We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We went to Botswana over the weekend for their annual toy run which was held in Gaborone. When we first got into Gaborone which was also my first visit to Botswana I didn't think a lot of the place, but was I wrong! We pulled into Cresta lodge....... Immediately staff were helping 30 Harley Davidsons to park by moving road cones out of the way, parking right at the entrance reserved for us. Friendly faces at reception offered a cold welcome drink and all our documentation were ready on a table ready to be filled in. The waiters were all around ready to take orders for the bar. The rooms are clean, the bars are stocked and the swimming pool close by. At night the food were fantastic and the breakfast much better than your ordinary hotel breakfast. The lodge is close to town and each and every individual who works at the lodge were friendly and kindly greet you. This was an awesome experience and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Lodge Gaborone, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Cresta Lodge Gaborone.

We are delighted that your first visit to Botswana and to our Lodge was an awesome experience. We are pleased that the accommodation and dining experience was to your satisfaction. The feedback relating to our staff being helpful and friendly is appreciated and very encouraging.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

General Manager, Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

What a great weekend with the staff of the Cresta Lodge going out their way to entertain, service and pamper the entire group. The food was great, the beers cold and nothing was too much for the Hotel to look after a group of 27 demanding guests. Very friendly staff, well amintained rooms and sufficient ameneties. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back next year with a larger group.

Room Tip: Fro the Smokers, there is a smoking section. Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JokerNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Lodge Gaborone, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Cresta Lodge Gaborone.

Thank you for making the time to rate our service on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Cresta Lodge. Your positive feedback regarding our staff is appreciated and encouraging.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards

General Manager, Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, ok food, good wine choice. But others have alluded to the bad wifi. It's a deal breaker these days if you're an international traveller and you need to work. The wi-fi connection is poor, to at times non-existent. This is not a Gaborone problem - I worked round the corner at the Sanitas Garden Centre and the speed was terrific and there were ten of us accessing at the same time in the same room. There have been promises in the past to sort this out and it still hasn't been - so to the manager...don't comment on here. Fix it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Lodge Gaborone, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Cresta Lodge Gaborone

Thank you for your recent post on Tripadvisor. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

General Manager, Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It is such a pity that a place with relatively good facilities, fails completely when it comes to service! For the last 2 years I've been staying here on and off and the service has gotten progressively worse. When you report a problem, there is no assistance. No recommendations or even a decent apology. I arrived to no working phone in my room, no working wifi and when querying the front desk the best response was that IT is an issue! They have been "upgrading" the wifi for the last 2 years! and nothing changes. At breakfast you are not offered coffee and even when you you can finally corner wait staff it arrives when you're done eating and leaving. I even had to clear my own table.
So lets move on to the upkeep of the room. Although generally clean, the bed was poorly made and the damp towels left in a bunch on the rail. so when you go have a shower again in the evening, you have no dry towel. Further they don't even give you a bottle of still water in your room. They will not be seeing me again if I can help it and I shall advise my company to move all visitors to alternative accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiereClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Lodge Gaborone, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Cresta Lodge Gaborone

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Lodge Gaborone.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Lodge Gaborone. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We regret that you experienced so many problems during your stay with us. We apologize for the issues you encountered with poor customer service, housekeeping and wifi. Feedback from customers can help us affect swift improvements in problem areas, and we will certainly take heed of your comments regarding all operational issues.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Lodge Gaborone.

Yours sincerely,


Cameron Thompson
GM, Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gaborone hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Hotel is basic with nice rooms. Clean and not badly maintained. Gym equipment needs servicing ang espresso machine was out of order in Chatters. Staff are very helpful and eager to please. Prices are reasonable for Gaborone. Better than Gabs Sun by a mile

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Lodge Gaborone, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Cresta Lodge Gaborone

Dear Alan B,

Greetings from Cresta Lodge Gaborone.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Lodge Gaborone. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay at Cresta Lodge Gaborone and found our rooms to be nice and clean. We regret that the espresso machine was out of order during your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about the helpful and friendly staff. Encouraging reviews from helpful clients like you are inspiring to our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Lodge Gaborone.

Yours sincerely,


Cameron Thompson
GM, Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel seems overpriced but maybe this is the local market, however please note that the room rate does NOT include breakfast which is charged at USD 18 per person. By way of comparison the all you can eat meat buffet at the Brazilian Rodizio is the same price! I did not bother trying the food at dinner and just jumped in a cab and headed for river walk mall - the taxi should cost no more than 30 pula one way. The small shopping centre is OK for picking up snacks and soft drinks but you cannot buy any alcohol there.

If you are prepared to pay the room rate then you will get a nice room - they are exactly as shown in the headline photo. The big drawback and the reason that I would not stay at the hotel is the all but useless wifi - I walked around the hotel with my laptop looking for a 'hotspot' but to no avail. In the evening it is not even possible to have a Skype conversation. Just not good enough for a hotel charging 5 star prices and certainly not for people travelling on business.

Special mention to the room maid who put everything in place as it should be and the guy from engineering who showed me how to turn on the AC (plug hidden behind the curtain in case you are looking), plug in the fridge and put new batteries in the room safe. Now why was all that not checked before I moved in?

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsmorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Lodge Gaborone, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Lodge Gaborone.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Lodge Gaborone. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are sorry that your experience at Cresta Lodge Gaborone was not satisfactory. At Cresta Lodge we do not have a B&B rate; it is room only. We are busy implementing an upgrade to the wifi system at Cresta Lodge and look forward to its completion in April of this year. All other operational issues will be looked in to promptly. With your helpful feedback, we are able to target problem areas and affect improvements.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Lodge Gaborone.

Yours sincerely,


Cameron Thompson
GM, Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed here for nearly 2 weeks for a conference, and found it to be clean and pleasant. My only complaints would be (1) that the wifi only worked in the bathroom of my room, but others in our party did not have that problem so it may just have been because I was in one of the less central rooms, and (2) breakfast was quite expensive if not included in your rate. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, food in the dining room was excellent (but don't expect it to be fast, especially for dinner), facilities were nice, and the grounds were spacious and beautifully landscaped. There is a shopping center just next door that was handy for getting snacks and light meals (fridge in room made this easy) and there are some interesting shops (wooden beads make lightweight and fun souvenirs, for example) as well as a couple of convenient ATMs.

Room Tip: If internet access is important to you, ask for a room near the router.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeralTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
2.1 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 16 in Gaborone
372 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
180 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#10 of 16 in Gaborone
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
2.5 mi away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
5.2 mi away
Aquarian Tide Hotel
Aquarian Tide Hotel
#8 of 16 in Gaborone
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Lodge Gaborone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Lodge Gaborone

Property: Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Address: From City Center 2 Km | 2 Km from City Center, Gaborone 00000, Botswana
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresta Lodge Gaborone 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cresta Lodge Gaborone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cresta Lodge Gaborone Hotel Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing