We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, comfortable hotel in Gaborone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have stayed at the Gaborone Sun on several occasions - it is my preferred hotel in Gaborone. The rooms and pleasant and comfortable, the garden is beautiful with a lovely swimming pool. The Gaborone Sun is also a good conference venue with excellent meeting facilities.

Room Tip: I prefer a room on the upper level facing the garden. The reason for the upper level is so that I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

went to Botswana on business twice now and both times had meeting in the hotel and stayed over , very friendly staff and perfect as a stay over if you are going deeper into botswana , will recommend as a cool stay over and value for money for the service we recieved ! also very save and never feld exposed !

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazzmanpta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The minimum standard for a Hotel room is a comfortable bed, decent shower and overall cleanliness. I give this one a 1.5 out of 3. Only the bed lives up to 4-star standards. The cleaning may be competent but the maintenance is not and no amount of scrubbing can get 20 years of grime off a hotel floor and furniture. The shower will only suit tiny people who don't mind clingy shower curtains and wild fluctuations in water temperature.

This is a large, low-rise complex with dark low-ceilinged public areas, decent conference facilities and gardens with a casino attached. Rooms with low numbers are close to reception but overlook the road while the newer ones in the Mopani wing are quite a walk through the bar, around the pool and across the lawn.

My room had a pleasant view over the golf course. I was luckier than my colleagues who faced the pool where there was a function on till the small hours. The food was nice and staff generally friendly and helpful.

This will remain the corporate venue of choice only until another major chain finally puts up some competition in the country.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Despite other reviews, I find the rooms very dingy and dark and the carpets could really do with a good clean. The darkness of the rooms is depressing and whilst the ambience by the pool is good, the use of the casino is liming unless you want to be attacked by the local ladies of the night. Internet issues prevail and whilst it is ever popular, the new hotels in Gabs will certainly give this place a run for its money

Stayed: November 2011
1  Thank tnick48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Have stayed at the Gabs Sun a three times and have had outstanding experiences across the board. The location is great (although Gabs is small - nothing is that far from the hotel). The outdoor areas are clean and relaxing. I only stayed in the Mopane Wing, which was very quiet, clean, and had all the features you would want from a business hotel. I understand from others the rooms on the other side of the hotel (nearer the street) can be noisy, but I never stayed on that side. My family accompanied me on one visit, and they were very happy there as well. The business services were adequate and the adjacent meeting space was well run and had met all of the needs of our business.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoteller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed here with colleagues for a few days while speaking at a conference in Gaborone. I have stayed at many sun hotels and they are all very similar. Staff were pleasant though you got a sense they were expecting tips for everytime they smiled or helped you which I don't have a problem with as I am sure salaries are low.

This is a large hotel with long corridors and no lifts so if you are with people who have mobility issues make sure you ask for a ground floor room near the lobby.

The pool area was very relaxing and even in winter it was warm enough to sit by the pool and chill out, though beware, the water was freezing. Food prices were reasonable by western standards but expensive by Southern African standards.

The hotel reminded me somewhat of the old crossroads motel and I was expecting Meg or Adam to pop out at any moment.

This is very much a business hotel with lots of meetings taking place in corners and suits with laptops huddled together everywhere you turned. This meant that reception was always busy and it took ages to get seen to.

Bedrooms were large and colonial in style with large LED TV sets. Showers needed updating as to get the required temperature meant fiddling with the hot and cold taps with the door open so water ended up all over the bathroom floor.

If you are looking for a comfortable base then the Gabs Sun will do but if it is luxury and calm you want try looking for another place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed at the Sun Gaborone for one week in August 2012. The hotel was quite comfortable although it's definitely a bit old. The staff is nice and helpful and all in all the stay was very pleasant. There are three restaurants so the choice of food is decent, not great but decent. I tried the mahogany's restaurant once and although the decor is quite nice and the live music a definite plus, the quality of the food does not match the restaurant vibe. I would simply avoid it - the menu looks quite good and diverse but the food was very disappointing. The hotel has a gym but it's very small and very basic with no air conditioning or breeze of any kind. I can only imagine how hot it must get during the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lighttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.6 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 17 in Gaborone
399 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gaborone
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#12 of 17 in Gaborone
46 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 17 in Gaborone
51 reviews
6.5 mi away
Room 50 Two
Room 50 Two
#11 of 17 in Gaborone
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: 4727 Chuma Drive, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range: £126 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing