We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regal old lady.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Regal old lady.”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The Sun is a bit dated, could use a complete refurb, but that would ruin the charm of this hotel. Gaming aside, the Sun has a wonderful outdoor bar and fine restaurant. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a touch of old world charm.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    155
    101
    29
    10
See reviews for
14
32
21
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Overall this is a nice hotel in appearance albeit a bit dated. It's clean but not stellar. Service is good at times, bad at others. No one wanted to offer compensation when the 5 day internet service purchased was down for almost 2 of those days! Food is good, bar is friendly, pool nice (but small if you want to really swim much), decent gym and very nice grounds. It's fairly central but you still can't really walk to anything though - you need a car here. I've stayed here twice and both times the rooms were similar and comfortable. Those facing the pool / courtyard are nicest - there are plenty of birds in the trees to keep you feeling like you are in the woods. There are only 2 floors and no elevators so get help with heavy bags. If you rely on internet for business purposes make sure you have a mobile internet provider before you get here. The hotel's service provider (Always-On from South Africa) is off almost as much as it is on and coffee shops with reliable wi-fi are quite a drive away.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with numbers over 50 - long walks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank execjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I was at the Sun for a week. Originally I was given a room in the 150 series, large with desk and credenza, king size bed, no smoking. The king and queen beds are actually two extra long twin mattresses pushed together. But the room safe did not work. The warning I was given is that theft is rampant at this hotel. Don't even trust the room safe to keep your most treasured valuables, such as laptop or passport. So the Sun moved me to a smaller room, queen bed and smoking. I went to the front desk and explained that changing a room to a less quality room was not good customer relations. They agreed and assigned me to a room in the newer and allegedly nicer wing (rooms with 300 numbers). The room was large with a king bed, small flat screen TV, in room air conditioner (not central) two rattan easy chairs, an empty refrigerator (good for me, not good if you want a minibar) and a desk. On the downside; no iron or ironing board in the room (available from housekeeping), hair dryer is in the desk drawer and cannot be moved so some amount of contortionism is required to use it, no alarm clock or any kind of clock,and a weak flushing toilet that required constant holding down the flush arm for one to five minutes to clear the contents. The tub's cold water pipe turned with the cold water knob causing me fear that the pipe would unscrew from the wall sending a jet of water into the bathroom. It didn't happen because I was able to hold the pipe still while I turned the knob. Notification to the front desk did not result in any action.
The breakfast buffet was included in my room price and it was quite good. Beers were about US $7 equivalent for a pint of draught at the open air bar.

The business center was closed for upgrading during my stay .
Mahogany, the hotel's restaurant, was good, not great, but very fairly priced.

I recommend the hotel because I haven't stayed at the Grand Palm, its only real competition in this class in Gabarone. The Sun needs updating, its resting on its laurels and hopefully a new hotel will be built to give it more competition.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank truegrit44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

The Sun no doubt once was a great hotel and many of the rooms are no doubt still quite good, however my experience was that the A/C had leaked water on the floor o fthe room and the carpet in one corner had a perpetually sticky feel to it - that was one part of the room i avoided.
The facilities in the hotel were quite good, the pool was fantastic and the pool bar was a pleasure to have a drink at in the evenings - the meals here were also quite good, however they paled into insignificance when compared to the meals at the Bull and Bush a short cab ride away - yep you have to go there!!!
There was no free internet access in the hotel and in fact when I was there there was no internet access at all as there was some problem (I instead went to the Bull and Bush and had dinner and used their free internet access).
The gym was well equiped and the squash courts looked good, however there was never a manager around at the recreation facility to ask about the use of the courts or to hire raquets from so its usefulness diminished somewhat.
The hotel has a casino for those interested, there is a modest entry charge and many of the local high rollers come in here to part with some of their cash - it is interesting for a visit.
The service at the hotel varied, the reception staff seemed a little inept when they could not find our booking and then could not identify that we had paid in advance (we had to pay again and the agent got the refund for us when we were back in Australia), however the wait staff were all very good as were the doormen and other staff.
The breakfasts were a good buffet which would satisfy any hunger - good value.
The hotel is located on its own and you need to take a cab to go anywhere, however that is not a bad thing as taxis are pretty cheap anyway.
All up it is one of the best hotels intown, however you have to be prepared to make some comprimises as it is in need of a little work.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Title says it all. I chose this hotel for location, which was good. But internet was down for my whole stay and no one could say (24 hours) if/when it would be fixed. Hotel grounds are charming, with attractive pool/bar/garden area. However rooms are like a run-down Holiday Inn. I "splurged" on an executive room with shower/bath. There was no way to prevent the shower from flooding the bathroom with each use. When I sat on the sofa, the cushion sank low, stopping only at the metalic fold-out bed mechanism. Whenever I went to the front desk, there were always other customers complaining about their rooms (phone or TV not working, aircon problems, etc). If you don't need an internet connection, this hotel is acceptable compared to places in neighboring countries (except S. Africa). However it's not good for business travel. And it's NOT an international standard hotel. Without rennovation soon, this place will become a dump.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gaborone hotels

Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This hotel works very well for visitors to Gaborone. The location is excellent, just next to the city - an important consideration in a town that can get gridlocked at times. The setting is very pleasant in extensive gardens and set around a large central swimming pool/bar area. Rooms are large and comfortable. The internet worked. I found requests for service were met very promptly by staff who were courteous and efficient. The place has some life to it and many locals rendezvous at the pool bar which give the place a decent buzz. Power cuts are a problem in Gaborone. This hotel does have industrial size generators which do cut in if the power switches off (although there is some hiatus between mains/generator switching). I would definitely come back and recommend booking early as it does get full

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welwitschia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
332 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This is one of the nicer hotels in Gaborone and I had a great stay here. Although the hotel is looking a bit tired on some fronts, it actually appears to be fairly well looked after and well-maintained. The grounds and pool area are beautiful and relaxing, with palm trees, broad grassy lawns, and a nice poolside café. Quite a busy little place actually.

The location is a bit out of town, around 2km or so, taking about 20-25min to walk into the center. There is not much in the way of shops and restaurants in the immediate area, so you either head into the town center or eat at the hotel which is not a bad option. The hotel is located next to a golf course which is a great place to run in the early morning.

The room was fairly average in size and furnishings. It looked like the walls had been painted and the carpets replaced fairly recently. The room was clean and seemed to be well maintained. The AC unit was rather old and noisy but it seemed to do the job. The internet was very expensive and so slow that it was nearly unusable, so think twice before purchasing a voucher. The aluminum frame of the sliding glass had broken loose from the door jamb meaning it would be fairly easy for someone to break in. All in all, it was quiet, clean and comfortable and I had a good sleep there.

The gym was definitely not the greatest, fairly small and lacking in good weight equipment. There were around 6 decent quality cardio machines, a multi-gym, and a very poor selection of dumbbells. I went there several times during the late afternoon and evening but found it so crowded that there was not really any available equipment to use. After 8pm and early in the morning seemed OK.

The breakfast buffet was just awesome – one of the best buffets I’ve ever had the delight to experience. However once when I left the table to get seconds, I came back to find someone had grabbed my table so I had to search for another. I had a few meals at the relaxing poolside café and bar and found them to be quite good, but the service a bit slow.

The service was decent. Very friendly staff but not very fast or organized at times. When checking out, the gal at reception gave me the incorrect time for the free shuttle departure to the airport, causing me to miss the shuttle. She realized her mistake, but then just told me to take a taxi and pay for it myself.

All in all I had a favorable experience at The Gaborone Sun and would recommend it to other travelers for both business and holiday. Although it is probably overpriced for what you get, I will definitely stay here again during my next trip to Gaborone.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.6 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 16 in Gaborone
389 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
188 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#5 of 16 in Gaborone
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#7 of 16 in Gaborone
21 reviews
3.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
1.0 mi away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#12 of 16 in Gaborone
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Property: AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Address: 4727 Chuma Drive, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing