We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”
Review of Mokolodi House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mokolodi House
Ranked #4 of 59 Gaborone B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Mokolodi House is beautifully appointed and so welcoming. It really felt like our "home away from home." We loved sitting on the veranda for meals and enjoying the lovely view and the peaceful surroundings. Lizzie was unbelievably sweet, helpful, and cheerful. We felt like she was an old friend after our three-day stay. There is no reason to book a hotel in Gaborone, as Mokolodi House is a short and easy drive away and so much nicer!! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
14
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying at Mokolodi House for two nights over our anniversary and holiday in Botswana. The staff was personable and helpful, allowing us to use their phones when ours did not work, booking a game drive for us, and extending wonderful hospitality. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and hot shower, and the honesty bar was great. The location is perfect if you're on holiday, being secluded in the bush yet within close proximity of the city. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at this "home-away-from-home" retreat. The first thing that impresses one is the special welcome that one gets upon arrival from Lizzie. The location was ideal because it is near to the city, and we could retire to the peaceful surroundings of the bush at night and feel as if we were miles away. Excellent continental breakfast, modern cooking facilities, attention to detail in bedrooms and thanks to Lizzie for extending our stay without any fuss! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - they are each unique in their own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just when we needed a peaceful couple of days we were treated to a stay in Mokolodi House.
What a treat this well appointed and friendly place delivers. Lizzie is a great host with all the capabilities a host should offer & deliver. The secluded location in the bush is excellent and the various balconies allow great views with shelter from the sun as required. Whilst we did not use it the swimming pool looked wonderful. All the bedrooms were very nicely done with all facilities one needs. The public areas are fitted out to a very high standard with traditional materials & kept very clean and tidy. Plenty of space for being private & peaceful. A sundowner on the main balcony is an absolute African experience.

Room Tip: The upstairs Rooms have stupendous views over the bush & worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Mokolodi House is a wonderful retreat from the heat and bustle of Gabs ... beautifully furnished and equipped for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Good continental breakfast and good facilities to cook. Lizzie gave us a great welcome and looked after us really well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room as they are probably cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I had a pleasant and wonderful stay at Mokolodi House. this was my second time and the experience was even better due to my extended period. the location is in the bush and its surrounding is so welcoming for a peaceful and tranquil exposure to nature. also being a stone through from the game reserve it is a perfect spot for safari addicts. the house itself features a beautiful traditional african theme and the package includes excellent service from the dedicated staff. Thank you to all staff members for their hospitality during my stay in this exquisite venue.

Room Tip: Nare room is spacious and attracts enough sun in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had a wonderful week staying at Mokolodi House. It is a magnificent property with a perfect balance of traditional construction and modern amenities. The house is set in an ideal position with breathtaking views. A tranquil atmosphere surrounds it and the friendly, helpful staff only add the the experience. A perfect Botswanan spot. Many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.2 mi away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
2.2 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.4 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Capital Guesthouse
The Capital Guesthouse
#1 of 59 in Gaborone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokolodi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokolodi House

Property: Mokolodi House
Address: Plot 758 | Mokolodi 2, Gaborone, Botswana
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mokolodi House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokolodi House offers both business and leisure travelers to Botswana an opportunity to experience real Botswana Bush while still staying close to the city centre Gaborone for convenience. Nestled on 5 hectares among the Mokolodi hills, the House caters to travelers seeking luxury accommodation with a difference: tranquil, opulent, African bush! With the malaria-free Mokolodi Nature Reserve on its door step, guests can indulge in a variety of activities including game drives, rhino tracking, cheetah visits, horse riding and bush braais. Free high speed internet available. Breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mokolodi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing