We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st of two nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“1st of two nights”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Checked in during the afternoon. Also paid for wifi, P90 for 1Gb. The whole afternoon, evening and morning we had disconnections and very poor Internet service. I had to sit at the bar to get coverage and Internet that was workable. The quality of Internet service remains the top problem experienced by hotel guests, and it has the biggest impact on customer service world wide. Service at hotel now includes the quality of wifi and Internet.

The service at breakfast the first day was terrible, had to get my own coffee as I still hadn't been serviced after 20 min. Plates were piled up on the small stable. Don't know if they were just short staffed as there were very few people at 06h30.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    146
    97
    26
    8
See reviews for
12
27
21
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Having stayed here once 6 years ago, I was not particularly looking forward to a return, especially after having been spoilt by the Hilton Windhoek in the preceding days. However, I was pleasantly surprised. My room had had a makeover and was perfectly adequate. Beware that some rooms can be quite a distance from the hotel lobby (especially if you prefer to walk through the hotel rather than across the pool are). Room 263 was about as far away as you could get - you didn't want to get to reception and realise you had forgotten something! More pleasurable than I had anticipated, and breakfast was also of good quaity.

Room Tip: Just check how far it is from reception if you have mobility problems. Note that there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatriceManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is very nice with an old colony feel to it especially the bedroom. I had a luxury room which was featured in the Gaborone sun web site. the room was large with a large seating area, had lots of storage space and had a 6 foot bed. The room over looked the gardens at the back of the hotel, which was very nice. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. I never made use of the hotels casino, but from a brief walk through found it to be populated with slot machines. If any thing the hotel for me was not situated with in walking distance of anything, but none the less a very nice hotel which I can honestly say I would say happily stay in again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This Sun hotel has hardly changed over the years; helpful staff, good breakfast and no lift. Despite now being a no smoking hotel, the years of smoke seemed to have embedded itself in the carpet of the room I was in which was unpleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PietreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

You're not really spoilt for choice when it comes to accommodation in Gaborone. The Gaborone Sun Hotel offers a decent stay. Clean, friendly staff, good breakfast - fine for business travel overall. The only issue I have with the hotel is the absence of a lift or escalator. Therefore, you are forced to use stairs only, which can be difficult with luggage.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Most of the Southern Sun hotels in Africa have seen better days. In general the Southern Suns are quite old; even when well maintained it shows (shower bath is a classic giveaway).

Having said that, the Southern Suns normally present value for money, decent service and one can look past the colonial feel.

However, the Gabarone Sun is possibly one of my worst stays. Firstly, after booking a non-smoking room I got stuck with a smoking room. Fair enough, they sprayed the room with room freshener which gave it that smoke freshener smell.

Secondly, in search of some water I found a beer glass filled with beer in the mini bar??!! And nothing else, no water, no candy, beer glass filled with beer.

Thirdly, on the first morning the bathing water had such strong chemicals in that I walked around smelling like a pool.

Luckily the next morning there were no hot water so I did not have to walk around smelling like a pool.

All in all a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AppelAmandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gaborone hotels

Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here as missed connection to Maun due to late flight from Heathrow. Staff were friendly and good meal in steak restaurant with nice local wine. Wines by the glass very limited choice.

Rooms ok, clean and functional.

Transit from airport easy in their shuttle bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma26Oxfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.6 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#8 of 16 in Gaborone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#11 of 16 in Gaborone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
3.7 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Property: AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Address: Chuma Drive 4727, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing