We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gaborone excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falcon Crest Suites
Ranked #15 of 71 Gaborone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed at Falcon Crest in Gaborone June 2012. Central to town fro easy access, yet in nice suburb setting. Excellent service and accommodation. On site restaurant menu offer superb choices and the chef knows his way with beef. Overall very enjoyable experience and will visit again in near future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurievn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2011

Unsual place, clean and quiet its a reasonable alternative to the Sun just up the road.
The Rooms are huge and well furnished the restaurant isn't great at all. Internet connection was reasonable and no extra charge.
I'd guess that this place is more suited to tourist visitors than business travelers

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strewelpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I stayed here for just about two weeks in July on a work trip. It wasn't bad, cheaper than the Gaborone sun, comfortable and spacious rooms. But after staying there a few days it became obvious that the primary function of the Lodge is to host conferences, and the guests are somewhat secondary.

The Good:

The restaurant staff, cleaning ladies, security guys and groundsmen were really wonderful. I may have tried harder to find somewhere else to stay if they weren't so consistently warm and friendly. Food at the restaurant was also pretty good, although the Gab Sun has more options and is about the same price. Lunch buffets were pretty outrageously overpriced. Pretty secure and well appointed. It has a bit of local cache.

The Bad:

Although I had arranged for an airport transfer, I was left waiting there. Not awesome after a 36 hour journey. I had to get money and sort out a SIM card in order to call them. They admitted forgetting me and eventually sent one of the manager's husband. Still charged me for the airport transfer.

The wireless internet was abysmal, as was my tv reception. Frequent complaints about both produced no result, other than vague assurances something would be done. If you are planning on using the internet to do anything other than basic html email, you should first check that they have upgraded or improved their network significantly since July 2009. They suggested that it was just a problem in Botswana, but i stayed in hotels in rural areas north of Gaborone which had perfect wireless access, comparable to US standards.

Quite frequent powercuts. At first I thought this was just load-shedding, but it soon became obvious that it was just a problem with Falcon Crest. They had a long-suffering electrician furiously working at things most of the time I was there.

No room service. Technically no food is allowed in the room to avoid attracting cockroaches. (???)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazibuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

The Falcon Crest is a converted mansion that has about 8 or 9 "suites" - the one we had was really a very large bedroom furnished with 'antiques', television, a/c and lots of windows. The bathroom was huge with both a jacuzzi tub and a shower - and a nice hallway entrance. Immaculate housekeeping and wireless internet included. The staff are very friendly and there is a lovely small restaurant on the property. Didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it looked very inviting. This is not a 'typical' hotel and it has tons of character. If you're looking for a 'typical' hotle (no offense intended!) you might prefer either the Mondior or the Sun - but we loved this. They seem to do a fairly large conference business (small groups) and they have several conference rooms available. The location is convenient and it's a quiet getaway in the heart of Gaborone.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MEGATRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fridou13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarthBotswana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
3.5 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 17 in Gaborone
399 reviews
4.0 mi away
No photo provided
Gabarone Hotel & Casino
#23 of 71 in Gaborone
9 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunbeam Hotel
Sunbeam Hotel
#10 of 71 in Gaborone
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Oasis Motel
Oasis Motel
#25 of 71 in Gaborone
38 reviews
4.9 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 17 in Gaborone
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Crest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Crest Suites

Address: Plot 2571, Extension 9, Gaborone, Botswana
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Gaborone
Price Range: £76 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* Boutique guest house centrally located in Gaborone at Plot 2571, Nyerere Drive and Nyerere Drive shopping centers,and the National stadium. The vibe of this 5* Guest house is one of homely elegance rather than imposing grandeur. Eight individually decorated en-suite bedrooms, five jacuzzi baths and three Victorian baths. Located in carefully manicured gardens,, the main house is sumptuous with a wooden carved spiral staircase leading to the ground floor. All rooms are air conditioned, have TVs, mini bars and have internet access. Room rates include continental breakfast. Falconry restaurant offers a full a' la carte menu throughout the day as well as variety of coffees, teas and daily made cakes. Adjacent to the Falconry restaurant, is a patio surrounded by lush garden. The patio offers light and quick meals moderately priced. The restaurant is open seven days a week from 0700hres to 2200hrs. There is a private dinning room which caters for two to eight people. Outside catering is available for any occasion, weddings, cocktail parties, private lunches and dinners as well as board meetings. Two fully air conditioned conference rooms which can accommodate up to 16 and 30 participants respectively and two meeting rooms for smaller groups. Projectors are also available on request. The blend of professional and classy decor creates the ideal place to impress clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Falcon Crest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing