We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
London, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable and clean”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is a very competent hotel that does what it says on the tin for business travellers and has just a little extra - nice pool, good bar - if you are spending the extra day. They offer free coffee-to-go if you have an early start and the service is willing and with a smile.

Surprising plus point: the formal restaurant is actually very good indeed.
Surprising minus point: the shower pressure was poor in my room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_from_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    150
    101
    28
    8
See reviews for
13
29
21
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

For a 4-star Sun International Hotel, I was a little disappointed. Our room had innumerable problems but maintenance returned again to fix each of the issues. Trying to get help via phone was difficult until I complained to Switchboard who then organized everything for us. The TVs are minute but the obliging porter assured us they were doing an upgrade soon. The bathrooms are a little old fashioned but once again good enough. The room was good enough and opened onto the lawn. I felt the gardens were not as interesting as they could be but the proximity to the golf course made it relatively quiet and peaceful. We ate at Mahogany's both nights we were there and although they were very obliging, the food was erratic and not always up to scratch although one of our guests had a delicious espetada. Another dinner guest got the runs from the calamari sadly. The casino was fairly busy, hot and smoky. It is a busy hotel with many guests on the pool deck on the Friday and Saturday nights. A child's birthday party was being set up in the garden when we left on the Sunday and the swimming pool, tennis courts, jungle gym etc were in good nick. When we went to pay, there was a confusion on the billing although the staff are polite and obliging.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive room in the Mopani Wing and our doors led out onto the garden away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthAfricaConcerned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Reception could have been more efficient. My room is large, and comfortably appointed and clean. Shower and toilet were clean, and adequate. One has to pay for wi-fi, but once it got going, the speed was adequate. They have a small gym with 2 squash courts, 2 treadmills and a few stationary bikes and some weight machines. There's tennis to be had at an outside court. Breakfast spread was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
246 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

On our way from Johannesburg, South Africa to Maun, Botswana where we flew to our 1st safari camp, we over-nighted at the Gabarone Sun Hotel. The grounds are lovely with a resort-feel; the buildings' exteriors are well-maintained; and the lobby is modern and welcoming. Our room was spacious, clean, and well-appointed for our short stay. The staff offered to provide a boxed breakfast in the morning for our 5:45am hotel departure for our 7am flight to Maun. The "Western" style hotel food was adequate for our late evening snack and drink. Overall a convenient, nice facility for short business or tourism visit since it was a 10 - 15 minute drive to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwalleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

First impression of the hotel compared to its surroundings is that it's a dime piece, but really it's a B in my book and way to expensive with that considered. I will say that the rooms were nice and had everything you would need. I was traveling with my hubby and two toddlers and the room was large enough to hold the two pack 'n plays. The housekeeping staff were very nice and helpful but I was very annoyed with the staff in charge of breakfast in the cafeteria. Every single day I was harassed about my validity of being there while many others were not questioned whatsoever so my nerves grew very thin. There is a pool but it is right by the cafeteria and bar which smelled horribly. Literally had to hold my breath whenever I had to pass the bar. There is a decent play area for children as well. The casino is at the other side of the rooms and surprisingly the hotel was still very quiet. All in all I would not stay there again especially after finding out that breakfast is not included. Also had to pay for Internet which I am definitely not used to having to pay for at a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kramn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

From check in to check out this hotel was poor. Check in was 2pm but the room was not ready. But if you push...one suddenly becomes available. The rooms are dirty, shabby, and smell. They also have old fashioned TVs which barely work and a/c that is floor mounted and incredibly noisy. The restaurant and bar staff and friendly and good. Unlike the reception staff. Food is very average and seems to centre around making sure you have a big plate of chips. I would not recommend this hotel to tourists or business people. The sewage smell at the outside bar area is foul. Their stand out problem is their reception staff - who spend their time in the back office talking and ignore guests waiting at reception.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnmjm133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gaborone hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

Having visited many hotels in Africa this was a poor experience. There is a casino attached but u have to pay to go in and it's part of the lobby! Staff were the highpoint but the low points were the pool area which smelt of sewage and the food...oh dear....lunch by the pool was awful and horrid quality....dinner had to be in the main restaurant as the fine dining was shut and was again very very average. Will not stay there again.

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Blasterchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.6 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 16 in Gaborone
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
180 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#7 of 16 in Gaborone
17 reviews
3.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
1.0 mi away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#10 of 16 in Gaborone
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Property: AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Address: Chuma Drive 4727, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing