking excessively in the room], banging doors etc. I had to phone reception at 4am and ask them to tell these people to be quiet - reception said they would, however nothing happened - the excessive noise continued until 5.30am.
Finally we could get some sleep! However, a few hours later our phone in the room rings asking us if we ordered 2 cappuccino's [which we didn't], waking us up all over again!? We then preceded to breakfast and upon arrival at the table we ordered 2 cappuccino's [they still hadn't arrived by the time we were finished eating] and when they did, they were the worst cappuccino's we have ever had - tiny cups and obviously made from one of those 'quick' coffee machines. Undrinkable. On the Saturday afternoon we decided to have a much needed nap after our night from hell - again our "neighbours" were making a huge noise, music blaring, shouting etc, it was impossible to get some peace and quiet. That night we were getting ready for a function being held at the Hotel and noticed we didn't have any towels. I called reception asking them to send some towels through - needless to say, we had to have a shower as time was getting on and upon exiting the shower, we found our towels were still not delivered. My husband had to dry himself with a small, wet floor towel and I had to dry myself a sheet off he bed!!!?
The Saturday night was much the same as the Friday night; noisy, people shouting, music blaring [constant party] next door...we complained again and thankfully, at 12.30pm something was done about it and the people next door were moved.
When we checked out we were presented with a bill for the use of the hotel's taxi service on he Friday night - which had been 1 hour late to take us to a pre-planned dinner a little out of town. We were not supposed to pay for the service as it had been so late but still ended up paying 250 pula for it! Needless to say, our stay was anything but relaxing and we were bitterly disappointed. We wont be recommending Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinelliJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Mrs Julia Martinelli,

Apologies for the delay in responding but we were looking into the issues that you raised.

Thank you for taking time out to express your terrible experience at The Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort.

First and foremost, we would like to apologise for the terrible service that you had, as this is not the level of standard that we want to portray to our guests.

From your arrival experience, it is not acceptable for there to not be a Porter to meet you and assist with luggage, unfortunately on this day our Porter/Driver was out collecting a guest from the airport, however this is not an excuse, but we definitely need to relook at our staffing levels.

It is very alarming to here about the noise level and loud music that made your first night with us so unpleasant, here at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort we thrive for a peaceful and relaxing environment, and for you it was just the opposite. Please again, accept our sincere apologies for this, as this is not what we want our guests to experience.

I am currently investigating together with the Food and Beverage Manager on the service received at Breakfast especially with regards to your cappuccinos and the lack of presentation thereof. This is definitely a point of concern that we need to take up with the staff.

It is also very alarming to hear that towels were never received in the room, this is a standard practice of Housekeeping and just totally unacceptable for this to happen to you, The Housekeeping Manager is looking into this.

Lastly, it was not meant for your transport to be added to your room, especially if it was not used or it was late, I will find out from the Driver on what had happened, and why there was no alternative driver to assist.

We truly are very saddened to hear that your weekend at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort was not at all what you were looking forward to. We thrive to portray a serene and peaceful environment but for you and your husband it was anything but that. Please accept our very heartfelt apologies for everything that went wrong during your stay.

I would like to offer you and your husband a complimentary night with a round of golf for all the inconvenience caused, hoping that on your next stay we can try improve on all the issues mentioned in your e-mail.

Wishing you a lovely day further and please do not hesitate to contact me in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Femida Noble
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I've been resident in this hotel for the past three weeks. The accomdation is fantastic for business, the rooms are spacious, well equiped and comfortable. Unfortuntaley the lovelly location is let down by the restuarant serivce.
Breakfast:
Inconsistent, some days the food is buffet style some days it is by order. Staff are slow and don't seem to know what is going on. Tables are poorly laid, on some days there are no salt and pepper shakers, but on some their are no napkins (paper or cloth)
Dinner:
Food is not bad (passable with some rather nice dishes), the menu is very constrained in its offerings with not many options available for vegitarians. My mine gripe is the inconsistent service and lack of details. There are never napkins on the table and the speed of service is slow.

This hotel has great potential, but they need to work on the small things

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram H, Guest Relations Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Alistair M,

Thank you kindly for your positive comments regarding our comfortable and spacious rooms.

We regret the terrible experiences in our Restaurant and this is definitely not the standard we wish to portray. I will liaise with the team concerned regarding more training and supervision which is clearly needed. We have recently introduced a new menu for Drotsky's which has a wider variety of dishes and invite you on your return to try our new menu.

Thanks again on your review, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Femida Noble
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Phakalane golf course hotel

I chose the main restaurant because of my poor experience at the halfway house the last visit. The drinks were delivered in a flash. No ice in the rock shandy which was rectified immediately.
My starter was a Caesar salad. Very nice but huge. Enough for a main course and I left a pile of croutons.
Chicken livers peri peri starter portion for mains. Well presented and tasty but not peri peri. They lacked the bite of a decent peri sauce. No garlic or Birdseye chillie in this dish. Possibly aimed at the faint hearted who don't appreciate a hot sauce.
Pretty decent fare all round.
Then came the breakfast experience
Breakfast at Phakalane hotel

This establishment wakes very slowly.
Six forty five in Africa is not early and on arrival, the buffet was no where near ready with the juice machine nowhere in sight.
Fruit salad made of apples snd pears,canned peaches and guavas with cling wrapped cold cuts and slices of yellow cheddar cheese.
The coffee was at least hot
I had fruit salad and coffee to await my omelet.
Clearly cooked on a griddle that was not hot enough, the omelette was stewed rather than fried.
The super experience of last night was lost in the morning.
Same restaurant but not the same staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram H, Guest Relations Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Ray E,



Thank you for your detailed report on your experience at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort. We do apologise for your poor experience at The Feather’s restaurant on your last visit.



Thank you for your positive comments on the Drotsky’s restaurant and food received – we will definitely look at adding more of a bite to the Peri Peri Chicken Livers.



With regards to the slow set-up of breakfast during your stay, this is not what we aim to achieve, and an improvement plan is in place. With regards to the food, we are currently working on updating our breakfast menu, so hopefully the next time you visit we can meet your tastes.



We are looking forward to welcoming you back.



Kindest Regards

Femida Noble

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
7.3 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 17 in Gaborone
405 reviews
6.2 mi away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
7.4 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Room 50 Two
Room 50 Two
#11 of 17 in Gaborone
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#5 of 17 in Gaborone
52 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Cresta Lodge Gaborone
#8 of 17 in Gaborone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort

Address: Plot 54791, Golf Drive Phakalane, Gaborone 1000, Botswana
Phone Number:
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Gaborone
Price Range: £114 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort is a 4 star resort located in the heart of Gaborone's premier Golf Estate, which encompasses spacious accommodation of a Hotel as well as luxurious self serviced apartments with extraordinary panoramic views of its international 18 hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing