We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!”
Review of Mokolodi House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mokolodi House
Ranked #3 of 70 Gaborone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here on a romantic getaway and stayed in the executive suite, it had all the extras and was more than we could have expected. Beautiful house, beautiful location and it has to be said the manager lizzie goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and very welcome. It's location to the nature reserve is ideal. I really cannot say enough good things about Mokolodi House but I would be here all day. Take a visit - it will be well worth it..!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelbugP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Mokolodi House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Beautifully set in rural environment, close to a national park this small hotel is something else. Five rooms, spacious sitting rooms for all to use, self service kitchen and “honesty bar”, pool, - and Lizzy, the ever so friendly and helpful boss makes this a perfect place to relax. We stayed for one week before going on the trip of our lives, a tented safari with &Beyond. Mokolodi House turned out to be the perfect preparation, and will be our obvious choice if we ever have the chance again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per Kristian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed for a long weekend in October of 2013 with the wife and 3 kids. We loved the place! The rooms are great, the service is excellent and the food was top notch. Special thanks to legato and Lizzie for there warm smiles and help planning or time in Gabs. I can definitly recommend this as one of the best family stays in Gabs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_FamilyRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The place was immaculate and the staff was on the ball. My friends and I had a fabulous time. The swimming pool is sparkling and weather was great.

It was the most enjoyable weakens in Gaborone and Mokolodi House is the place to stay. I will definitely go back with my family and recommend the place to all my friends.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mhlengi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed in Mokolodi Lodge in September 2013 just for one night. The venuw seems to be a private house used as a bed and breakfast and it's really really good. The property is new, about a year or so, and the design is both creative, but locally inspired, and really well executed so it makes for a very interesting place to stay. Everyone is done to a high quality. It's a little bit out of Gaborone and is really peaceful and quite with great bird life on the door step. Just up the road the Mokolodi Wildlife reserve which is well worth a visit and the restaurant is really good. Finally - the staff at Mokolodi House were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The house is beautiful,set halfway up a hill in the bush,just out of town.Following their website's directions from the airport leads to a warm welcome from Lizzie,who shows one round:the library, including books on birds and the latest thrillers,the well equipped kitchen,the pool, and the high-ceilinged rooms with white linen,comfortable beds and every comfort thought of,including electronic insect repellent and underfloor heating (neither needed!)The staff are so kind and helpful,no question fazed them,whether we wanted to find rock paintings at Manyana or Sanitas Garden Centre in Gaborone itself (a great spot for lunch.)The place is a haven for birds,starting with the visit of the pair of Hornbills each morning and wake-up calls from the family of Babblers.All this and a Game Reserve on the doorstep.Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Tau room with its own balcony at tree top level is a brilliant spot to appreciate the dawn and s...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehitabel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Mokolodi House is beautifully appointed and so welcoming. It really felt like our "home away from home." We loved sitting on the veranda for meals and enjoying the lovely view and the peaceful surroundings. Lizzie was unbelievably sweet, helpful, and cheerful. We felt like she was an old friend after our three-day stay. There is no reason to book a hotel in Gaborone, as Mokolodi House is a short and easy drive away and so much nicer!! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
677.9 mi away
StayWell Hotels
StayWell Hotels
#11 of 17 in Gaborone
25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 17 in Gaborone
395 reviews
2.4 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Capital Guesthouse
The Capital Guesthouse
#1 of 70 in Gaborone
115 reviews
1.9 mi away
Berry Bliss Guest House
Berry Bliss Guest House
#14 of 70 in Gaborone
4 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sunbeam Hotel
Sunbeam Hotel
#10 of 70 in Gaborone
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokolodi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokolodi House

Address: Plot 758 | Mokolodi 2, Gaborone, Botswana
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Gaborone
Price Range: £77 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mokolodi House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokolodi House offers both business and leisure travelers to Botswana an opportunity to experience real Botswana Bush while still staying close to the city centre Gaborone for convenience. Nestled on 5 hectares among the Mokolodi hills, the House caters to travelers seeking luxury accommodation with a difference: tranquil, opulent, African bush! With the malaria-free Mokolodi Nature Reserve on its door step, guests can indulge in a variety of activities including game drives, rhino tracking, cheetah visits, horse riding and bush braais. Free high speed internet available. Breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mokolodi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing